We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,037 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,284: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Bahia Principe – La Romana. November 8-15, 2013 From the airport to the hotel it was about a 45 minute bus ride, which was delayed by some lazy tourists who waited till the last minute to fill out the “blue immigration forms”. The hotel bills itself as a 5 star, in my estimation its closer to 3 Stars. Don’t get...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rafal J
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have been to other Bahia Principe resorts and this one does not match the 5 star rating. It might have been 5 stars when it opened many years ago, but no longer. Daily power outages, no hot water, the phone in the room didn't work, tv remote was broken, couldn't get a room key until after dinner because the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nancy B
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review

Dear Nancy, We appreciate that you took the time to comment about your experience, We would like to apologize you if your stay in our hotel has not been so satisfactory and we have not met your expectations. Our main goal is overcome the expectation of our guests and I'm sorry if we didn't achieve with you. We will take...

Middletown, New York
Reviewed 17 November 2013

beautiful resort, the grounds were kept very well by the staff. Beach was nice but the water is a little murky. Restaurant service were amazing 5 stars!. They went out of their way to accommodate us. In particular a waiter named Juan V went above and beyond. The front desk staff were courteous but the coordination was lacking. We called...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rafael V
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review

Dear Rafael, Thank you for your comment recommending the Grand Bahia Principe La Romana hotel to all the Tripadvisor users. We would like to express our gratitude for these kind words that you have shared and also for appreciate the excellent services and the efforts from our staff. We will be delighted to welcome you again in Grand Bahia La...

Chester, NS, Canada
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here from Nov. 3 to 13, 2013 Not 5 star quality but OK The grounds are beautiful, the layout great. The ocean is not clear water but the beach is nice and wide and never any problem getting chairs. The pool was great. The entertainment is the norm. Animation staff are wonderful. The room was OK. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jennifer43
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great experience with all Tripadvisor users. We are glad to know that you look at our resort as an attractive place to enjoy your holiday. In regards of the not so good comments and issues that you experienced, we would like to extend our sincere apology. It will be a pleasure to welcome...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Horrible service. The water was disguisting, not like in the pictures. The food was not good and the same everyday. Soliciting everyday trying to sell you something and get something totally different in the end. They say there is a team club but there is none. Whole experience was terrible. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank am92013
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate that you took the time to comment about your experience, We would like to apologize you if your stay in our hotel has not been so satisfactory and we have not met your expectations. Our main goal is overcome the expectation of our guests and I'm sorry if we didn't achieve with you. Hoping to be...

Bergen County, NJ
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Let me give a little background so you know where I’m “coming” from Girls Vacay, we consider ourselves Grown & Sexy Mid30s-Early40s RNs from NewYork living in NJ Burbs, we travel once to twice a year: Now review I think that by rating themselves a 5star they’re doing themselves a disservice because people expect way more, we’ve stayed at 5star...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MommyJ4
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience during your last vacation in Grand Bahia Principe La Romana Hotel. We are glad to know that you and your friends really enjoyed of a fantactic time in our hotel. Regarding your suggestions, we are taking them with great consideration in order to secure the valued service...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The GBP La Romana hotel is about 17 km past the city of La Romana and is located in a new development. The resort is part of a planned community of golf course, marina, and residences, but only the hotel and 9 holes of the golf course are open. Only hotel guests and staff are in the area. Hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EXPL53
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great experience with all Tripadvisor users. We are glad to know that you look at our resort as an attractive place to enjoy your holiday. In regards of the not so good comments and issues that you experienced, we would like to extend our sincere apology. It will be a pleasure to welcome...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived to the hotel on November 3rd, 2013 as a 4 people group and bought our vacation as a package from Expedia.com. It was a WestJet vacation package and we chose the hotel because it was a 5 star hotel however I would give it a maximum of 2 star. I will divide my review into sections and rate...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Berjesty
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate that you took the time to comment about your experience during your last vacation with us. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the variety and the quality of the buffett and our friendly staff . We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you have experienced...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Arrived at the hotel on Sunday November 3rd at 7 pm. I requested two connecting rooms while I was booking, which wasn't the case but promised to be moved to a different room the next day, Monday.Our rooms were on the main floor of 2-storey building. Monday morning, as I got up and walked towards to washrooms, I slipped and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kozin58
Customer S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great experience with all Tripadvisor users. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the variety and the quality of the French restaurant and our friendly staff . We would like to apologize you if your stay in our hotel has not been so satisfactory and we have not met your...

Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Went to this resort with my wife and we were very happy with the service and food but the construction noises were unbelievable. it's a nice size resort and everything was close. The bouganville section of the resort where we stayed is a construction zone and they should not put people there at this point. Construction 7 days in a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lucll

4,437 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4096)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1201)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (641)
Viewed
View from Room (157)
Viewed
Dining (294)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (340)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (66)
Viewed
0:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1336)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (303)
Viewed
Amenities (76)
Viewed
Beach (80)
Viewed
King Bed Junior Suite Superior (62)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Soco
37.2 km away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
83.4 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
82.8 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
77.3 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
83.4 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#57 of 110 in Punta Cana
10,094 reviews
84.7 km away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#12 of 25 in Bavaro
12,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Facilities and services Lake-style pool 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace with sun umbrellas, loungers as well as a pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, football pitch, 2 tennis courts, padel tennis, volleyball and basketball courts Water activity and scuba diving centre Lounge theatre for entertainment Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) 1 main buffet restaurant 3 speciality restaurants 1 snack bar 3 Bars 9 hole golf club next to the hotel, in Playa Nueva Romana Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco, casino and chapel Rooms 400 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Terrace Junior Suite Club Golden (See page 18 Golden Club, Hacienda Club) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Teen's club (11-16 years) Others services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Cash point Car park ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Address: Ctra. San Pedro | La Romana, Km 12, El Soco, San Pedro de Macoris, Dominican Republic (Formerly Santana Beach Resort)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > San Pedro de Macoris > El Soco
Price Range: ₹ 8,403 - ₹ 18,890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe La Romana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe La Romana Hotel La Romana
Santana Beach Resort
La Romana Gran Bahia Principe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Bahia Principe La Romana staff and other travellers.
439 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (439)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Bahia Principe La Romana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors have less water pressure. If you prefer poolside or beach view, just ask them for one of these views.”
 of 5 bubbles ugojoema, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you book an Ocean room. be sure that they give you one(didnt for us until we complained)”
 of 5 bubbles jwl1856, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles KHLeFevre, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“get rooms around pool area”
 of 5 bubbles L7913ENjamesb, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in room #1508 which I thought was half way to lobby/buffet and pool/beach which made it very good for us.”
 of 5 bubbles Marg0023, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5