We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Varvskajen, Marstrand 442 66 Sweden
Lowest prices for your stay
$173
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com$174
Travelocity$173
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (474)
Dining (66)
Room & Suite (54)

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Marstrand
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Marstrands Havshotell is found at the outermost quay before the sea takes over. Here you will find calm, air, surprising food, a salty spa, 144 rooms and value for money packages for evenings, weekends and special occasions. On top of that closeness to the sea and the rocks mixed in with old fashion regional traditions. Welcome to a saltier Marstrand. Under 1 hour from Gothenburg.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Swedish

Location

Full view
72Somewhat walkable
Grade: 72 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
3Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2831Reviews0Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,034
  • 990
  • 566
  • 180
  • 61
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
GlobetroterLuis wrote a review Aug 2022
11 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel location is fantastic, and it’s installations are really good. Unfortunately the service is not as good. The first day at the breakfast it was chaos, even though one had to inform at what time one was planning to have breakfast during check in, no one was checking the booked times at the restaurant and the tables were busy or full of dirty dishes no one was picking. The items at the breakfast buffet were not replaced once they were finished, one was forced to point to the personnel to clean a table so we could sit and to bring new things to the buffet. Then there was not booking for us for dinner the second night, and we got very little help at the reception (to begin with) to arrange the booking for the third dinner. One exception to this was the personnel at the Spa, they were extremely professional with a lot of attention to detail, keeping everything organized at all times, very good experience at the spa. Unfortunately it was not the case at the rest of the hotel, which it is a shame.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terese Holmes, Marknadsföring at Marstrands Havshotell
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Hello Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to our hotel. We abviously aim for our guests to have an exceptional visit and I am sorry if that wasn't your case. I am sorry saervice was not up to scratch. Items at breakfast are continually replace but at very busy times there might be a few minutes befor this happens. I am glad our spa came in good and will obsiously be sharing your thoughts and views with my colleagues. Kindest regards, Terese Holmes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bjarnepatuel wrote a review Jul 2022
Old and very used hotel Asking sea view getting a house 3 Metres in-front windows. Not taking care but come back next day, mistakes can happen but take advantage from it could have been done when telling that rooms are available next day but won’t replace before next day. - next day no one knows and all back from start, even when it’s shown in order. Disappointing welcome and first of two days stay
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terese Holmes, Marknadsföring at Marstrands Havshotell
Responded 27 Jul 2022
Hello, Thank you for your words. I appreciate you taking the time. Our hotel is 11 years old and is going through the process of being updated, but it can't all be done at the same time. I am sorry to hear about your room, we can not guarantee sea view unless you book on of our superiro rooms and from what I am reading I guess you did not. We try to inform about this throughout the booking process but we will try and make it even clearer for the future. I wish you a lovely summer. Best regards Terese Holmes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian H wrote a review Jul 2022
Hundested, Denmark61 contributions40 helpful votes
When we checked in, the receptionist did not tell us when and where breakfast was. This is not a big deal but every hotel anywhere, regardless of standard, tells you this. This should have been the first red flag. Parking ... their page says it is "available". Yes it is, but you have to pay (85 sek per night). Parking is always "available" if you are willing to pay for it. The fact that they mention it on their page implies to me that it is part of the booking and free. It isn't. The carpet in the room was filthy (see photo). I can not blame them for not cleaning it because the stains were so ingrained that it needed replacing - not cleaning. We stayed two nights and they did not clean the room on the day in between. When I went down to (very politely) complain and ask that it be cleaned, I was told that for environmental reasons, they only clean rooms if we ask for it and if we don't they donate 10 sek to WWF Save the Oceans. They said this was explained on a little card handed to us in the key folder. It was. But for the fee this hotel charges, I think it is reasonable to expect that this be expressed verbally at check-in which it wasn't. The breakfast was good. The rate this hotel charges is exorbitant. It was 75% more than our normal "upper limit". We only booked this place because we were late doing so and it was the only one we could find. For this price, I expected a lot more.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terese Holmes, Marknadsföring at Marstrands Havshotell
Responded 27 Jul 2022
Dear sir, I am sorry to hear about your experince at our hotel. It is certainly not the way we want our guests to fell when they leave us. I am grateful you have written about is as it helps us to correct what at time might go wrong. First things first, at check-in all our guests are asked to choose a time slot for breakfast in order to give all our guests an enjoyable experience at breakfast. At the same time you should have been told where breakfast is served. I can only appologice for this human error. Second, parking. Yes we do offer parkig at a cost, exactly as you say. However, when I check the information we e-mail shortly befor our guests arrive, I notcie something has gone wrong. I will check on this but can honelsty say we try to inform all our guests of our parking facilities and what the costs is before arrival. We are in the process of replacing floors and carpets in our rooms. We can not do them all at once but that said the stain should have been taken care off and I will inform our housekeeping. We do not automatically clean the room when a guest stay more then one night as per the reason the front desk informed you. HOWEVER, when a guest asks to have their romm cleaned we will of course do this, with no extra charge. I am sorry your room was not cleaned and I will inform our front desk to be more clear in the future. I am happy to see you enjoyed our breakfast. I wish you a continued lovely summer. Best regards Terese Holmes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lustfyllt wrote a review Jul 2022
Habo, Sweden1 contribution
I booked a few days with my daughter to celebrate her birthday and was extremely disappointed with the reception staff’s rudeness and incompetence. It is such a shame to put people with no sense of service at the front desk of a hotel like this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terese Holmes, Marknadsföring at Marstrands Havshotell
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Hello, Thank you for your review and thoughts. We generally receive good comments about our staff so I wonder what exactly went wrong for you to express views like this? Our staff throughout the hotel are expected to greet and welcom our guests in a welcoming, respectull and professional way. That said I will make relevant management aware of your comments. Kind regards, Terese Holmes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lisadilukaask wrote a review Apr 2022
We enjoyed our stay at Marstrands havshotell. The staff were great, and the new restaurant the same. Minus was the spa, that we thought needs a reference, and also that there were a a rehabclass in the middle of our spatime.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Karlsson, Marknadsföring at Marstrands Havshotell
Responded 24 Apr 2022
The biggest thank you for your feedback! We are looking forward to welcoming you back! Best regards, Agnes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Otto S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Mark was the best bartender ever and the hotel was really nice couldn’t have asked for anything else if you need help ask Mark! 🔥 can’t get any better and it’s literally the best service ever come here spend your money and and enjoy your time no other ways to put it! 👌
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Terese Holmes, Marknadsföring at Marstrands Havshotell
Responded 30 Aug 2021
Thank you. We will notify Mark. :-) Kind regards, Terese
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laila M wrote a review Aug 2021
Copenhagen, Denmark110 contributions25 helpful votes
We stayed 4 nights in Marstrands Havshotell. The hotel is lovely situated by the small habour, the staff was friendly and the beds were great. But... this hotel needs quality checks and management attention - perhaps is on purpose to save money, as Marstrand is popular... No towels in the room when we arrived - to the reception in a queue to get some (no phone in the room), there was a glas with old cigarettes at the balcony and the overall cleaning standard was bad. Bathrobe - to the reception in a queue to get it. No minibar, the drinks were placed on a table in the room - to the bar in a queue and get an bucket with ice. No coffee maschine in the room - to the bar in a queue to pay 30 SKR and then self service to tap the coffee and bring it up to the room. Breakfast was served at the table on a big plate - same variation every four mornings. I asked for apple juice instead of orange juice, but it was not possible, so ended with water, self service by the way. Day 2 we needed to have a sheet changed. In the morning at 8 I asked to have this done during the day and when we were back from a trip at 4 pm nothing has happened, in a queue and asked again, at 6 pm new sheet arrived and the cigarettes was removed from the balcony. If you want cleaning you have to ask for it at the reception in a queue first of course. One day I discovered the VM in Drake sailing was going on soon - I asked in the reception, if it was tomorrow and possible to watch, I got direction advice, but unfortunately it was not started yet. Also I asked for the boats to other islands than Marstrand in the Skærgård - look at the net was the answer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Karlsson, Gästservice/reception at Marstrands Havshotell
Responded 14 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking your time and write about your stay. This week we have started a quality check so that everything works correctly at the hotel. I will bring up your opinions with the management so that we can develop. I hope we can welcome you back one day! Best regards, Agnes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dayez m wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
The quality of their services couldn't justify thos prices. The cleaning service has to be add on the bill (10euros about their ecological politic). In the same time you can't choose your breakfast. You sit and the waiter give you a braeakfast meal. At any moment you can choose something in this plate. Lots of waste. This failure of the hotel left a bad taste
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Karlsson, Gästservice/reception at Marstrands Havshotell
Responded 14 Aug 2021
Thank you for bringing up for opinions about your stay. It was sad to hear that your stay did not live up to the expectations. I think it is an misunderstanding with the cleaning policy. We are never adding anything on your bill. If you refrain cleaning Day 2, we will donate 1 euro per night to the organisation "Save the Sea". I am sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast plates. They are really popular among the guests, and the plates are by far less waste than a buffé. I hope we have the honor to welcome you back one day! Best regards, Agnes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
First time in Marstrand. Great swimming 50m from hotel great picnic lunch & met a great barman Mark from Donegal. Days trips to smogen & tjurpannen recommended & ferry across to Island here. Great Varg store.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Karlsson, Gästservice/reception at Marstrands Havshotell
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Thank you for your review! I agree with you that Mark is a great barman! We are looking forward to welcoming you again! Best regards, Agnes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HJB551 wrote a review Aug 2021
Gothenburg, Sweden2 contributions
Our stay was over expectation and a great experience. Minimal room design by the sea was relaxing. The restaurant was tasty and efficient. Not a foot out of place and a return visit needed. Thank you for having us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Karlsson, Gästservice/reception at Marstrands Havshotell
Responded 6 Aug 2021
It is us that is supposed to thank you! Both for staying with us and your beautiful words! I am looking forward to welcome you back to Marstrand another time! Best regards, Agnes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$173 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwedenWest CoastBohuslänMarstrand
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARSTRANDS HAVSHOTELL (Marstrand) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Marstrands Havshotell
Which popular attractions are close to Marstrands Havshotell?
Nearby attractions include Marstrand (0.5 km) and Bunneys (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Marstrands Havshotell?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Marstrands Havshotell?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Marstrands Havshotell?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Marstrands Havshotell?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marstrands Havshotell?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grand Hotel Marstrand-Tenan, Ottos Kok, and Bergs Konditori.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Marstrands Havshotell?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Marstrands Havshotell located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 km away from the centre of Marstrand.
Are any cleaning services offered at Marstrands Havshotell?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Marstrands Havshotell?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Marstrands Havshotell offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.