We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Vale Niseko

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Vale Niseko
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Start your review of The Vale Niseko
 Click to rate
Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For skiing, hotel's location is second to none, the ski lifts were literally a few steps out the door. The ski shop is inside the property was a big plus, our equipment needs were all handled without having to leave the building. Hotel restaurant is mediocre, but plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. Concierge was very helpful with reservations,...

Thank ckyap99
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a 5* hotel, the rooms are nice but the staff have not got a clue how to provide service. We went skiing in the morning of our last day, with the plan to return before lunch shower and check out, this was discussed the staff more than once. We were told we could shower in the onsen...

Thank Phil D
Management response:

Dear Phil D, We are extremely alarm by your statement and disappointed to read of your experience about our service. The Vale Onsen hours available from 7-10.30am and 1-10.30pm, daily cleaning time from 10am-1pm; This information must be provided upon registration by the reception staff as well as on our sign in front of onsen. Our apologies that the message...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The situation is great and the apartments are nice but the service is terrible !!! The price is the one of a 4/5 star hotel with no service. Staff are nonchalant, never a greeting. When we left 4 staff were behind the desk and they did not even say goodbye. Rooms are done every other day and when done it...

Thank Dominique L
Management response:

Dear Dominique L, Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your stay with us. I'm most concerned and sorry to read of your disappointments with the staff and room cleaning. We are committed to delivering the highest level of guest service and I'm genuinely sorry that you felt that this was not reflected on your stay. If you have...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

2 minutes walking to lift and 10 minutes walking from Hirafu welcome center but pickup service is available which we did. Breakfast included was only western style not as I expected. The room was good size, clean and comfortable. The room was ground floor but good view without noise. The hotel staff was almost all non Japanese.

1Thank Jason K
Management response:

Dear Jason K, We agree location is key and we are very fortunate to be located so central with great views. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found that we provided you the room with good size, clean and comfortable. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Netnapit Johnston,...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Vale is at the base of the family lift with ski lockers and helmet lockers in the basement. Skiing out of here is crazy easy With the rental shop on the first floor. There are lots of dining options close by and a 7-11 within a five minute walk. The only small issue is the breakfast is not A...

Thank fxmin11
Management response:

Dear fxmin11, Thank you for rating us so highly. I was so pleased to read your excellent review on your recent stay here at The Vale Niseko. It fills me with great joy to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much and you found the staff to be lovely. Rest assured that management will seriously look into the value...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We stayed in January for skiing. Good location to the piste/family chair. We prearranged lifts to the gondola when required, and staff were very pleasant about dropping us off there. The apartment was stylish, comfortable furniture and beds. Nice bathrooms. Laundry very useful. We paid extra to have the private onsen, which we LOVED. Used room service a couple of...

Thank vicnot
Management response:

Dear vicnot, Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. We are so glad that you were delighted with the hotel location&style, facilities and services from our staff. Happy to also read that you enjoyed the special moment at the private onsen. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Newer properties are sprouting up all the time, and the Vale certainly needs to raise its game by keeping the property in tip-top shape and more importantly focusing on the customer service aspect. Staff need to go the extra mile when catering to folks that are at the higher end of the scale. This condotel is best for location and...

Thank Adam F
Management response:

Dear Adam F, Thank you for choosing The Vale Niseko, and for taking the time to write a review!. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience. We always appreciate receiving guest comments as they enable us to objectively review our performance and subsequently maintain the highest possible standards of service. Thank you very much for ranking us as...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Another awesome stay at the vale .(thankfully not as eventful as last year) Can't recommend this place enough. Staff are so helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Jeremy, Ali, James and Conor, thank you for all the smiley freckly faces. Disappointed to not to see Jake back this year but fantastic to see the main man Lee, thanks for...

1Thank EmmaSmyth
Management response:

Dear EmmaSmyth, Thank you very much for your fantastic review ,it's great to read such positive comments. We are delighted to know that your stay was such a success and that you found our hotel and service to be great. Many thanks for your kind words about your experiences with our staff, Jeremy, Ali, James and Conor and Lee. We...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This was our first trip to Niseko and staying at the Vale made life very easy. I had heard so much about it, it was not quite what I expected. It's not The Four Seasons on a luxury scale, but has pretty much everything you need for a successful trip. 2 minute walk to the family chair lift and the...

Thank hkoperamama
Management response:

Dear hkoperamama, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Great to hear your overall experience of The Vale during your stay was good and that you recommended our hotel as “the sheer convenience and friendly staff”. Appreciated your feedback over black out shades, lighting and room service menu and will seriously look into the way of improvements. We are glad...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Firstly the staff are very helpful and pleasant but management policy has been drafted by someone who probably worked for the airlines. We have stayed in many hotels in Japan including others in the ski areas and know prices and extras can be a little surprise at times but this hotel is really strange. On one hand they will give...

1Thank regbarb
Management response:

Dear regbarb, Thank you for your comments. We very much appreciate your positive review about our very helpful staff. Thank you as well for bringing breakfast and razor concerns to my attention, so that next time, we will be in a position to make your stay even more enjoyable.The Vale shuttle service is available on request, advance booking is required...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (60)
View from Room (11)
Dining (5)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (8)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutchan-cho
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
117 reviews
Yama Shizen
#3 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
115 reviews
Ki Niseko
#1 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niseko Onsen
Hilton Niseko Village
Hilton Niseko Village
#1 of 11 in Niseko-cho
1,369 reviews
Niseko Onsen
The Green Leaf Niseko Village
AYA Niseko
#14 of 60 in Kutchan-cho
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Vale Niseko is nestled in the heart of Hirafu Village in a prime ski-in, ski-out location. Spacious and luxurious interiors complement fantastic onsite features, including a family-friendly restaurant, natural onsen, heated swimming pool and ski shop. This award-winning hotel is comprised of of 49 apartments with a mix of resort rooms and one, two, and three bedroom apartments - eight of which boast private onsens. A three bedroom Penthouse on the top floor includes a onsen on the heated deck, which offers uninterrupted views of stunning Mt Yotei. The Vale Niseko has become synonymous with luxury in the town of Hirafu, and its exceptional service standards and unbeatable location ensure guests will want for nothing during their visit to powder heaven. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Vale Niseko

Address: 166-9 Yamada, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Price Range: ₹ 11,558 - ₹ 34,352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vale Niseko 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Vale Niseko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Niseko Hotel Kutchan-Cho
The Vale Niseko Japan/Kutchan-Cho, Hokkaido
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Vale Niseko staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Vale Niseko staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get mtn facing rooms for views of family in/out”
381adamf, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pitch a different hotel”
regbarb, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Studio accomodation facing Mt Yotei is nice.”
DebLoveridge, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If choosing a studio, choose #106 for you get more space plus small kitchenette and lounge and huge bath (onsen type).”
HRO404, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lift side rooms are a bit noisy and lower floors not so private.”
AHuskyLondon, 2 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5