We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis budget Amsterdam City South

Save
Share
Prof. J. H. Bavincklaan 1, 1183 AT, Amstelveen The Netherlands
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$103
View deal
Tripadvisor$103
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$103
Travelocity$103
Priceline
FindHotel$109
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (263)
Room & Suite (105)
Dining (19)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 9 hotels in Amstelveen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
ibis budget Amsterdam City South is ideally located in Amsterdam's south business district, close to the train station. The metrostation Kronenburg is just around the corner, making it quick and easy to get to the center of Amsterdam or the airport. By car, it will take you 5 to 10 minutes. Relax in the brand new and modern rooms, discover our unique playroom, enjoy the all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast and benefit from our free WIFI and outdoor parking.(upon availability)
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Game room
Children's television networks
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German

Location

Full view
43Car recommended
Grade: 43 out of 100
25Restaurantswithin 1 km
4Attractionswithin 1 km
745Reviews79Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 188
  • 311
  • 155
  • 40
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
summergypsy67 wrote a review Jul 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution
This was our first stay at this location, but it certainly won't be our last. We had a bit of a panic during the day about arrival times as trains were horribly delayed, however the reception team were kind and reassuring throughout. The hotel is located next to a tram stop (take Metro to Zuid and then tram 5 to Kronenburg) for easy access to the city centre and the room was clean and comfortable. We didn't have breakfast, and there is no bar or restaurant at this hotel, however a range of drinks and snacks are available at reception and it is possible to order in food. Reception staff were also most helpful with printing off our travel documents for the next day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget, Guest Services / Front Office at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Summergypsy, I am thrilled to read about your feedback following your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to make you feel welcome again! Kind regards, Quinty
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maja P wrote a review Jul 2022
5 contributions
Hotel room was clean and big enough for 2. Receptionist we dealt with at check in was very helpful and informative about traveling around amsterdam. No restaurant serving lunch or dinner in the hotel was the only let down. Breakfast was available, but we didn't avail of that. Some snacks also available from reception, but pricey enough. Good tramway connection to the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget, Guest Services / Front Office at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Dear 917majap, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at ibis Budget Amsterdam City South. We greatly value and appreciate your positive and constructive feedback and it will be my pleasure to share your kind compliments with our team. Your experiences will serve as an encouragement to all of our colleagues as we strive every day to provide the highest standards of service for our valued guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Carly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
blueandy1mac wrote a review Jun 2022
Preston, United Kingdom89 contributions32 helpful votes
We had to amend our stay to a further night, thanks easyjet, but easily accommodated. Due to an accident we had no way of communicating with home but the try great staff sorted us out with free UK calls. Booked our extra evening no problem and printed off our boarding passes. Brilliant. Rooms are a bit small but adequate for two unless you intend to stay in all day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget, Guest Services / Front Office at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear blueandy1mac, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at ibis Budget Amsterdam City South. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be delighted to share your kind comments and compliments with all our colleagues. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to warmly welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Carly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Porush S wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I stayed in this hotel for 4 days. Not once the room got cleaned. They have once in 3 days room cleaning policy. There was no hairdryer,kettle, basic toiletries. I had to go down every day to get the towels. Room has got no curtains early in the morning the sun shines on your face. When I put this up with the staff all they said was sorry and not helped at all. For all this I paid 500€ for 4 days. I had visited other ibis but this one was the worst of all. Totally not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This place is 30 mins away from the central. You will have to take tram from kronenburg to zuid...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget, Guest Services / Front Office at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South
Responded 23 Jun 2022
Dear Porush S, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Carly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Davide G wrote a review May 2022
Milan, Italy102 contributions86 helpful votes
+1
I spent 3 days here for a business trip. Rooms are very small and quite Dirty, furthermore are not set up every day. The hairdryer, wardrobe and toilet brush were missing. If you want hairdryer you have to pay a bail of 20€, and If you forget the card in the room, and you close the door, you have to pay 4 € in order to get a new one. Breakfast is not good, pretty bad quality and the quality is savory breakfast is very low. The position is very uncomfortable. STAY AWAY FROM HERE.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget, Guest Services / Front Office at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. The concept of the ibis Budget hotels has indeed no hairdryer in the room, but available at the reception. If you lose your card you can get a new one at the reception for free. We do not charge a fee for this. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Carly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kay wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom5 contributions
Horrendous even for a hotel with budget in the name! Unfortunately had no choice but to book here for a couple of nights as my flight was cancelled last minute. First of all the hotel cancellation policy is outrageous. You have to give notice by 2pm to cancel a booking, even if you book the hotel after 2pm? So due to this rule if you book a room past 2pm and want to cancel immediately you’ll be charged for one night for cancelling. Ridiculous. Then, the state of the room is a joke. It had very obviously not been thoroughly cleaned after the last stay as there were marks all over the walls, dust on the floor, and the sheets did not smell fresh. Really stingy as you only provide 2 teeny pillows in the room, a small towel per guest, no bin in the actual room and you can forget any extras such as a hairdryer or kettle. Housekeeping was pretty shoddy as the bed was half made and one of the nee towel we received was fraying and had a big tear in it. Lastly, the shower was rubbish and blasted you with scolding hot water every 10 seconds and the door couldn’t close properly so water goes everywhere. You can get way more for your money so would not recommend or stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget, Guest Services / Front Office at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Budget Amsterdam City South. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Carly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
debbiequested wrote a review Apr 2022
Dymchurch, United Kingdom113 contributions64 helpful votes
Chose this hotel as it was close to my granddaughters uni, wish I’d stayed else where. On first walking into the room is appeared ok but on closer inspection it was very grubby, dirty marks on the doors, bits of fluff and hair on the floor. Thank goodness I had brought Dettol wipes with me so I could wipe all surfaces before touching anything, need better cleaning in these Covid times. We have been here 4 days now and the floor hasn’t been swept once since we arrived let alone washed and I don’t think this was done after the last guests left if I’m honest! clean towels every day but the dirty ones left in the shower, and not removed, the beds are sort of made but no clean sheets! The restaurant is self service and the tables are never wiped after each use, bits of food on the tables and chair, very grubby, and I have never stayed anywhere in the world where a toaster is is not provided at breakfast! The select of bread/rolls is good with butter and Jams but it’s very unusual not to be able to toast it! The hand sanitises are empty a lot of the time, I would not recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Chose else where
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget, Guest Services / Front Office at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at ibis Budget Amsterdam City South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again to ibis Budget Amsterdam City South in the near future. Yours sincerely, Carly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kimmi777 wrote a review Mar 2022
26 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
Room not properly cleaned. Found a dirty towel with make up staining on it. Spare single bed had used bedding dumped on top of it. Bed not folded away, this was not required. Dark red splashes on wall. Dirty marks on bathroom door. Floors grubby. Fan noisy when trying to sleep. No storage apart from a small shelf with a couple of hooks and only 2 coat hangers. No shelf at all in bathroom. Sink slopes so anything on side slips into sink! Thought there was a wardrobe, from photos on website, but this is a foldaway single bed. One small triangular poor quality plastic table and two plastic cube seats, one of which had stains of a liquid dried on it. Not cleaned at all. Very uncomfortable to sit on. Only 3 pillows provided on double bed. Towels replaced daily but staff just walk in without knocking. They left the clean towels at the back of the toilet on one of the days!! Yuk! Toilet rolls not replenished. Poor quality and too sparse furnishings provided. Not well planned for comfort.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget, Guest Services / Front Office at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South
Responded 6 Jul 2022
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Amsterdam City South. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Carly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SKGEmmanuel wrote a review Mar 2022
Brussels, Belgium179 contributions113 helpful votes
There are some weaker points inherently linked with the nature of the brand, so I will not mention nor take into account the spartan nature of the room. Starting from the positives, I would say that the location is extremely well selected, a couple of minutes walk away from the tram stop. Moreover, the price can sometimes be competitive compared to other hotel establishments in Amsterdam, though not always. Also, the air-conditioning is not more noisy than expected, so that’s by definition an advantage. And that’s were the positives end. On the other side, the rooms are not ergonomic, the beds are hard (though that’s a matter of personal preference, so I will be neutral on that one), the windows cannot open nor does the thin curtain (so one has to rely solely to the air-con, though maybe it’s for the best given the state of cleanliness of the windows), it was dirty pretty much everywhere and rather superficially cleaned (crisps on the bottom of the bed, a thick layer of dust on the sitting stools and the table, fabric particules on the bed linen, toothpaste on the shower walls, and the toilet floor could do with a good vacuuming) though admittedly the shower door was clean, and the walls allowed for a bit too much of noise to travel through. Also, to my surprise, though the pressure in the shower was constant, the water temperature would fluctuate from scorching hot to rather cold in a matter of seconds, so one has to anticipate and wash in instalments between the rhythmic change. The reception team is not terrible, but I wouldn’t call it exactly professional either; talking and laughing with colleagues about what you’ll do later may appear to some people as relaxed and almost friendly, but it’s simply not the way to perform the check-in. Moreover, there is the choice of a limited cold breakfast buffet; it gets busy and dare I say borderline disorderly, and it doesn’t make for a pleasant experience, but at least the option is there for those who so wish. Overall, I would say go for it if it’s for maximum 1 night and all you need is a place to crash and have a shower, but nothing more than that, and definitely without expectations. Unfortunately it’s a no for me due to the cleanliness and the low quality of the stay but, unfortunately, everything has a price; if I’m ever forced without any other reasonable choice and with an extremely low price well below competitors, maybe I could reconsider, but it would be a big call.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget, Guest Services / Front Office at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South
Responded 6 Jul 2022
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Budget Amsterdam City South. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Carly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kolasa03148 wrote a review Nov 2021
Atlanta, Georgia376 contributions206 helpful votes
Hotel is in location with close proximity to metro (3 min away) and small strip mall with great restaurants (10 min walk). Hotel personnel are great and hotel is spotless. Price is right too. My only area of concern is the housekeeping staff. - one day no room cleaning service at all -another day new towels were delivered but bed never made up -6 days the floor in the bedroom was never cleaned/swept/vacuum -9 fays the floor in the bathroom was never cleaned Not sure what, if any, special cleaning or chemical was used during the pandemic!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmstelveen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
314
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ibis budget Amsterdam City South
Which popular attractions are close to Ibis budget Amsterdam City South?
Nearby attractions include Middelpolder (0.9 km), Cultuurcentrum VU Griffioen (0.5 km), and Winkelcentrum Kostverlorenhof (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and reduced mobility rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ibis budget Amsterdam City South?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Kronenburg, Alexandros, and Ishii.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ibis budget Amsterdam City South?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Ibis budget Amsterdam City South?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (4.4 km), Portuguese Synagogue (6.1 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (6.2 km).
Is Ibis budget Amsterdam City South accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.