We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Iwaso

Travellers' Choice award winner
Ryokan 
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Iwaso
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

464 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
Start your review of Iwaso
 Click to rate
Avon, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We spent 2 nights at this beautiful Ryokan nestled in a gorgeous park on a small island off the coast of Hiroshima called Miyajima. This was not on the top of my list BUT to our surprise turned out to be our favorite. As soon as you arrive ( via free shuttle that departs every 20 minutes from front of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had seen lots of amazing reviews of this place on Trip Advisor and so booked a night here on the strength of these. We have never spent so much on a hotel room in our lives but it was a special trip and our first Ryoken experience so we were really hoping for something amazing. Unfortunately for us, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TashlieS
iwshc, お客様担当マネージャー at Iwaso, responded to this review
Google Translation

このたびは岩惣へご宿泊いただきまして誠にありがとうございます。 せっかく遠方からお越しいただきましたのに ご期待に添うこ...

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We (my wife and 3yo daughter) stayed here in late autumn. It was fantastic. Everything from the booking, arrival, the stay to departure was first class. We had planned a trip to Hiroshima and Miyajima for specific dates. At first, Iwaso was all booked out but upon checking their website a couple of months later they had one opening right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seoultrader
iwshc, お客様担当マネージャー at Iwaso, responded to this review
Google Translation

先日は「みやじまの宿 岩惣」にお越しいただき、心より感謝申し上げます。 勿体ないほどのお褒めのお言葉をいただき、身の引き...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Over rated. Definitely not what we expected. This is a regular Japanese hotel, located in the back of the city. We did not enjoy the dinner food, probably the worst we had in Japan (we did not touch the breakfast food). Hopefully there was a good French burgundy wine on the list. The staff is very nice tho. Way too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjouille L
iwshc, お客様担当マネージャー at Iwaso, responded to this review
Google Translation

このたびは岩惣へご宿泊いただきまして誠にありがとうございます。 せっかく遠方からお越しいただきましたのに ご期待に添うこ...

Shellharbour, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow!!!!! What a beautiful place to visit and stay!!!!! We stayed here for 4 nights as a part of a month long visit to Japan, and were so glad that we did!!!!! It was hard to leave!!!!! Location, Location, Location, Staff, Surroundings, Onsen, Atmosphere!!!!! This place has it all!!!!! Oh, and if you're a lover of Seafood (and especially Oysters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mizu_Kuma
iwshc, お客様担当マネージャー at Iwaso, responded to this review
Google Translation

このたびは岩惣へご宿泊いただきまして誠にありがとうございます。 「素晴らしい!」とのお言葉を頂戴し、身に余る光栄でござい...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

A beautiful hotel on a beautiful Island. We were treated to a fabulous experience at Iwasu. The onsen is fantastic and the food is exceptional. Don't forget to go on the cable car for great views of the harbour. A memorable experience and one we hope to repeat soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
iwshc, お客様担当マネージャー at Iwaso, responded to this review
Google Translation

先日は「みやじまの宿 岩惣」にお越しいただき、心より御礼申し上げます。 お食事は、地産地消を心がけ板長が真心こめてご提供...

London
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Iwaso is one of the oldest and most established ryokan in Miyajima and we were very impressed by our stay. We only stayed for the one night, but the whole experience was very special and we highly recommend it - prices can seem expensive at first glance but we couldn't stop smiling at check out - there were no nasty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Strae
iwshc, お客様担当マネージャー at Iwaso, responded to this review
Google Translation

先日は「みやじまの宿 岩惣」にお越しいただき、心より御礼申し上げます。 またクチコミのご投稿をいただき重ねて御礼申し上げ...

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Upon landing in Miyajima from the Hiroshima Peace Park via the Aqua-Net fast boat, I called Iwaso ryokan to let the staff know of our arrival. We had offered to walk from the dock but were told that it would be better if we were picked up. The Iwaso van arrived promptly and we drove along a scenic road up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MistyAsh
iwshc, お客様担当マネージャー at Iwaso, responded to this review
Google Translation

このたびは岩惣へご宿泊いただきまして誠にありがとうございます。 またクチコミのご投稿をいただき重ねて御礼申し上げます。...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel was amazing... The staff were very accommodating and helpful in explaining everything we needed the know. The onsen was great (if not a little awkward). Dinner was a selection of Japanese food which were all really nice. Sleeping on the floor was a bit rough but part of the experience. Definitely worth every cent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
iwshc, お客様担当マネージャー at Iwaso, responded to this review
Google Translation

先日は「みやじまの宿 岩惣」にお越しいただき、心より御礼申し上げます。 日本の伝統文化を肌で感じていただき嬉しい限りでご...

Vigo, Spain
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Location is really good, service is amazing and we really enjoyed the food. The onsen is nice but not one of the best we visited in Japan. The room had a good size and amazing views, but it was outdated, specially the bathroom. Anyway it was great as an experience, but the room was poor for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexia M
iwshc, お客様担当マネージャー at Iwaso, responded to this review
Google Translation

このたびは岩惣へご宿泊いただきまして誠にありがとうございます。 またクチコミのご投稿をいただき重ねて御礼申し上げます。...

597 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (567)
Viewed
Dining (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (261)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatsukaichi hotels
Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto
#6 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
276 reviews
Miyajima Seaside Hotel
#3 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
231 reviews
Hotel Kikunoya
#9 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miyajima Hotel Makoto
#14 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
113 reviews
Miyahama Onsen
Sekitei
Sekitei
#10 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
114 reviews
Kinsuikan
#4 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Iwaso

Address: 345-1 Miyajimacho, Hatsukaichi 739-0522, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hatsukaichi
Price Range: ₹ 20,453 - ₹ 37,780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iwaso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Orbitz and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Iwaso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iwaso Hotel Hatsukaichi
Iwaso Japan/Hiroshima Prefecture - Hatsukaichi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Iwaso staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Iwaso staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't be put off by "Standard" rooms, as they are anything but standard!!!!! I'd stay in any room at Iwaso!!!!!”
  • Mod Cons are found!!!!!
  • Onsen Equipment!!!!!
  • Rice Spoons and Oysters!!!!!
  • Macha and Manju!!!!!
  • Kotatsu Time!!!!!
 of 5 bubbles Mizu_Kuma, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a cottage, skip the rooms in main building.”
 of 5 bubbles BlasMalbec, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles briangBaildon, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for two mattress if you sleep on the floor”
 of 5 bubbles b1nnie, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room in the main, Honkan building had a shelf support made from a tree branch and a private porch overlooking the stream.”
 of 5 bubbles peachesnpears, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5