We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Coffee Shack Backpackers

    on the beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (117)
          Pool & Beach (18)
          Room & Suite (13)
          Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
          6 reviews
          #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Swell Eco Lodge
          154 reviews
          #1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
           
          Ocean View Hotel
          178 reviews
          #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
          61 reviews
          #1 of 1 Speciality lodging in Lubanzi Village
           
          Overview
          • Excellent70%
          • Very good21%
          • Average6%
          • Poor2%
          • Terrible1%
          Travellers talk about
          “surf lessons” (33 reviews)
          “coffee shack” (143 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Beachfront
          Restaurant
          Bar/Lounge
          Kitchenette
          Pets Allowed
          Laundry Service
          Shuttle Bus Service
          All hotel details
          Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
          6 reviews
          #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Swell Eco Lodge
          154 reviews
          #1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
           
          Ocean View Hotel
          178 reviews
          #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
          61 reviews
          #1 of 1 Speciality lodging in Lubanzi Village
           
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Turn Your Opinions into Points!
          Turn your opinions into JPMiles
          Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
          *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
          JPMiles / Payback Arrow
          JPMiles / PAYBACK
          50
          Reviews (319)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          There are newer reviews for Coffee Shack Backpackers See the most recent reviews

          11 - 15 of 319 reviews

          Reviewed 4 April 2017

          I heard a lot about Coffee Shack backpackers and couldn't wait to stay there. I finally went in March and loved my stay so much I want to go back as soon as possible! Coffee Shack is just by the sea and the river, rooms...More

          Thank zoebranche
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 7 April 2017

          Salut Zoe Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and awesome to hear that we lived up to expectations. Glad you enjoyed the sun-downers, it is my favourite location. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon. Cheers...More

          Reviewed 29 March 2017

          Coffee Shack is a world class backpackers.I have been there twice now and 100% plan to return. It is set only a matter of meters away from the ocean. The place has a very chill vibe-- lots of happy, bare feet. One of the highlight...More

          Thank Sorocy
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 7 April 2017

          Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and awesome to hear that we are your “favorite” backpackers. Thank you – it is really great for the staff to receive these sort of compliments, and see that their hard work...More

          Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

          Stop over for coffee and hot chocolate. Very popular with the young backpackers. It hums at night and battle to get in. They have drumming and fun for everyone.Very well maintained and toilets are exceptionally clean.

          Thank Shelly S
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 7 April 2017

          Hello Shelly Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you enjoyed your coffee and hot chocolate. We hope to see you again in the area, safe travels. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

          Reviewed 15 March 2017

          I had a lovely stay at Coffee shack, the 5 nights I spent there were lovely. They have friendly staff and affordable meals. You can get a really good 2 course meal for R70.00.( NB: this was about 10 months ago, it's possible that the...More

          Thank vmaqezu
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 7 April 2017

          Howzit Vuyo Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had a great time. Yes our dinners are still R70 per person for a two course meal, although there is a chance they will increase...More

          Reviewed 22 February 2017

          The location is outstanding! There is a shuttle which is great for tourists without a car and even for guests with cars because the road is awful (compared to normal roads). Very nice staff and cozy rooms. The offered 'for free" trips are also worth...More

          1  Thank Shorty237
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 7 April 2017

          Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had an amazing time. Thank you for mentioning the free trips and surf lessons, which we offer on rainy days. Guests also forget that we offer...More

          Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
          6 reviews
          #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Swell Eco Lodge
          154 reviews
          #1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
           
          Ocean View Hotel
          178 reviews
          #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
          61 reviews
          #1 of 1 Speciality lodging in Lubanzi Village
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Beachfront
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Shuttle Bus Service
          • Free Parking
          • Laundry Service
          • Things to do
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$ 19 - US$ 26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Kitchenette
          • Number of rooms
          • 13
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coffee Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • South Africa >
          • Eastern Cape >
          • Coffee Bay
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (117)
          Pool & Beach (18)
          Room & Suite (13)
          Dining (3)
          Hotel & Grounds (89)
          Family and Play Areas (3)
          Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
          Nearby
          Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
          110 reviews
          6.08 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Delicious Monster
          85 reviews
          51.24 km away
          Panarottis Mthatha
          27 reviews
          57.11 km away
          Friends Wild Coast Cafe
          35 reviews
          .15 km away
          Wood n Spoon
          32 reviews
          53.00 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Hole in the Wall
          160 reviews
          6.81 km away
          Nelson Mandela Museum
          23 reviews
          55.73 km away
          Offshore Africa
          9 reviews
          56.64 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Amanda M
          Kings house vs rondavel? We have the opportunity to stay and are super excited. We can't seem to choose between sharing a place with another couple at kings house or getting a rondavel and sharing the communal bathroom. We are a couple and kind like our privacy but want the authentic experience. Also scared about communal kitchen how can we be sure our stuff will be safe?
          18 April 2017|
          Answer Show all 3 answers
          Response from David M | Property representative |
          Howzit Amanda, I hope that you are well? Great to hear that you will be coming to stay with us at Coffee Shack. To be honest it is pretty hard to give you a direct yes/no answer to some of your questions, because obviously... More
          0
          Votes
          Cindy7ZN
          how is the road to travel with a small car how far is the walk to the hole in the wall would there be Skype connection anything else I need to know thank you
          16 September 2014|
          Answer Show all 4 answers
          Response from Thys16 | Reviewed this property |
          Hi there! The road isn't a regular one, but its pretty reasonable. Perhaps the final kilometer could be slightly tough but doable. They have wifi so you're set for Skype, don't expect the best connection tough, one should... More
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Rooms by Kings House"
          Read review
          "Kings house, the view is magnificent"
          Read review
          "Go with the flow. Wifi in main reception."
          Read review
          "Rooms on the other side of the river are quieter and a have an okay view."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing