We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Estalagem do Vale Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 36: English reviews
chesterfield
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this 4* hotel for 2 nights on our tour of Madeira expecting a little bit of luxury and something special after 3 nights in a cheap hostel in Funchal. The main reason for booking was the heated pool for my 9 year old. It being 4* I had high expectations. At check in we were told the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo t
Estalagem d, Public Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor member, We hereby answer your comment made on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all sorts of comments whether they are appreciative or derogatory, helping us to improve. Regarding the pool, we would like to inform you that the pool is heated and usually covered but we had a little problem with the pool cover, we already have scheduled the...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

I would have rated this hotel higher had the outdoor heated pool been operational when we arrived and on the basis our room needed some repairs/replacement for the french doors and outside patio furniture. On the plus side the views are fabulous but if you want a full mountain view, then you will have to pay and upgrade. Ours was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maureen029
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor member, At first we would like to thank you for the time spent rating our hotel, which is something extremely important to us, as we work to provide our guests the best experience abroad possible. Secondly, we would like to clarify some aspects of your comments. In that concerning the outdoor pool, which was not operational at the...

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

This came as part of a good value TravelBird package. We didn’t expect too much and so were not disappointed. Firstly, the location is pretty much off the beaten track, in a residential area and a car is essential. We drove past four times before we identified the property – maybe we are stupid – but the signage is poor....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KevinTurvey
Estalagem d, General Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby answer to your comment made on Trip Advisor regarding our Hotel and also our staff, which we are very grateful for, and it helps us to correct and improve every day. Regarding your comment about the signalling of the hotel, please be advised that the roads of access to the same, are properly signalled...

Cabrerets, France
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights over Christmas and New Year and had a really wonderful time. We stayed here previously 8 years ago and always vowed we would return. We were made to feel so welcome. It is in a beautifully peaceful setting on the north of the island, it is best to hire a car, though...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gillden
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby thank you for your review towards our hotel and staff which we are very grateful for; it helps us to correct and improve every day. We hope to receive you again in Hotel Estalagem do Vale. Best regards.

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

A very friendly family run hotel based in the forest on the North of the Island and ideally placed for those visiting Madeira for a walking holiday. Accommodation is very comfortable (try to get a room with a balcony view down to the coast of across to the hills). Meals are excellent especially for those who like fish and offers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peter366
Estalagem d, Public Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby answer to your comment made on Trip Advisor regarding our Hotel and also our staff, which we are very grateful for,it helps us to correct and improve every day. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel Estalagem do Vale.We hope to see you soon once again.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015

This small hotel sits in a gorgeous setting amongst the mountains of Sao Vicente. It is quiet and you need a car to see the island but so much more tranquil than other spots. Staff were excellent. Food was good and we only ate elsewhere one night. We had a great week here and it is perfect for a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim4965
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor member, We thank you for your comments and interaction with our workforce, which for us is always important. Only this way we can improve the quality of our services and create conditions of excellence. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel Estalagem do Vale and hope to see you soon once again. Best...

Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 1 week in October and the weather was horrible for 3 days out of 4. As it was optional, we did not book a room with a view of the mountain. We should have, as we had a magnificient view of the neighbours's gardens. The windows were not equipped with net curtains so we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlene O
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear member of TripAdvisor, We hereby answer your comment made on Trip Advisor, once we appreciate all sorts of comments whether they are appreciative or derogatory. 1.We do have two tipes of courtains, the blackout and the other courtain for decoration, we don’t understand when you say that you had to be in the dark for privacy!that’s why we have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015

We stayed for 2 weeks at the above hotel.. This is much too long, we did not know that it was 35 minutes into Funchal. You really do need to have a car. Having said this the staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. The food is good, but the chef seems to repeat the menus every other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank june_koubel
Estalagem d, Public Relations Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor member, Thank you for leaving your review towards our hotel. Best regards.

Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015

We were looking for a smaller hotel in a quiet location in Madeira and this proved to be the case. The staff were friendly and professional and the facilities were good. They have an excellent chef in Roberto. I enjoyed every meal and we only ate out once. - particularly good dessert trolley. It is probably best to hire a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadine W
Estalagem d, Front Office Manager at Estalagem do Vale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tripadvisor member. Thank you for your kind words. Best regards.

Belgium
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We stayed here during our round trip around Madeira. Our overall experience with the hotels up north was that they were less in quality (but cheaper) than those in Funchal, but this was one of the better ones. This one was average. We had difficulties finding the hotel, driving up and down the hill, the hotel was poorly recognisable from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chitza

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
4:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Vicente
21.3 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
32.3 km away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
5.9 km away
Monte Mar Palace
Monte Mar Palace
#1 of 1 in Ponta Delgada
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
#1 of 1 in Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
307 reviews
13.6 km away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
282 reviews
26.1 km away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 14 in Canico
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Estalagem do Vale is a charming, historical country-house style inn that offers comfortable, “home from home” accommodation in the beautiful setting of the Laurissilva Forest, one of the most idyllic places on Madeira Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Estalagem do Vale Hotel

Address: Sitio das Feiteira de Baixo, Sao Vicente, Madeira 9240-206, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Sao Vicente
Price Range: ₹ 3,471 - ₹ 6,466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem do Vale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Estalagem do Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Estalagem Do Vale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Estalagem do Vale Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Estalagem do Vale Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pay premium for the view”
 of 5 bubbles jot704, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“will need to upgrade and pay more if you want a full mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles maureen029, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms with no balcony”
 of 5 bubbles KevinTurvey, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room looking across the valley”
 of 5 bubbles peter366, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“wifi available in lobby for no additional cost”
 of 5 bubbles Tim4965, 6 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay