We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ghanerao Royal Castle

Save
Share
Village Post Ghanerao, Ghanerao 306704 India
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (288)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (12)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 11/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ghanerao Royal Castle
Updated 11/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Ghanerao Royal Castle was founded in 1606 by Gopal Das Rathore, a brave rajput warrior from the Mertia clan. It’s a small town located strategically at the entrance of one of the few ancient passes in the Aravali range that connects the erstwhile states of Udaipur and Jodhpur the two strongholds of Rajasthan, Mewar and Marwar. The castle is a beautiful classic edifice of marble and red sand stone jharonkas.The courtyards are habituated by dancing peacocks and lined with colourful bougainvillea. No two rooms are like, with quaint sit outs and staircases furnished aesthetically keeping the environment and the sensibility of the area and local traditions. Sumptuous meals are served, prepared using age old traditional recopies of the family, who reside there and retain the old local staff as well to give a feeling of harmony and community. A home away from home- its serenity has attracted many a writers and painters and many happy couples have taken their marriage vows in the traditional way. Its the only village in Rajasthan which boasts of thirty-three step wells and beautiful cenotaphs and by lanes strewn with heritage havelis. Ghanerao school of arts is also famous for its traditional Rajput style paintings, To keep oneself busy, one can:Visit some of the 33 stepwells.Visit the tribal belt to meet the Gharasiya and Rabari tribes.Visit the Muchala Mahavir Temple.Walk or do a Jeep safari to the Crocodile dam.Walk or drive to the Ghanerao Jungle Lodge which is located at the edge of Kumbhalgarh National Park.Visit Kumbhalgarh National Park by jeep or horse safari or trekking.Drive to the Kumbhalgarh Fort and Ranakpur TemplesUdaipur is 120 kms away.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Valet parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Sofa
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
190Reviews2Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 67
  • 22
  • 3
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
vaishalib wrote a review Jan 2021
Bengaluru, India13 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Ghanrao Royal Castle is a centuries old family home of the Ghanerao ruling family partly converted into a heritage hotel. Family artifacts & pictures are placed all around and one needs to truly appreciate Tradition, Culture & History to enjoy this offbeat place. Sound of aarti in the temples inside, chirping of birds and the peaceful atmosphere is blissful and such a welcome relief from hustle & bustle of city life. The evening safari in an open jeep was an experience, we managed to spot quite a few birds not seen in the cities anymore. Loved the wall paintings, climbing narrow staircases, and simply walking round the place. If possible steal some time with the family to know about the history of the castle. This is not a regular run of the mill hotel so don't expect TV, standard rooms, exotic cuisine or lifts. As with any old building, the castle does need maintenance and the family is trying it's best to conserve this centuries old, huge building, can imagine how difficult and expensive it must be to preserve the place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Save
Helpful
Share
marie m wrote a review Nov 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands75 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
I really do not understand all those positive reviews about Ghanerao Castle on Tripadvisor. To begin with , on arrival the manager was very unfriendly and unwelcoming (later someone told me he was the owner)! So far we had always encountered "Guest is God" attitudes during our travels in Rajasthan, but the attitude of this man showed a complete indifference and total lack of hospitality training. He bluntly told us the room we had booked was unavailable and that he had never received our booking for a heritage room. (Both untrue). We were shown a dingy, dark and uncleaned room which we refused, but the second room was o.k. A notice in our room promised wonderful organic food but the quality of the food in the restaurant was appalling. Other guests were complaining about the food quality as well. Breakfast next morning was another disaster, the coffee was both salty and bitter, in short: undrinkable. We were just wondering how could that be possible to produce such undrinkable coffee when we saw one of the staff poor all leftover cups from other tables back into the coffeepot. We asked for some curd (yoghurt) but it was lukewarm and had a very bad taste, like it had been out in the sun for days. Ofcourse we didn't eat it. The kitchen was the filthiest you could imagine, it had not been cleaned in ages. It was in fact a total health hazard. Our driver witnessed a couple of domestic guests refusing to pay for the room and the food. Our stay in Ghanerao Castle was a huge disappointment and it could have been so much better as the castle is quite interesting but it desperately needs better management and a lot of improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jayesh Paliwal wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
We stayed in this property for two days and I had a good experience. It was calm, peaceful and the hospitality was good too. The owners were friendly and they tried to deliver a great experience. Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed by a couple of things. The pool was extremely dirty, it was all green, a lot of algae. There was no menu card to order food, they said they would cook anything we ask them to. This created confusion during bill payment. Our bathroom had problems, there was no geyser, and even after fixing twice, the flush did not work so we had to use buckets to clean the toilet. Although the staff was supportive, they took way too long to prepare our meals. We asked to have breakfast at 8 AM but it was prepared by 10 AM. To be honest, these things did not matter to me a lot cos I only wanted to enjoy exploring the castle but my friends were quite frustrated. I believe there is room for improvement. If these issues are fixed, I think this hotel can be one of the top hotels in Rajasthan.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Shakti Singh, Owner at Ghanerao Royal Castle
Responded 10 Sep 2020
Dear Mr Jayesh, Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. We feel happy when we get suggestions as to how to improve the property as it is a 500 year old homestay. We are glad that you liked the property . We will certainly work on the issues raised by you and improve on it. Thanks & Regards, Ghanerao Management
Read more
michaelbrowning wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom164 contributions68 helpful votes
+1
This is a ramshackle, crumbling, decrepit relic of a place, but brimful of character and charm that you’ll find difficult not to fall in love with. Long past their best, the buildings are a hotchpotch of different eras and states of disrepair, with staining, flaking ceilings and plasterwork and discolouration, dangerous to guests in some places and in need of serious renovation — but the monkeys happily prance around the walls and the peacocks and peahens strut their stuff on the rooftops. Set in the middle of a tiny but seemingly reasonably prosperous village, the Ghanerao Royal Castle is owned and still inhabited by local royals. You enter into a large earthen courtyard with a once-grand facade, then through into two smaller courtyards behind, off which are the various rooms and facilities. Each bedroom is different in shape, size, character, floor and outlook, up and down narrow, steep, winding stone staircases (you’re pretty much guaranteed to bump your head on a stone lintel at some point during your visit). The rooms are simply furnished but comfortable, the bathrooms equally so. The electrics are ancient and confusing but manage to support ceiling fans, aircon and hot water boilers for the showers. Depending on the room, you might find a chair and tables or a swinging chair or a sitting room outside it. Off the right hand courtyard and upstairs are a seating area, indoor sitting room, small swimming pool and large dining room, and two floors further up are rough-and-ready terraces with fabulous views of the countryside and hills all around, and where you can watch the sunset. Dinner was a set meal of three courses, with several dishes of vegetables, chicken, potatoes and bread, all absolutely delicious. Breakfast was a simple meal of eggs, toast and local flatbreads. The small staff looked after us very well, with smiles and good service at all times. Overall, it’s a wonder this place survives, both physically and commercially — it’s way off the beaten track (if you’re visiting the Ranakpur Temple, it’s about 20-30 minutes drive along very poorly maintained roads), needs millions spent on it to ensure it survives into the 22nd century — but it oozes charm and old-worldliness. At the same time, beware, one of our party got a serious electric shock from his shower electrics. This place is not without its dangers, including the electrics, steep, uneven stone stairs, low beams and slippery marble floors. It’s in no way suitable for anyone who is disabled nor less than fleet of foot.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shakti Singh, Owner at Ghanerao Royal Castle
Responded 10 Sep 2020
Dear Mr Browning, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are happy to know that you liked our 500 year old castle homestay. We look forward to see you again sometime. Thanks & Regards, Ghanerao Hotel management
Read more
Genevieve D wrote a review Mar 2020
Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia30 contributions5 helpful votes
Let’s start by saying that this hotel was an “upgrade” in our India tour. Unfortunately it would qualify more as a total downgrade compared to the wonderful places we had stayed previously. The place looks like a total wreck the minute you enter the gate. The manager was unfriendly and rude when welcoming us. Our room was ok (actually the bed was the only good thing about this place!) but would need some serious cleaning and had no hot water despite turning on the water heater. The staff clothes and hands are dirty. The dishes is not clean. The dining room is dusty and dirty and we crossed our fingers we would be fine the day following our diner (which was included in our stay but charged for when checking out). Thank god it was only for one night. I’m sure it was quite nice some time ago but lack of maintenance and proper management now clearly shows. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shakti Singh, Owner at Ghanerao Royal Castle
Responded 10 Sep 2020
Dear Ms, We are sorry to hear that your experience at Ghanerao Castle was not up to its mark. Thanks & Regards, Ghanerao Castle management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$26 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaRajasthanPali DistrictGhānerao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ghanerao Royal Castle
Which popular attractions are close to Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Nearby attractions include Camel Charisma (7.5 km), Ghanerao Adventures (0.8 km), and Ghanerao adventures (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Ghanerao Royal Castle located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Ghānerao.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kumbhalgarh Fort (10.5 km) and Sun Temple Lohargal (14.8 km).