We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blanket Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blanket Bay
Blanket Bay
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blanket Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 189: English reviews
Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Blanket Bay in Glenorchy, Otago, New Zealand with its incredible setting overlooking Lake Wakatipu and the snow-capped mountain ranges, lives up to all expectations. The professional staff is over the top with service. Brent, the general manager, and Anna, the food operations manager, will make certain you have a great time. First the lodge itself with high ceilings, structural timbers,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cosmo144
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Dear Cosmo144 Thank you for the lovely feedback and comments, they are much appreciated and have been shared with the team. We are truly lucky to be in such an amazing location and the building and surrounds blend so well together. We are delighted you were able to explore the many options available in our area and hope you return...

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2015

Incredible setting overlooking Lake Wakiputu . The hotel is beautifully furnished in Californian Lodge style. Bedrooms are fantastic , spacious with everything you need.Very comfy lounge with a huge fire . Perfect to relax by. Brett the GM was a fantastic host ,always interested in what we were doing,and making excellent recommendations of other activities. Location is great for activities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Dear Richard B Thank you for taking the time to share your review, your comments are much appreciated and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and all the activities available. Your comments regarding the menu are noted. Being innovative, exploring old and new techniques, can come with some challenges in finding the right balance to ensure we can showcase...

Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 27 January 2015

I never gave a review but I had to for blanket bay. Exceptional view and this beautiful location are perfect. We passed by Blanket Bay during our honeymoon and I can say that it exceeded all my expectations. I was a bit scared to be bored in a lodge but I was so wrong. I wished we stayed longer. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MR121981
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

How nice to read your review, thank you for taking the time to write it. I do remember you saying you had some adventures on the way to Blanket Bay and we are very happy your adventures continued throughout your stay, they were many and varied but it was great to see you relax around the Lodge as well. Riding...

Irvine
Reviewed 23 January 2015 via mobile

Blanket Bay Lodge exceeded all of our expectations. The setting was magical but what was exceptional was the quality of the service. Staff members made us feel as if we were staying in a friend's home. They even told us not to bother to lock our room or valuables as nothing would be stolen. We didn't lock the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andiell
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we do appreciate the wonderful comments. The location is indeed superb with magical scenery that guests never tire of. The team is passionate about making every guest experience a special one, we are delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sydney
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

I'm reluctant to write this but I must say I was underwhelmed with our stay given the price. We have stayed at many gorgeous Aman resorts as well as Four Seasons and Peninsula Hotels for example. Prices in these places were much lower but service and special little extras far superior. Three nights of sous vide degustation dinners was unimaginative...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pollyannaSydney
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor report, we appreciate the time you have taken to review Blanket Bay. I am sorry we have let you leave Blanket Bay disappointed with the quality and value of your experience. The team is very passionate about making every guests experience memorable for all the right reasons so naturally we are also disappointed that...

Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewed 5 January 2015

I always hesitate to give a review of found jewels.... Better to keep it a secret right? This place is too good not to share. The whole place is made to make you feel comfortable and at ease. It is the best luxury resort I've ever stayed, every comfort is thought of before you even know you want it. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Summer F
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you had such a great time, there is so much to do in the area to keep everyone, even teenagers, busy. Rest assured we do not have microphones in the rooms but we are happy to hear the team was attentive to and anticipated your...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 19 December 2014

Gorgeous lodge and just because it's called a lodge does not mean you are roughing it. I lost count of the number of fireplaces. Our bathroom floor is heated. A separate deep tub, shower cum sauna, his & her sinks. Extra large king bed and our own patio. The view of the lake and mountains that greet you every day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose K
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

The team is thrilled you had such a great time, it was fun sharing each day with you, watching all the adventurers, and watching you take some time for relaxing. It is always a pleasure to see guests explore the area and participate in the many activities available. We look forward to seeing you back at Blanket Bay soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2014

November was our 40 wedding anniversary and the welcome extended to us by Brent and his team was outstanding.The view from our chalet was majestic snow capped mountains with a cosy fire inside. Incredibly comfortable bed with fresh flowers in our room and amazing attention to detail with a very high level of service.The food was superb with the chef...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karen53bb
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Not a place for budget travellers, but one of life's experiences. A superb building & location; faultless service & quality. Very expensive, but the cost is almost forgotten when you are surrounded by such luxury in idyllic surroundings. Good for the soul!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRC36
adelaide, australia
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Beautiful outlook onto lake, accommodation of excellent quality, very friendly staff. Dinner was very good- portion size measured. The open bar of beer and soft drinks seems a tight fisted gesture when we are in otago wine country! And paying handsomely for it.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank travelplanner057
Brent H, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to providing the best possible services to our guests and I appreciate your feedback regarding local wine availability in the complimentary bar areas.

482 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (273)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Chalet Suite (60)
Viewed
Lodge Room (47)
Viewed
Lodge Suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
26.6 km away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
208 reviews
32.1 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
27.8 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
27.9 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
28.0 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stunning backcountry retreat sits on the lakeshore 45 minutes outside Queenstown in the Southern Alps New Zealand. Lofty beamed ceilings, rock fireplaces and vast picture windows frame the heroic stone and timber lodge housing the Great Room, Den, Game Room, Gym, spa and several indoor/outdoor dining venues.Thirteen rooms offer every conceivable amenity. Activities include an outdoor lap pool, bush walks, fly-fishing, jet boating, horse riding and scenic heli-flights ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blanket Bay

Address: Rapid 4191 Glenorchy Queenstown Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Price Range: ₹ 53,308 - ₹ 1,31,877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blanket Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blanket Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanket Bay Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blanket Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can't go wrong! We enjoyed being in a Chalet Suite, a short walk from the main building, ours was called "Stone Creek"”
  • Flowers in front of our room
  • Rooms have names, not numbers
  • Our own romantic fire
 of 5 bubbles VirginiaR459, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a cottage at any cost!”
 of 5 bubbles SteveAucklandNZ, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No bad rooms that I could see.”
 of 5 bubbles spaqueen12, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have views.”
 of 5 bubbles Paley, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I recommend the rooms on the first level or the villas. The rooms do not have a desk which makes it difficult to work when required.”
 of 5 bubbles Hymie01, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5