We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
97 Olsen Rd, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325 Australia
eDreams
Priceline
Agoda.com
Lol.travel
Etrip
FindHotel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (1)

About

#10 of 20 Specialty lodging in Lovedale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ironstone Estate is luxurious Hunter Valley house accommodation for groups and large families. Our 3 fully, self-contained houses, the Lodge, Residence and the Homestead, are fitted with quality furnishings and are privately located. The houses are on a 45 acre vineyard estate in beautiful Lovedale Hunter Valley. Call for our last minute special hot deals for the Lodge and the Homestead Just 2 hours from Sydney, our accommodation is nearby to the hustle of Pokolbin and close to some delicious Lovedale restaurants and wineries. Our Hunter Valley accommodation has fires in winter and a private pools in each house in summer THE LODGE: •Accommodates up to 12 guests •All 6 bedrooms have ensuites •One bedroom and bathroom has disabled facilities • Great for groups and families •Outdoor entertaining •Wood fire in winter •Pets on request •private pool THE HOMESTEAD: •Accommodates up to 12 guests •6 queen sized bedrooms •Second lounge room. 3 Bathrooms •Wood fire in Winter •Swimming pool (for the exclusive use of the Homestead guests as it is attached to the Homestead) and outdoor entertaining •Suitable for children •Pets on request •Laundry THE RESIDENCE: Accommodates up to 12 guests •6 queen sized bedrooms •Pool table room. 2 Bathrooms •Outdoor fire in Winter •Swimming pool and 10 person Spa outdoor and outdoor entertaining •Suitable for children •Pets on request •Laundry
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Kids stay free
Children's playground
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Car park
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
26Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Stephanie R wrote a review Nov 2019
Biggera Waters, Australia67 contributions25 helpful votes
Well situated with a pool in summer and a stovepipe fire for winter. Plenty of bedrooms, 2 separate lounge areas and three separate bathrooms. Floors needed a decent scrub other than that, a good place to stay at reasonable prices.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michelle d wrote a review Aug 2019
Northbridge, Australia14 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We had 7 girls staying at the "lodge" for the weekend, and would highly recommend to others. It has 6 bedrooms and 6 bathrooms (perfect for the girls all showering and getting ready to visit the wineries in parallel). 2 rooms can be split into king singles, so could easily fit 8 ladies (or more). It has obviously been purpose built for groups. The lodge has a large kitchen/lounge/dining room with loads of space, large dining table with 12 chairs, lots of sofas around the fire and great space for groups. There is another large outdoor table with a lovely view overlooking the lake/dam and vineyards. Would recommend to friends and love to come back again myself!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Liz M wrote a review Nov 2016
Armidale, Australia84 contributions14 helpful votes
What a fabulous weekend with accommodation for 10 adults. The pool was utilised, but shade is needed around the pool area. Plenty of room to cook and BBQ, entertain, and relax. 3 big bathrooms, large living area, dinning tables inside and out Linen supplied along with everything you need for the weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LeanneHindmarsh, Owner at Ironstone Estate
Responded 25 Nov 2016
Thank you Liz for your wonderful review of Ironstone Homestead. Glen and I are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and that you had a fun weekend in the Hunter for your birthday. Regards Leanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SydneyParkLocal wrote a review Jul 2015
Brisbane, Australia13 contributions18 helpful votes
We had a group of 9 adults stay in the "Lodge" at Ironstone recently and we were very very impressed. The Lodge has been purpose built (it seems) for large families or groups and could comfortably accommodate 12 adults. Every room has it's own bathroom - we absolutely loved that aspect and it's part of the reason we chose this property. We loved the open kitchen/dining/lounge and spent most of our time in front of the fire. The kitchen is plenty big enough for several people to move around in whilst preparing meals etc. Property was immaculate, including the bathrooms, very impressed. It was too cold for us to use the outdoor setting but would be great in the warmer weather. Mobile reception isn't the best in the area but we all welcomed the break for a couple of days. The only thing I would add to the property to make it 'amazing' is a bigger or second oven :). We worked around it no problems but for 9 adults we did have to do some juggling. Thank you so much to the staff at Ironstone - we're already planning our next trip back for our own Christmas in July next year and can't wait to come back and visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne H, Manager at Ironstone Estate
Responded 1 Sep 2015
Thank you for your glowing review of our Lodge. We are pleased that your Christmas in July was so enjoyable. On your return visit please let us know that you are once again celebrating Christmas in July and we will put out the Christmas decorations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AussieMarcho wrote a review Mar 2015
Australia3 contributions
We stayed in the Homestead for 2 nights in March celebrating our son's 40th birthday. We were a group of 6 adults & 7 children (1 a toddler) & found this accommodation absolutely brilliant as it is on the one level, so no stairs to negotiate. Plenty of very comfortable beds & lovely bathrooms. The pool was very well maintained as were the grounds with a lovely grassed area to play on + lots of other areas for the children to explore. Everything was maintained to a very high standard.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate
Responded 1 Sep 2015
Wow...thank you for your wonderful review of our Homestead at Ironstone Estate. Glen and I are so pleased that your family enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CRAIG M wrote a review Feb 2015
West Pymble, Australia277 contributions44 helpful votes
This fantastic estate just minutes the crown plaza at Pokolbin is the ideal place to stay for a weekend or longer stay in the Hunter Valley. We had a group of 12 staying for the "day on the green" and found the location convenient, quiet, clean and certainly comfortable. There are 6 bedrooms each with an ensuite, a full kitchen, BBQ, ample dining and lounge space. The only knock is its down a dirt road, but if you're gonna hold that against them, you're not probably the type of person that'll enjoy the Hunter!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate
Responded 2 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of Ironstone Lodge. Glen and I hope to see you on a return visit, maybe for another concert. Bus pickups can be arranged to pick you up at Ironstone Estate for a direct transfer to the concerts. Yes we agree with your comment about having a dirt road. We have lived at Ironstone Estate for 26 yrs and have had no luck with Cessnock Council providing a tar road.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony C wrote a review Jan 2015
Sydney, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
We rented the Homestead house from Ironstone Estate which comprises 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a covered outdoor BBQ area and a pool. We found the facilities to be of a very good quality with the kitchen well stocked with working appliances and the BBQ in good condition, along with the pool. The Beds were a good firm nature, giving proper support and a good night's sleep and the lay-out of the house was easy to navigate. The managers were more than accommodating and it was even fun to have their dog wander up to our house to say hello. With a very reasonable pricing and easy access to all of the wineries, I would recommend Ironstone Estate for anyone looking for Group Accommodation with the Hunter Valley where you don't have to deal with other families next door.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There are two houses at the property. The Homestead is more designed for families and young...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate
Responded 30 Jan 2015
Anthony, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our Homestead.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura Jade wrote a review Jan 2015
Essendon, Australia29 contributions28 helpful votes
An amazing place to stay for groups! The lodge is located amongst the vines and gives you the feeling that you are right in the midst of wine country. Wonderful facilities, clean, modern, nothing to fault. Friendly and helpful hosts. A must book for larger groups or families.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate
Responded 30 Jan 2015
Hello Laura, Thank you for your great review. Hopefully we will see you again. Regards Leanne and Glen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jgp333 wrote a review Dec 2014
Beresfield, Australia9 contributions1 helpful vote
We take a large family group up to the Hunter every year, and have tried a number of venues over the years. Ironstone is the best of them. as far as I'm concerned, and not expensive considering what is provided, like an ensuite in every room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate
Responded 13 Dec 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Glen and I hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Turtlestarseed wrote a review Sep 2014
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
A group of us recently stayed at Ironstone Estate to celebrate Christmas in July! The location of the place is amazing and is surrounded by open fields of green. We especially enjoyed the view on our morning jog and even caught a glimpse of a few hopping wallabies. The house spacious and is perfect for a group of friends. It has a great kitchen/dining room and an outdoor area...lots of bathrooms too! Leanne and Glen were very friendly in helping to organise our stay. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LeanneHindmarsh, Owner at Ironstone Estate
Responded 22 Sep 2014
Thank you for your great review. If you return for another Christmas in July please remember to let us know in advance and we bring out the Christmas tree and decorations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$886 - $1,508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleCessnockLovedale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ironstone Estate
Which popular attractions are close to Ironstone Estate?
Nearby attractions include Hunter Valley Zoo (1.4 km), Saddlers Creek Wines (6.5 km), and Hunter Valley Gardens (6.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ironstone Estate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Ironstone Estate?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ironstone Estate?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Ironstone Estate?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ironstone Estate?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hunters Quarter, The Italian Cottage, and Muse Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ironstone Estate?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Ironstone Estate located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Lovedale.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ironstone Estate?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Ironstone Estate?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Poppet Head Park (10.2 km).
Is Ironstone Estate accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.