We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Inn on the Green

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Inn on the Green
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 96: English reviews
Start your review of The Inn on the Green
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here this week whilst working in the area with the booking having been made by my office. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed by my stay. I found the room, at best tired but probably more accurately described as grubby. The bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom mouldy and frankly dirty. There are signs outside that the inn is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To be honest not great. Wasn't tremendously expensive but then it was a bit rough around the edges. Bed uncomfortable, food in restaurant average. Quite a lot of noise from the bar area. Would probably not stay here again until it's improved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greatwood1
Ockley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Its a warm welcoming pub. The landlady is lovely, and the staff offer great service. The small menu is all locally sourced food. I had the ham, duck eggs and chips; which was delicious. There is plenty of parking as the pub has a huge car park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annettepaterson37
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Nice place, clean rooms and very friendly staff. Only issue was the choice of vegetarian food available for our vegetarian. Found plenty to do in the area and in the Inn itself, given the awful weather. Enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hugh J
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Stayed here over the weekend, the food was stunning. Room was comfy, and overall a lovely experience. The only downside is wifi is poor, but it was ok in the bar. The literature does warn guests about this though, so we were prepared.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ele1959
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

So myself & my passenger assistant planned to stop here a few weeks ago because when we usually do our pick from the local school on a Friday we take a sandwich. We thought it would be a nice change as it was my p.a birthday 🎉 on Sunday .. HOW RIGHT WAS WE.. We both had the ham, egg...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Funnyfee W
Reviewed 31 October 2016

So we are planning a wedding and wanted to find a nice pub with the facilities and character. We found the Inn on the Green online and thought lets take a look.. We arranged to see Paul at 8.30 so we arrived early at 7.15 and had dinner so we could see what it was like. Wow food was fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stresshead71
Netheravon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed here for two nights when my partner's daughter got married near by (I hasten to add we did not book to stay here, was done for us and I will never again stay somewhere without checking it out myself!) I am not adding a ton of detail on the room here as I am adding photos that speak...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Smiling-Brian
publandloard, Owner at The Inn on the Green, responded to this review

Well thanks for this Brian, you have unjustly made us out to be a dirty, horrible place to stay! The truth is that you should have stayed in a five star hotel and parted company with the best part of £350 per night – sounds like you would have been able to pick fault with that as well! If we...

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

I went here with my family which includes two young children and a dog all of which were more than welcome in this old country pub, at the same time it didn't have the feel of a pub that has been over run with children.It has a relaxed atmosphere and staff that were attentive. The menu was small with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adrian R
Reviewed 23 July 2016

It is a lovely place, very cosy and welcoming. The staff were fabulous and helpful. The food was excellent value. All in all a pleasant visit. The only disappointed was that the sea food salad that my husband fancied was not available as No one had ever ordered it before! Think they should remove it from menu list. It has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caroljose

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ockley
7.3 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
60 reviews
9.4 km away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
2.3 km away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#4 of 8 in Dorking
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
13.4 km away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
280 reviews
12.0 km away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Inn on the Green and The Green Rooms Restaurant is a 15th-century public house set in the lovely village of Ockley, with a traditional bar, lounge and fine dining restaurant and conservatory. The bar is oak-beamed and full of character, with a great selection of beers, wines and spirits. The rear of the pub is a very comfortable lounge area with sofas and an open fire. There is a separate games room with pool table and fruit machine. The restaurant seats up to 76 people and serves a traditional English home made menu of locally-sourced food, freshly cooked by our team of Chefs. Behind the pub is an enclosed beer garden with children’s play area and a 90-space car park. The pub has six en-suite bedrooms, including a large family room, and the rates include a full English breakfast. The warm and friendly welcome, combined with the scenery and walks of the Surrey hills makes this a very special place to come and visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn on the Green

Address: Stane Street, Ockley RH5 5TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Ockley
Price Range: ₹ 4,797 - ₹ 6,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Green 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Inn on the Green staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi only in the bar, bad signals!”
Ele1959, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Helpful room tip: Try somewhere else”
  • Pets welcome, or enjoy the ones we provide.
  • Heavily stained mattress
  • rusty
  • dirty and old
  • minging limescale
  • mould
Smiling-Brian, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the top level at the back are bigger and quieter.”
  • Beautiful Garden
LHooper_Knapman, 24 Jul 2015 | Read review
“all rooms very clean and tidy”
C2565NSalanc, 26 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The rooms in the back are most quiet.”
929lindaj, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5