We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catherine Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catalina Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Catherine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is now closed, purchased by the Catalina Conservancy for a tourist center. I stayed at the hotel several years ago and I am not sad that it is closed. The rooms were small and the trash trucks started here at 5:30 AM every morning.

Helpful?
4 Thank TerrywHamilton
San Pedro, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Bed sheets on the windows. Place is falling apart. Spent half an hour making it sleepable. This place is for locals and is worth about $35.00 a night but they charged $150. Please do not stay here for any reason.

Helpful?
15 Thank Mike M

Travellers are raving about these Catalina Island hotels

Culver City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I recently paid a visit to the Catherine Hotel Bar with my mum and we had a great time! The Barman John made us really welcome and although we can't comment on the hotel, I would recommend this bar if you are looking for a pub type low-key setting for a drink in a fun atmosphere.

Helpful?
4 Thank 39Rachel
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

It was taco and margarita tuesday. The place smelled. We waited for one half hour for 2 tacos. The shrimp smelled rotten so I couldn't eat it. The margaritas were disgusting. The service was horrible. I would hate to stay at the hotel.

Helpful?
3 Thank whatever666
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had 5 rooms at the Catherine Hotel for a Bachelor Party. We had an amazing time and the Catherine Hotel is exactly what we wanted. It was cheap, perfect location, staff was cool, bar & restaurant downstairs with the cheapest coldest beer in Catalina. If you're looking for a cheaper place to crash and not be hassled by security,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse L
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

the hotel is falling apart. its dirty,bed full of stains,mini blinds broken,bathroom shower has a lot of mildew, bed has no support,no table,no dresser,no chairs,the light fan made a hell of a lot of noise. very small and hot,no TV no radio and no alarm clock.overall nasty dirty. when problems brought to managements attention she said theirs only so much... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank patti2011-11
Denise K, Manager at Catherine Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize if you did not find our hotel up to your standards. Upon making the reservations every caller is informed its a basic room and a bath with limited amenities. I take pride in our rooms. Yes its an older hotel and rooms are small but the price is right. When you arrived at the hotel you asked to... More 

los angeles, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My friends and I came to Catalina Island wanting to only stay one night. Most hotels out there require a minimum of 2 nights---thus this instantly narrowed our choices. The Catherine, The Catalina Beach House and the Mac Rae were basically our only 3 choices.. given that the Beach House and Mac Rae were completely booked-- we decided to just... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank saraht25
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

This has been the only place I have stayed in Catalina but I love it. The hotel is run down and "ghetto" but I would stay there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank NicoleT1
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We originally found The Catherine in 2003...it was not in great shape but the price was good and we had a great view of the harbor. We stayed there again when we got married in Catalina in 2005 and a few other times between '03 and '05. In '05 we noticed things were not as good as the previous trips... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank srudler
new jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

This place has to be a joke. Upon arrival at noon, the hotel was locked. We found a woman who asked us 3 times if we did, in fact, have a reservation. I now know why she was so surprised. Our hotel room had no lock on the door, multiple holes in the walls, mold in the shower, stains on... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank justinnessa

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catalina Island hotels
0.2 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,008 reviews
0.4 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
565 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#12 of 20 in Avalon
197 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
450 reviews
0.3 km away
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
#16 of 20 in Avalon
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Catherine Hotel

Address: 708 Crescent Avenue, Catalina Island, CA
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Catherine Hotel Catalina Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Catherine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For the same price, $150 per night, stay at the Catalina Beach House. The rooms are a little funky but the place is clean and there is a view of the harbor from the deck.”
 of 5 bubbles TerrywHamilton, 8 Aug 2013 | Read review
“ask alot of questions. follow your gut instinct..”
 of 5 bubbles patti2011-11, 4 Sep 2011 | Read review
2 of 2