We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Pongola, South Africa
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The location is great. The three bed room where we stayed was good ,though some equipment was falling apart ie the braai and some kitchen tools.The beds were clean and comfortable. We did not make use of the restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klasie P
First_Resorts, Public Relations Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, Klasie and for bringing to our attention the issues with equipment, which we are attending to. We are delighted that you stay with us was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back. The First Group Team

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The resort itself was fine and the staff excellent But the booking process was problematic. I booked through Booking.com and received prompt confirmation and was advised that Hole in the Wall should be paid directly. However I subsequently received 10 emails from a firm called Fun Holidays (Durban) which all contained incorrect dates - and they deducted a pre-payment from...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandadE2147NO
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Good day Amanda I trust all is well. Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post your review as your feedback is of the utmost importance to us, this will assist the team in maintaining and improving the standards of our awesome establishment. On behalf of The Staff and Management we thank you for choosing our little...

Secunda, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We enjoyed our stay very much. Unfortunately it was over a weekend and there was visitors in two chalets who were very noisy. They played their music until very late. We asked management to talk to them with no results. The chalets are very clean and provide everything that we need. The beach is walking distance with the most beautiful...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 643sanetm
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Good day Sanet, Thank you for taking the time to post your most valued review “Hole in the Wall”, your feedback is of the utmost importance to us. On behalf of the team at Hole in the Wall, thank you for choosing our little piece of paradise as your preferred getaway destination. We are delighted that your general stay with...

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2017

excellent nice place to stay. Peace and quiet, will recommended to other people. Much improvement, maintanance of high standard. big improvement is the road from Koffie bay to the Hole. enjoy every moment, will book for next year thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 910inab
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest On behalf of our team at Hole in the Wall , I thank you for taking the time to post your “me blom” review. Your encouraging feedback is of the utmost importance to us. We are ecstatic that your time with us was most enjoyable, relaxing and memorable, and more significant was the fact that we were...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We had a fabulous time. All the self catering utensils and equipment provided were in good condition and we had no issues except for the dirty water that killed our vibe. The accommodation was clean and spacious and we had easy access to the beach. I would definitely come back again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lungelwam2017
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I trust all is well Thank you so much for taking the time in posting your “Great Stay” review as your feedback is of the utmost importance to us. On behalf of the team, I thank you for choosing our little piece of paradise as your getaway destination and I am extremely pleased that your stay with...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We enjoyed our stay overall and the adventure side of things was perfect. We had an amazing staff member at the resort pair us up with a local friend that took us on a 3hr hike for about $30 USD. We covered outstanding and challenging terrain. I would have loved to spend more time in this area. It is a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank myers_777
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Myers, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The roads are a bit rough but I think it’s what makes it part of the experience of where we are and the beautiful scenery. We are...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Location is beautiful but hotel is a bit shabby. Room smelt musky, and requested 2 beds had to be requested again. Restaurant ran out of several items including vegetables. Spa was pleasant. Service was obliging and friendly. Enjoyed the stay as long as one likes a very simple hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Alison Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hole In The Wall. We do apologize for the shortfalls in the restaurant, unfortunately with all the rain we were having the truck that was suppose to bring all our items had to turn...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Service was friendly. Resort is a peaceful and relaxing vacation spot in tranquil surroundings. ATM on site would have been handy. Restaurant food good quality. Rooms well stocked and clean; but mattress very hard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I7616KOtracyl
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Good Morning Tracy, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. I am very happy to hear that you had a relaxing holiday. I appreciate feedback about the mattress and have spoken to my housekeeping department and we are busy looking into this. We can’t wait to welcome you back to...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We love Hole in the Wall, and thought that the accommodations were fine, but there were two main complaints: wifi was not working (not the fault of local service), and the hotel really gouged us for a bottle of wine - the cheapest bottle was close to R200!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynellb2017
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post “ Great views, lovely hikes, average service” as your feedback is of the utmost importance to us. On behalf of all, I would like to thank you for choosing our little piece of paradise as a destination of relaxation and I am extremely pleased that your overall stay with...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Hole in the Wall Wild Coast South Africa We came to the Hole in the Wall with measured expectations following reviews left recently. The road conditions we met getting there were not too bad at all and with some slow conditions in places we reached it easily in a 2WD The accommodation was clean and well furnished. Comfortable bed, adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sassiecat2015
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Dear GUEST, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us. I am truly happy you enjoyed your stay at Hole in the Wall. We strive to give the best GUEST experience and I am glad that we exceeded your expectations. We are currently busy with doing some maintenance and...

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffee Bay
7.1 km away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coffee Bay
177 reviews
0.0 km away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
62 reviews
15.8 km away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
0.0 km away
Gethlane Lodge
Gethlane Lodge
#5 of 14 in Lydenburg
46 reviews
0.0 km away
Midlands Saddle & Trout Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Coffee Bay and surrounded by vast stretches of unspoiled coastline, Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village offers some of the most picturesque scenery in South Africa. The remoteness of Hole in the Wall resort lends itself to excellent bird watching, nature walks, hiking trails as well as being an ideal spot for fishing. The beach is directly in front of the resort and has a lovely natural bay. This secluded location makes it the perfect destination for a relaxing holiday and the ideal base from which to explore the pristine Transkei coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village

Address: Coffee Bay Rd | Umthombe District, Coffee Bay 5080, South Africa (Formerly Hole in the Wall Hotel and Backpackers)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Price Range: ₹ 3,230 - ₹ 6,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rondawels are all quaint and I think they all have a sea view. Ask for a hillside rondawel!!”
beverleygoodes, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Call ahead & ask for Map of the site to best choose a chalet. Close to Bar & Restaurant or Childs play area may not suit you for noise.”
  • Chalet 34
  • Chalet 34
  • Chalet 34
sassiecat2015, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get accommodation near the pool”
paul2607199, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The chalets higher up the hill are further away from the restaurant, pool and the sea but most of them have a wonderful view”
  • The large room had plenty of cupboards, a small dresser and a double bed
Surfari, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The timeshare chalets are in a better condition.”
gideonb21, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates