We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic

Save
Share
731 Agocho Shinmei Kashikojima, Shima 517-0502 Mie Prefecture
Lowest prices for your stay
$207
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Lol.travel$229
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (654)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (219)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 88 hotels in Shima
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
About 130 minutes from the central japan international airport Centrair. Space of the relaxation that tradition and nature produce.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
Japanese
684Reviews4Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 475
  • 148
  • 39
  • 12
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sunnyslope wrote a review Apr 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
This was definitely my best experience at a hotel in Japan. Hotel staff were very courteous and attentive. We were treated like VIPs throughout the stay. Our room was superb, with a great view of the bay. The bed and pillows were very comfortable (where can we buy those pillows?). The room was very quiet. In many hotels, you will often hear some buzzing noise of AC (?), but not in this hotel. We particularly enjoyed our time in the guest lounge with a reading room—looking over Ago Bay at sunset and enjoying small but exquisite hors d'oeuvres (the quiche was a killer!). For non-readers, this is a romantic place to look into your lover’s eyes. I enjoyed reading, relaxing next to my husband, who was sipping wine. I couldn’t finish “Karei-naru Ichizoku” so we will come back to finish the book. It would be better if the reading room had a better selection of books both in Japanese and in English--for example, some novels set in ocean resort hotels (I can recommend some), and reading lamps (for after sunset). Our stay concluded with an amazing breakfast. Although it was called “American breakfast,” it came with soup (which tasted great) and a salad (which tasted great, too, and very very fresh—cucumbers tasted amazingly juicy). I have never had a better egg benedict! The hollandaise sauce is flavored with shrimp, elevating the egg benedict to a real French dish. Overall, this is the best place to come when you want to be pampered. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shima Kanko Hotel Front Office, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic
Responded 8 Jun 2022
Thank you for coming to Shima Kanko Hotel. We are so happy you are satisfied with your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gillies M wrote a review Sep 2019
Berkeley, California18 contributions24 helpful votes
Was taken here for lunch by a good friend. Amazingly good food and wonderful service. We had multiple courses from lobster soup, to abalone to local steak and delicious desserts. Started with a glass of Perrier Jouet champagne and followed by both red and white burgundies. I did not pay for this and I am sure it must have been very expensive but for a totally wonderful dining experience it could not be beaten.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FarAway805766, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic
Responded 12 Oct 2019
Thank you for coming to Shima Kanko Hotel. We are so happy you are satisfied with our lunch. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
majicka wrote a review Jun 2019
Tokyo, Japan387 contributions219 helpful votes
Stayed here on a Saturday night and had a very nice time. The hotel previously hosted the G7 summit and there is memorabilia from the event all over the hotel. The rooms aren't bad, but certainly not what you'd expect of a five-star hotel. A huge win for the guest floor with free drinks and snacks. The gym had a couple of machines, could definitely do with more equipment. The food and restaurant was exceptional. Particularly good abalone steak and terrine dishes. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in the Mie / Shima area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from FarAway805766, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic
Responded 6 Jul 2019
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. we are so happy you stayed comfortable. we are looking forward to seeing you again. sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
xdarnold wrote a review Feb 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Otherwise pleasant stay marred by poor management behavior. On my morning of checkout, I was running late to a tour in Toba. Running out the door, I vacated the room, left my key, asked the bell desk to hold my luggage - and informed the front desk that I would settle the final bill upon my return from the tour. They told me that this would be impossible, that I needed to stay and handle the payment formalities immediately. Knowing formalities in Japan, especially at high-end establishments, are handled with great attention to detail and care, this would surely make me late for the train and my tour. A manager attended to me and when I quickly explained the situation, he told me "that is not of my concern. You may not leave without paying first." At a hotel where service is lauded, a guest's concern should be your concern - the lack of care and poor treatment from this manager shocked me and marred an otherwise pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from FarAway805766, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic
Responded 23 Feb 2019
Thank you very much for contacting us about the incident that occurred when you stay in our hotel. We understand your situation about payment formalities well. However, we are sorry that in that case, we cannot postpone your payment formalities because of our rule. Nevertheless, we thought our manager ought to have more consideration for you. We apologize for you about it and will make further efforts in providing better service. We ask for your kind understanding. Also we would be most grateful if you would continue using our hotel. Sincerely yours,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Boochan wrote a review Feb 2019
Tokyo, Japan28 contributions27 helpful votes
It's a classic (i.e. old) Japanese hotel in the gorgeous bay of Ise Shima. Yes, the hotel is bit dated and pool area is bland but rooms are well-kept, lounge has gorgeous view of the bay, and wonderful gardens. But the highlight of this hotel is their restaurant and its award-winning abalone dish. I am no fan of abalone and in fact, I'd rather not eat it but I LOVED their abalone steak. I will come back here just for that!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FarAway805766, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic
Responded 23 Feb 2019
Warm greetings from Shima Kanko Hotel. We are delighted to hear that our services met your expectation. I sincerely hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. Sincerely yours,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy Cheng wrote a review Oct 2018
Bangkok, Thailand52 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Stayed at this resort hotel for 2 nights and I am most impressed by the Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic. Spacious rooms, excellent front-staff hospitality and excellent food & beverages. Highly recommended for any type of traveling groups
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FarAway805766, マネージャー at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic
Responded 6 Nov 2018
Dear Andy C Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. we are so happy you stayed comfortable. we are looking forward to seeing you again. sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen wrote a review Jun 2018
Hong Kong, China2 contributions
I stayed here with my bf on 6th and 7th june 2018. Despite the beautiful seaview and longue ; we are impressed by the staff as they are well trained and provided good services. 1. The driver worried us not taking the last shuttle bus from Kashikojima station (since it was a rainy day) ; it’s not far if we walk from station towards the hotel but it’s very touching when we know he waits us in the station and sends us to the hotel with the little limo 2. I was bitten by the mostiquitos in the station and the front desk passed me the anti-itch liquid - as u know there’s no drug store around the hotel. 3. Luggage counter staff (a lady with specs) helped us to arrange the luggage from hotel to chubu airport; she explains very clearly as there are little discrepancies between the English and Japanese websites of delivery company and airport. 4. The restaurant staff (night shift) we were very impressed by a junior staff (trainee). She is a young girl with specs; answers our questions about the Japanese fish types and sauces which the chef used in English. We would like to say thank you to this trainee and wish her all the best. 5. We joined the yoga class and a workshop to make a wooden spoon of using Japanese Ise wood; we enjoyed it and that’s our first time to hv these in a hotel; not just go swimming , gym. You can also join the tour to explore the hotel history and G7 summit venues.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose the room when they have promotion ; use the extra money to have a French dinner
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 志摩観光ホテル, マネージャー at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic
Responded 30 Jun 2018
Dear Karen m Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. And we are so glad you are satisfied with our hotel service. we are looking forward seeing you again. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
573saleemd wrote a review Apr 2018
Tokyo, Japan65 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
This is my fourth time but the first since the refurbishment for the G7 Summit. The hotel still maintains its original character but modernized with a Japanese DNA. The rooms were brilliant good size and comfortable. The hotel has an amazing club lounge and library which would be a gem on wet days. We loved all the settings of the G7 including the table setting in the dining room. This hotel is a must with the amazing views over the bay and the grounds which are kiddy friendly. Ise the most powerful shrine in Japan is not far from this hotel. This whole area from the shrine is a power spot and after a few days it was one of mind and body relaxing hotel. 5 plus stars for this hotel and the most well trained staff I have ever come across in any hotel in the world.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 志摩観光ホテル, マネージャー at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic
Responded 20 Apr 2018
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Shima Kanko Hotel and great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and like facilities of our hotel. Your comments motivate us for continuously 5 plus stars and improving our service. Once again, thank you for your warm comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in near future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian J wrote a review Oct 2017
London, United Kingdom186 contributions85 helpful votes
This has to be the best hotel I've ever been to. The views are fantastic, the room is enormous with every possible attention to detail. The lounges were amazing and the complimentary snacks and drinks were most welcome. After a couple of weeks touring Japan, a few days here in this tranquil atmosphere, with the beautiful aromas around the building, were just what I needed. I've never experienced a hotel with a Listening Room before and it was magnificent. The staff were extremely attentive and polite. If you get the chance go and experience the Shima Kanko magic. (Shame the pool wasn't open though !)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 志摩観光ホテル, マネージャー at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic
Responded 17 Oct 2017
Thank you for staying at Shima Kanko Hotel and writing review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed stay at our hotel. The public area of the Classic hotel was renovated and our guest lounge was newly opened last year. We are grateful for hearing your excellent comment. Looking forward to welcoiming you again in near future. We apoliogize that our pool opens only in summer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ちょうちゃん wrote a review Jun 2017
Tokyo, Japan117 contributions23 helpful votes
My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel to celebrate our anniversary. We arrived early and were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived until our departure next day. The Hotel Classic and the adjoining the Bay Suites both exceeded our expectations in terms of beauty, sophistication and hospitality. Both hotel’s grounds were exquisitely manicured. The resort had been recently renovated for the 2016 G7 Summit which it also hosted. On check in, our room was surprisingly upgraded at no additional cost. The room was spacious, nicely appointed with commanding views of Ago Bay. The decor was stunning. The bathroom, equally spacious, was handsomely tiled and included all of the necessary amenities. We especially appreciated the man-sized towels that were super soft and absorbent. Ladies would appreciate the Mikimoto brand beauty supplies. We chose to have dinner at the world famous La Mer French restaurant at the Classic. Local Abalone and Ise lobster bisque were a recommended “must try”. We ordered a six course meal that was elegantly prepared and efficiently served. At the end of our meal, the restaurant surprised us with a special cake and champagne in honor of our anniversary. A benefit unknown to us before we arrived were the hotel lounges that provided coffee, beverage and snacks for all the guests in a large library type settings again with views of Ago Bay. The Bay Resort’s lounge on the top floor included a large open patio where the G7 attendees had group photos. I whole heartedly recommend this beautiful resort.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$169 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanChubuTokaiMie PrefectureShima
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic
Which popular attractions are close to Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic?
Nearby attractions include Kashikojima (0.3 km), Iseshima Summit Memorial Museum Samieru (0.2 km), and Kashikojima Bridge (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Mer The Classic, La Mer, and Washoku Hamayuu.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Shima Kanko Hotel the Classic?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Izawanomiya (7.8 km) and Medoyama Tombs (6.3 km).