We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chalet Nicholas

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chalet Nicholas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chalet Nicholas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
Paris, France
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We are a couple and our stay at Chalet Nicholas was very disappointing : while I've booked a room with a view on the Volcano or Lake, I was told that my booking has been cancelled as "a lot of people do not show up after a booking". But we were there ... so they put us in a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
Catherine N, Owner at Chalet Nicholas, responded to this review

I felt terrible when I read this. We have never had a bad review before but I understood that when you came very late at night I the rain with a baby. First we do not take children under 10 as stated on our website and second we tell people without a deposit we will hold room until 4pm as...

Onoway, Canada
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This little B & B is a very comfortable place to stay in a wonderful area of Costa Rica. One can sit on rocking chairs on the veranda and listen to the sounds of a tropical night or go out there after a wonderful breakfast featuring local food and freshly pressed juice to watch all sorts of birds that come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreas N
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were on a 2+ week tour of Costa Rica for areas to consider for relocation. We had great stays at the beach in Playa Hermosa with friends Andy and Fran Browne of boomersoffshore and A fun and very informative stay in San Ramon at Casa Amanecer a wonderful B&B. We met friends Paul and Gloria Yeatman of retireforlessincostarica and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rfm117
CathyNicholas, Owner at Chalet Nicholas, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Hope you will return soon. It was a pleasure to meet you....................hope you end up relocating here in our beautiful area. Pura Vida..........Cathy, John and Lucas.............and the danes

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We travelled to Costa Rica to explore several small towns at various elevations in different parts of the country, and we were planning to take a day tour around the Central Valley with Paul and Gloria Yeatman of retireforlessincostarica.com. On the spur of the moment, we decided to have Paul take us to Lake Arenal instead. The Yeatmans called John...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TucsonJoe
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at Chalet Nicholas for 5 nights in July. We (two adults and one teenager) were in the upstairs - which was perfect for us. Even though we were told it was the "slow season" for birdwatching we saw a wide variety of birds on the property. The yard and gardens are beautifully maintained. John's personal tour of their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The four of us (two parents, two kids) were the only guests for the 3 July nights we stayed at Chalet Nicholas, and we wish we could have stayed longer--my daughter loved the loft space and her own porch, the amazing breakfasts (best fruit we had the whole trip, and excellent omelets, bread and jam), and the activities Cathy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJBT
CathyNicholas, Owner at Chalet Nicholas, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We hope you will return one day soon. It was a pleasure meeting you. Pura Vida........Cathy and John

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Chalet Nicholas was a wonderful place to stay as we explored the volcano area of Costa Rica. We were only able to stay two nights, but I wish we had planned for longer. John and Cathy are friendly and fun and gave us a wealth of information about Costa Rican and the area. The dogs are friendly and made it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia C
CathyNicholas, Owner at Chalet Nicholas, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We hope you really will be able to return one day soon. It was a pleasure meeting you. Pura Vida........Cathy and John

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed three nights at Chalet Arenal with John and Cathy. As many other reviews mention, John and Cathy are amazing hosts. Breakfast was wonderful every morning and our room ( The Volcano Room) was very comfortable. Sitting on the front porch watching the birds and the dogs is relaxing. If you are planning to do some of the activities...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth L
CathyNicholas, Owner at Chalet Nicholas, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We hope you will return one day soon. It was a pleasure meeting you. Pura Vida........Cathy and John

Port Aransas, Texas
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Chalet Nicholas, Cathy, John and the three Great Danes are truly amazing! The Chalet, the breakfasts, the hummingbirds, vegetation, flowers, you name it Chalet Nicholas has it! Thank you to Cathy & John for making our Costa Rica vacation one for the books ~ the excursions you recommended where spot on - we even got engaged during this beautiful trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheri H
CathyNicholas, Owner at Chalet Nicholas, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review. We really appreciate it as Trip Advisor is so popular for finding good places to stay since it is written by guests like you. We hope you will return one day soon. John and I already feel you are "family". Pura Vida.........Cathy and John and the danes

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have stayed at several bed and breakfasts in the Nuevo Arenal area and definitely check to see if there is a room available with Cathy and John first. Their knowledge of the area is outstanding, so if you don't know what you want to do, they share their great ideas. If you prefer to sit and watch (or feed)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon c
CathyNicholas, Owner at Chalet Nicholas, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. You make us feel good for choosing this business. We hope you will return one day soon. It was a pleasure meeting you. Pura Vida........Cathy and John

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Arenal
10.4 km away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
253 reviews
0.6 km away
Lucky Bug B & B
Lucky Bug B & B
#2 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
229 reviews
1.5 km away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#4 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Ceiba Tree Lodge
Ceiba Tree Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nuevo Arenal
192 reviews
3.6 km away
Gingerbread Hotel
Gingerbread Hotel
#3 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
131 reviews
7.7 km away
Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chalet Nicholas, a non-smokers only establishment, is currently recommended by many guide books, including Fodor's, Frommer's Guide to Costa Rica, National Geographic and the Lonely Planet. In addition, Chalet Nicholas was given a rare ecology award for sustainable tourism by The New Key to Costa Rica, and is a member of the Costa Rican Bed and Breakfast Association. Founded 1992 at Lake Arenal with Beautiful Tropical Gardens and Spectacular birding. The chalet has a front yard view of the lake, side view of Volcano Arenal, and back yard hiking trail in the protected rain forest with visiting howler monkeys often heard from the house and seen on hiking tours. John takes guests on a Free Guided one-hour Hike right out of the back yard in an old growth rainforest down to a jungle river with the great danes - everybody appreciates this Cathy and John can recommend any extra fun activities like hot springs, horseback, wind surfing, kayaking, canopy tours, and delicious meals at local restaurants which are all nearby. Directions will be provided. As a bonus, it has comfortable beds with orthopedic mattresses, private baths, and plenty of hot water and towels. Many of the guests said this was their favorite place to stay during their trip. COME AS STRANGERS, LEAVE AS FRIENDS. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalet Nicholas

Address: Rte 142 | 2km west of Nuevo Arenal, Nuevo Arenal 50807, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nuevo Arenal
Price Range: ₹ 4,058 - ₹ 5,432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Nicholas 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Chalet Nicholas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chalet Nicholas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It all depends on whether you want to view the volcano or the lake. Both great.”
  • view from room and front porch
 of 5 bubbles mikulkatom, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Three unique rooms, all are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles rogerw520, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Upsatirs is perfect for a family with children.”
 of 5 bubbles juliac956, 24 Jun 2014 | Read review
“If you are a couple, ask for the Lake View Room”
 of 5 bubbles SouthernGirl726, 15 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Lake view or volcano view room”
 of 5 bubbles 386marionm, 7 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5