We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bath Lodge Castle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bath Lodge Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 426: English reviews
Start your review of Bath Lodge Castle
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Having driven past this beautiful hotel a few times (and been so intrigued by it) my boyfriend and I finally booked a night away here. It was exactly how I hoped it would be - the decor is stunning and the room was pretty and kept in the style of the hotel. All the staff we met were absolutely lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred-m86
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on 11th April. The room was excellent and the staff were very welcoming and friendly during our one night stay. Did not have dinner but did have breakfast the following day. There was a good continental selection, the full English was delicious. The walk in the woods didn't take as long as I'd hoped (5 mins) but was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
KLH99973, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for your kind review.

Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our night at Bath Lodge. Our room was lovely, with a four poster bed and good shower. We made use of the hot tub and sauna. Hot tub was great and very warm! However, sauna didn't really get hot enough. Dinner was included in our stay and we both really enjoyed it. Staff was really friendly. Communal areas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pageygal
KLH99973, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review

We give special discounts to returning guests which we do hope you will make use of. Thank you so much for your kind remarks, it really does help our young hard working team find every effort they make worthwhile when guests like yourselves appreciate what they are trying to achieve.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Disappointed with the whole stay. The room was very small and the mattress was literally just springs! The cleaner needs re training as the dust was months old especially around the edges of the carpet and under and behind the bed. The view from our room was lots of rubbish! See pics, Bulbs hanging out of the ceiling tatty frayed...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 123lee46
KLH99973, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review

You obviously did not enjoy yourselves that much is obvious. After speaking with my staff I can only say that you were a thoroughly miserable woman who was determined not to enjoy herself whatever efforts they made. Your husband was much nicer apparently. Looking at your reviews you obviously don't like it anywhere. I would suggest you stay home in...

iow
Reviewed 1 week ago

After reviewing castles to stay we settled on Bath lodge, paying £185.00 for one night left feeling very disappointed, room was small, toilet paper down the toilet on arrival, dirty bed sheets, looked like someone had been using fake tan,and under the bed had not seen a hoover for some time. Staff were very welcoming and helpful and breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank suesamwes
KLH99973, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review

I am highly offended by this review. Room sizes are specified. These people never mentioned either the 'toilet paper down the loo' or 'dirty bed sheets'. Both items which could have been put right immediately should we have known about it. Suffice it to say that we use a laundry cleaning service and the sheets are changed every 2 nights...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked rooms for two nights for our family and friends to celebrate my sons wedding in August 2016 and we had a most wonderful memorable time. All our guests loved the place, we were all greeted with afternoon tea on arrival as planned, it was absolutely wonderful. All the rooms were as stated. Breakfast was really lovely. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalpna411
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for a long weekend in an annex room with a four poster bed which was just a bit large for the size of room. Generally the room was comfortable - T/C's were basic (no biccies, I do like a biscuit with my tea, however they did do afternoon tea). Shower room (no bath) was well decorated, looked a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live locally but have not visited before .Situated on the A36 roughly half way between Bath and Frome with glorious , relaxing rear gardens , We tried afternoon tea on Mother's Day after reading some reviews . Really our experience could not have been better . We were greeted immediately when we arrived in the rear garden . The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santana1053
Warminster
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited this restaurant for an early Mother's Day lunch. The building itself is a lovely hotchpotch of architecture and history and sits in pretty gardens. Outside there is a large cage containing two enormous rabbits which my son was thrilled about. We were served by a lovely waiter who could not do enough for us. He was quick to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WarminsterCoops79
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This restaurant/hotel is unexpected and quite a surprise. The castellated turrets and garden restaurant is very welcoming. We booked for Sunday Lunch and were surprised to get a table as it was Mothering Sunday and the restaurant is small. Nevertheless we arrived and were met by the front of house and shown to our table immediately. Note: there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve G

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton St Philip
11.1 km away
Apsley House Hotel
9.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
9.4 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,322 reviews
9.2 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,339 reviews
10.9 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This quintessentially English Grade II castle complete with 11 bedroom suites is just 6 miles from the historic City of Bath. Completed in 1806, Bath Lodge Castle is a wonderful rural retreat for a wide range of purposes. Refurbished at the end of 2010 to a stunning standard, the Castle is packed full of charm and character, and friends, families and colleagues alike will be astounded by its comfort. The four acres of grounds including the Pavilion, contain a hot tub, sauna and bucket shower, as well as outdoor bar and river surround this stunning property and together provide a perfect base from which to explore and enjoy South West England. Call 0,1225-7==-23043 for bookings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bath Lodge Castle

Address: Warminster Road (A36) | On the A36 Itself, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Norton St Philip
Price Range: ₹ 11,733 - ₹ 18,735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bath Lodge Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bath Lodge Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Lodge Castle Hotel Norton St Philip
Bath Lodge Castle Norton St Philip
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bath Lodge Castle staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bath Lodge Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Use premier inn instead”
suesamwes, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a Cantenbury (their spelling) room, do not ask for the four-poster, they have better beds without.”
PurleyTraveller, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All very good”
StephenandJane2014, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some of the rooms can accommodate families”
davidhQ6931NL, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family rooms perfect”
judyp461, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5