We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coffee Shack Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Coffee Shack Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Coffee Shack Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 262: English reviews
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Location is in an awkward place & the office & the accommodation with high steep are in separate premises & dinning hall back in the office premises. We were sharing the room with lovely people, unfortunately we were in a room close to the toilet & it was unpleasant because there is no ceiling separating our room & the toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chuman2016
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Chuman Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and it is always great to hear that you enjoyed our “amazing views"! Yes, the Kings House is up a steep hill, but the best views are from the top, I am sure you would agree. Thanks for bringing to our attention the lack of ceiling...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 May 2016

What an amazing experience - the beach, the people, the area and the relaxing. We stayed for 10 days in a chalet and wish we could stay longer. We enjoyed the outings and excursions. It is very safe and very secure. The food at Coffee Shack is top class and very affordable. We stayed for 10 nights and enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariusb69
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Marius Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and it is always great to hear that our guests had "an amazing experience"! We just wish more of our guests could or planned to stay for 10 days. We highly recommend that our guests try to stay for at least 5 days and take advantage...

Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This backpackers is everything a backpackers should be! When you arrive they give you a drink on the house, and there is free dinner on Sundays! The staff is so friendly and welcoming. They offer laundry services, food, and fun water activities. My friends took an amazing surfing lesson while I took pictures from the beach. The beach is s...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had an AMAZING time with us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our surf lessons, we do recommend them! Safe travels and hope to see you again soon. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

I have never come across such rude staff during my past 3 months of travelling. The bar staff are friendly but the people on reception are so unapproachable and quite frankly, scary. I actually managed to have an entire conversation with a woman who had her back to me the entire time. I felt like everything I asked them was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Danielle L
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and give us feedback. I am really very sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with the reception staff. Coffee Shack is generally known for having very friendly and helpful staff, so it is very disappointing to hear this. We will obviously look into...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Amazing Scenery, Helpful Staff... Absolutely do not miss this place when visiting South Africa or the wild coast. Careful in the rainy season for the roads, however they will make your adventure seem more worthy. awesome staff with awesome value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danger L
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had a great stay. Thanks for highlighting that you need to drive even more carefully down from the National road (N2) when it rains, and that it is always well worth the drive. Safe travels and we hope to see you...

Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

This was a great backpacker I really enjoyed my stay here. Got the shuttle from mthatha which was late but we all got free dinner and drinks which was generous! This is a bit of a party backpackers and great place to meet new friends. I hiked from coffee bay to bulungula and the staff arranged everything included bag transfer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had a fun stay. Sorry about the shuttle being late that day, but unfortunately there was a problem with the brakes of the vehicle and obviously everyone’s safety is the top priority. So as you mentioned, we felt everyone deserved free...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

The Coffee Shack is an absolute gem. I was on my way home from Cape Town on a solo road trip and the Coffee Shack was the second stop on my journey. I planned an overnight stay but when I got there and got into things I didn't want to leave. My family called me everyday to find out why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jewell4u
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and glad to hear that you had an awesome time. The hike to Hole in the Wall is a "must do", but as you mention, it is a proper hike and does take a full 4 hours, up and down some steep hills, but with incredible views...

Wurzburg, Germany
Reviewed 26 March 2016

We arrived late in the evening and were glad to find it. If you come with your own car make sure to arrive there by daylight. During night there are lots of people and animals on the street. If you come by baz bus you get picked up at the main street. It´s located right at the beach. Staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabian A
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and glad to hear that you had an awesome time. Thanks for commenting on the drive down from the N2, as you suggest, it is preferable to try and arrive in the day light because of the potholes and animals, which are wandering on the road. Sorry...

Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

If you are thinking weather to go to Coffee Bay and Coffee Shack Backpackers you really should. Especially if you're interested in surfing. This place offers probably cheapest surfing lessons in entire world. If you don't like surfing still go. There's plenty to do in Coffee Bay and the place is beautiful. Staff in Coffee Shack is very friendly. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Liisa P
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and glad to hear that you enjoyed our little paradise. Thanks for commenting on our surf lessons; we also believe that at R50 for a two hour lesson (including equipment) they are amongst the best value for money in the world. Safe travels and we hope to...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2016

This is ok if you want to stay awake till 3 in the morning. It is a lovely place, free mussels and oysters. It is little Amsterdam. We camped a couple of days. First night was ok, the music was loud till 2 am but like I say it is little Amsterdam. There was a dog that barked constantly the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jealine P
David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay. We will look into the things that annoyed you and try improving the situation. With regards to the daytrips we have only ever run one trip a day (other than the morning and afternoon surf...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffee Bay
1.0 km away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#2 of 6 in Coffee Bay
174 reviews
0.0 km away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 6 in Coffee Bay
61 reviews
9.8 km away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
0.0 km away
Freedom O Clock
Freedom O Clock
#3 of 3 in Mdumbi
24 reviews
6.1 km away
Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Explore, discover and enjoy a unique taste of rural Africa! Coffee Shack is a backpackers' tropical paradise, located on the beach at the Bomvu River mouth on the Wild Coast of South Africa, where you will experience a way of life far removed from Western culture. We have a reputation of being a fun, good-value hostel with excellent facilities and the most amazing, friendly staff. We offer accommodation in traditional, thatched-roof huts, ranging from private rooms to dorms, as well as camping facilities in the garden next to the beach. Choose between self-catering options or try our delicious meals with a free 'potjie' meal every Sunday night. Weather and ocean permitting, join us for daily sundowners with magnificent views or taste freshly caught oysters and mussels at the bar before dinner. Stay for five nights and get your 5th night free! Our 'Babalaza Bar' is fully licensed and rocks in the evenings with its free pool table and range of drinks and cocktails. Join in the Killer Pool game or enjoy the chilled-out atmosphere around the firepit. Our variety of day trips include cultural walks exploring the local Xhosa culture, a traditional evening of dance and song at the home of a local family where you can try traditional Xhosa food and beers, beach days on the beautiful Coffee Bay, surf lessons, exploring Mapuzi cliffs and caves, hiking to the legendary "Hole in the Wall" or just walking in the local countryside with one of the local guides. We are accredited by Fair Trade Tourism South Africa and are committed to the improvement and upliftment of the greater community through various education and support projects. We are dedicated to making a difference to the local community and are thus 30% owned by the local Tshezi Community, who receive direct financial benefits from being involved in the business. We aim to encourage growth and empowerment opportunities for the local community through the development of meaningful partnerships. Coffee Shack runs a daily shuttle to Mthatha to meet the Baz Bus and other mainline buses at the Shell Ultra City in Mthatha (Umtata). We have free WIFI, safe parking and a laundry service. For self-drive, we are located in the Eastern Cape of South Africa, in the former Transkei area. Turn onto the Coffee Bay road approximately 20km south of Mthatha, continue 80km down to the coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coffee Shack Backpackers

Address: on the beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Price Range: ₹ 1,487 - ₹ 1,745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coffee Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coffee Shack Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Coffee Shack Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go with the flow. Wifi in main reception.”
alsation, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the other side of the river are quieter and a have an okay view.”
vmaqezu, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beware of Eric the "guide"”
Komodosam36, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“"Big Dorm" was good”
744annas, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“En-suite if you are going to stay for a while”
mariusb69, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5