We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostal Coco Loco

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canoa
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Start your review of Hostal Coco Loco
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two days here - perfect place to stay in Canoa, a sleepy beach town on the Ecuadorian coast if Montanita isn't your vibe. The owner is very accomodating and friendly - anything you need they'll help you with! Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
Ibarra, Ecuador
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed one night in the hostel and changed to another place. The common shower had a urine smell and was dirty so I wasn't keen of taking one. Our room had a window without glass but it had wooden shutters which we first closed for the noise. We opened it later at night to get some fresh air in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantal G
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Hi Chantal G, thanks for the review. I'm sorry you weren't satisfied with the state of the shower, our housekeeping staff scrubs all of our bathrooms with bleach and disinfectant every day but unfortunately we live in a world where some people aren't considerate of others when using shared facilities. Sounds like you were a victim of bad timing, if...

Honolulu
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really liked this place. It's affordable and has a super chill vibe. The hostel is in the perfect location in Canoa with lots of restaurants around and the surf/beach is literally steps from the hostel. They have board rentals (and surf report is written out at reception each day). Simple breakfasts were available with juice, coffee or tea, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandi8888
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Brandi8888, I'm glad you had a good time in Canoa and enjoyed your stay at the Coco Loco. Hope to see you back here soon!

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel is beautiful and has a great location but unfortunately we didn't enjoy our stay. Our double room was very basic, light fittings hanging off the wall, not the cleanest sheets, generally could do with a quick spruce up. The bathrooms were some of the dirtiest I've seen throughout Latin America. Also the staff aren't the friendliest. I understand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skeltonh
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Hi skeltonh, I'm glad you were able to appreciate some of the hostel's amenities despite our shortcomings. As you pointed out we are in a transition period and we're about to undergo major renovations to address some of the problems you pointed out, including new sheets and pillows, new paint, light fixtures, furniture, and even more chill out space. We...

Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewed 21 April 2017

I found the hostel pretty great. We stayed in a double room with a private bathroom, and honestly, before getting there I didn't expect the room to be this nice. I mean, it was $30-a-night nice - clean room, clean sheets, a mosquito net over the bed, a big enough bathroom (no hot water tho), and each evening we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donata160
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Hi Donata160, thanks for your review, I'm glad you found the Coco Loco clean and comfortable, we've been working hard to improve general cleanliness ever since I took over last month. Our upcoming renovations will address the hot water and security concerns that you mentioned, among many other improvements. I'm sorry you found the staff unpleasant and me forgetful, most...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Right next to the beach where there are plenty of restaurants and board-hire places. It's just been taken over by a new manager who is planning to spruce it up, and all the staff were helpful and service is good. Wifi is fast, even when lounging in a hammock. Easy to meet fellow travellers/surfers in the garden bar. It's not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedraozao
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Pedraozao, glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back at the Coco Loco next time you're in town!

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I'm torn writing this review. The people at the hostel were all extremely friendly and helped me with the jellyfish sting. Sadly the sheets were dirty and the bathroom was the worst I've seen compared to other hostels I've been here in Ecuador. This put me off a lot. I hope you guys fix that. The place has the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denymoura
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Hi denymoura, sorry you were put off by the cleanliness of the hostel. You caught us in a transition period, I'm the new owner and I took control of the hostal a week after your visit, I'll be sure to make improved cleanliness my first priority. Thanks for your review, hope you enjoyed your trip!

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Great beach front location, hammocks, cats and dogs all over, cool yard and wifi is legit... The workers/volunteers were kind and easy going, but the place could be a little more facilitating for the price (cheaper places on both sides). No water or breakfast included...and you can't cook lol also yep yep many many mozzies and no net!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
hostalcocoloco, Owner at Hostal Coco Loco, responded to this review

Hi Amber, thanks for your review. I am the new owner of the Coco Loco, I bought it about 3 weeks after your visit, and I have stayed in the rooms and I had a similar experience as yours. I plan on fixing everything you complained about and more. I hope you enjoyed your time in Canoa and the rest...

Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

English/Deutsch/Castellano The Coco Loco Hostel is a perfect choice for backpackers. The dormitory was $8, the lower bunk beds have mosquito nets and you can hear the sea at night. It's not the cleanest, there's sand on all the floors and the showers have seen better days (only cold water) but the beds are comfortable, the staff very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Windfahrt
Odense, Denmark
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We only stayed one night at this quite noisy backpacker party hostel. It was a bit expensive, the rooms were small and one of the beds was missing a mosquito net. Besides that, the place had a nice common area with average wifi and lots of cats. The location near the beach was nice and the staff was very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian H

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canoa hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Canoa's Wonderland
0.2 km away
Amalur Hostal Restaurante
2.2 km away
Sundown Beach Hotel
Sundown Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Canoa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Rutamar
Hotel Rutamar
#5 of 14 in Canoa
55 reviews
0.6 km away
Hosteria Canoa
Hosteria Canoa
#1 of 14 in Canoa
165 reviews
0.0 km away
La Vista Hotel
La Vista Hotel
#7 of 14 in Canoa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostal Coco Loco is a beachfront Hostal with beautiful gardens and views of the sea. We have a quiet, chill out vibe with palm trees and hammocks and a bar with rum, cold beer, and great service. You'll find Coco Loco comfortable, convenient, and a lovely escape. Please come join us for a couple of days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Coco Loco

Address: Fernando Cassis, Malecon, Canoa 131451, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Canoa
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Coco Loco staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostal Coco Loco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the room Chile has a nice view, good bed and private bathroom”
940hildeg, 27 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a private room. Lock away valuables in rooms and bags.”
LCMP96, 18 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Brazil room is a great place to stay if you need your own privacy.”
Kylde, 21 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Second Floor is best! :)”
KieranS397, 11 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have a great view and are a bit away from the hip restaurant and bar.”
gringoinquito, 28 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5