We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Village Post Ghanerao, Ghānerao 306704 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$48
View deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (304)
Room & Suite (36)
Pool & Beach (14)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ghanerao Royal Castle was founded in 1606 by Gopal Das Rathore, a brave rajput warrior from the Mertia clan. It’s a small town located strategically at the entrance of one of the few ancient passes in the Aravali range that connects the erstwhile states of Udaipur and Jodhpur the two strongholds of Rajasthan, Mewar and Marwar. The castle is a beautiful classic edifice of marble and red sand stone jharonkas.The courtyards are habituated by dancing peacocks and lined with colourful bougainvillea. No two rooms are like, with quaint sit outs and staircases furnished aesthetically keeping the environment and the sensibility of the area and local traditions. Sumptuous meals are served, prepared using age old traditional recopies of the family, who reside there and retain the old local staff as well to give a feeling of harmony and community. A home away from home- its serenity has attracted many a writers and painters and many happy couples have taken their marriage vows in the traditional way. Its the only village in Rajasthan which boasts of thirty-three step wells and beautiful cenotaphs and by lanes strewn with heritage havelis. Ghanerao school of arts is also famous for its traditional Rajput style paintings, To keep oneself busy, one can:Visit some of the 33 stepwells.Visit the tribal belt to meet the Gharasiya and Rabari tribes.Visit the Muchala Mahavir Temple.Walk or do a Jeep safari to the Crocodile dam.Walk or drive to the Ghanerao Jungle Lodge which is located at the edge of Kumbhalgarh National Park.Visit Kumbhalgarh National Park by jeep or horse safari or trekking.Drive to the Kumbhalgarh Fort and Ranakpur TemplesUdaipur is 120 kms away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Valet parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Sofa
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
197Reviews2Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 68
  • 22
  • 3
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Anchal wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
This has been the best stay we booked. Right from the staff to the food everything was great. We had my niece 1st year birthday celebration here the staff made sure to help us with the cake & decor. On 31st evening they planned a special folk performance by the locals which was the highlight of our trip. An amazing place for friends and family in midst of a jungle. Kudos to the entire staff Shahrukh and everyone for making us feel comfortable. Thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vivek Kumar Nagar wrote a review Aug 2022
Ahmedabad District, India22 contributions3 helpful votes
Ghanerao is a village located about 45 km from main road. The approach road is patchy, so plan your time accordingly. Ghanerao Royal Castle is located in the center of the village It is better to seek directions as GPS will take you through very narrow streets. The palace itself is an amazing place. Despite being over 500 years old, it has been painstakingly done up to satisfy the needs of travellers. Each room is different as can be expected in a palace. Just maintaining it is a herculean task, and the royals have done well to keep it in shape despite the lows of pandemic. The owners are cordial, and Shakti Singhji Rathod is helpful. It was a pleasure interacting with Her Highness, who told us about the history of the place and about the original Krishna idol carried by Mirabai, which is preserved in the palace. Overall a relaxing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms a different so choose according to your needs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
gabriella c wrote a review Mar 2022
Biarritz, France9 contributions2 helpful votes
I literally fell in love with this place and the owners! We arrived here with no reservation around 9pm without knowing where we were! And they welcomed us in the most charming and lovely way, opening for us they magical castle. You feel like at home, so comfy and relax in the middle of Rajasthan! The owners are wonderful, sharing their life and experiences, their view and work. What an amazing experience ! Thank you so much!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Govind Ram Singh wrote a review Dec 2021
Jodhpur, India301 contributions57 helpful votes
+1
We had two wonderful days here in this 16th century old castle in Godwar region of Rajasthan. We stayed in their suite room on the 2nd floor. It had a lounging area, living room, a beautiful balcony with seating overlooking the fort front area and village view, and bedroom. Although it's centuries old architecture, the owner has converted the room smartly and included all the modern facilities, washroom, bath area and dressing area without changing anything of the original structure. The 2 nights here were truly a rural experience in this beautiful heritage property. The decor and interior is also done using artifacts from the family collection which give it a cozy and homely feel. There are lot of activities and experience in and around the fort to mention few Live folk music every evening by local musicians. Jungle Safari to see crocodile, leopard, Nilgai, various birds Village walks - we had a really amazing experience on a walk exploring the small stories of this beautiful town full of temples and stepwell. Had all our meals at the fort restaurant, they were delicious. Most of it was made with local farm produce and cooked by a local chef. Chicken curry was my personal favourite. The staff was very humble and always smiling, they have made our stay hear very comfortable and enjoy I will highly recommend this hotel to those who are looking for a heritage fort experience at very affordable prices.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Smit Shah wrote a review Dec 2021
Ahmedabad, India24 contributions
Please do visit this place if you love history and vintage places. This is a vintage castle that is approximately 400-450 years old and kept in that way to preserve its history. We booked the whole castle with all its rooms so we had a chance to see the entire property. The property is available for a steal price as of now but I am sure it will soon go up. For best pricing contact the owner directly their contact details are on their website and google as well. Please also do the Leopard safari which the owner can arrange. that is surely not to be missed. We had so many good experiences in this place and very few not good ones. I won't use the word Bad here as it was not bad at all. The food was absolutely amazing for our entire stay. You can make some changes to the taste as per your liking by going in the kitchen and checking it with the chef who is really helpful. My suggestion would be to let them suggest you a menu as they do make the best what they know the best. but you can always change it as per the availability. All the rooms were nice but had minor problems in some rooms which I will describe below: The doors to my specific room were broken and can be seen into from outside so they had a curtain installed which solves the problem by a bit. It works! One room that my family stayed in had a problem with the hot water geyser which was sadly not fixed during our stay but that can be looked over as we had other rooms as well. One of the rooms we had did not have hot water in them so check it before you move into them especially for winters.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vaishalib wrote a review Jan 2021
Bengaluru, India14 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Ghanrao Royal Castle is a centuries old family home of the Ghanerao ruling family partly converted into a heritage hotel. Family artifacts & pictures are placed all around and one needs to truly appreciate Tradition, Culture & History to enjoy this offbeat place. Sound of aarti in the temples inside, chirping of birds and the peaceful atmosphere is blissful and such a welcome relief from hustle & bustle of city life. The evening safari in an open jeep was an experience, we managed to spot quite a few birds not seen in the cities anymore. Loved the wall paintings, climbing narrow staircases, and simply walking round the place. If possible steal some time with the family to know about the history of the castle. This is not a regular run of the mill hotel so don't expect TV, standard rooms, exotic cuisine or lifts. As with any old building, the castle does need maintenance and the family is trying it's best to conserve this centuries old, huge building, can imagine how difficult and expensive it must be to preserve the place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Save
Helpful
Share
marie m wrote a review Nov 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands75 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
I really do not understand all those positive reviews about Ghanerao Castle on Tripadvisor. To begin with , on arrival the manager was very unfriendly and unwelcoming (later someone told me he was the owner)! So far we had always encountered "Guest is God" attitudes during our travels in Rajasthan, but the attitude of this man showed a complete indifference and total lack of hospitality training. He bluntly told us the room we had booked was unavailable and that he had never received our booking for a heritage room. (Both untrue). We were shown a dingy, dark and uncleaned room which we refused, but the second room was o.k. A notice in our room promised wonderful organic food but the quality of the food in the restaurant was appalling. Other guests were complaining about the food quality as well. Breakfast next morning was another disaster, the coffee was both salty and bitter, in short: undrinkable. We were just wondering how could that be possible to produce such undrinkable coffee when we saw one of the staff poor all leftover cups from other tables back into the coffeepot. We asked for some curd (yoghurt) but it was lukewarm and had a very bad taste, like it had been out in the sun for days. Ofcourse we didn't eat it. The kitchen was the filthiest you could imagine, it had not been cleaned in ages. It was in fact a total health hazard. Our driver witnessed a couple of domestic guests refusing to pay for the room and the food. Our stay in Ghanerao Castle was a huge disappointment and it could have been so much better as the castle is quite interesting but it desperately needs better management and a lot of improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jayesh Paliwal wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
We stayed in this property for two days and I had a good experience. It was calm, peaceful and the hospitality was good too. The owners were friendly and they tried to deliver a great experience. Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed by a couple of things. The pool was extremely dirty, it was all green, a lot of algae. There was no menu card to order food, they said they would cook anything we ask them to. This created confusion during bill payment. Our bathroom had problems, there was no geyser, and even after fixing twice, the flush did not work so we had to use buckets to clean the toilet. Although the staff was supportive, they took way too long to prepare our meals. We asked to have breakfast at 8 AM but it was prepared by 10 AM. To be honest, these things did not matter to me a lot cos I only wanted to enjoy exploring the castle but my friends were quite frustrated. I believe there is room for improvement. If these issues are fixed, I think this hotel can be one of the top hotels in Rajasthan.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shakti Singh, Owner at Ghanerao Royal Castle
Responded 10 Sep 2020
Dear Mr Jayesh, Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. We feel happy when we get suggestions as to how to improve the property as it is a 500 year old homestay. We are glad that you liked the property . We will certainly work on the issues raised by you and improve on it. Thanks & Regards, Ghanerao Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gay Scot abroad wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom179 contributions115 helpful votes
+1
This is a ramshackle, crumbling, decrepit relic of a place, but brimful of character and charm that you’ll find difficult not to fall in love with. Long past their best, the buildings are a hotchpotch of different eras and states of disrepair, with staining, flaking ceilings and plasterwork and discolouration, dangerous to guests in some places and in need of serious renovation — but the monkeys happily prance around the walls and the peacocks and peahens strut their stuff on the rooftops. Set in the middle of a tiny but seemingly reasonably prosperous village, the Ghanerao Royal Castle is owned and still inhabited by local royals. You enter into a large earthen courtyard with a once-grand facade, then through into two smaller courtyards behind, off which are the various rooms and facilities. Each bedroom is different in shape, size, character, floor and outlook, up and down narrow, steep, winding stone staircases (you’re pretty much guaranteed to bump your head on a stone lintel at some point during your visit). The rooms are simply furnished but comfortable, the bathrooms equally so. The electrics are ancient and confusing but manage to support ceiling fans, aircon and hot water boilers for the showers. Depending on the room, you might find a chair and tables or a swinging chair or a sitting room outside it. Off the right hand courtyard and upstairs are a seating area, indoor sitting room, small swimming pool and large dining room, and two floors further up are rough-and-ready terraces with fabulous views of the countryside and hills all around, and where you can watch the sunset. Dinner was a set meal of three courses, with several dishes of vegetables, chicken, potatoes and bread, all absolutely delicious. Breakfast was a simple meal of eggs, toast and local flatbreads. The small staff looked after us very well, with smiles and good service at all times. Overall, it’s a wonder this place survives, both physically and commercially — it’s way off the beaten track (if you’re visiting the Ranakpur Temple, it’s about 20-30 minutes drive along very poorly maintained roads), needs millions spent on it to ensure it survives into the 22nd century — but it oozes charm and old-worldliness. At the same time, beware, one of our party got a serious electric shock from his shower electrics. This place is not without its dangers, including the electrics, steep, uneven stone stairs, low beams and slippery marble floors. It’s in no way suitable for anyone who is disabled nor less than fleet of foot.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shakti Singh, Owner at Ghanerao Royal Castle
Responded 10 Sep 2020
Dear Mr Browning, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are happy to know that you liked our 500 year old castle homestay. We look forward to see you again sometime. Thanks & Regards, Ghanerao Hotel management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Genevieve D wrote a review Mar 2020
Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia30 contributions5 helpful votes
Let’s start by saying that this hotel was an “upgrade” in our India tour. Unfortunately it would qualify more as a total downgrade compared to the wonderful places we had stayed previously. The place looks like a total wreck the minute you enter the gate. The manager was unfriendly and rude when welcoming us. Our room was ok (actually the bed was the only good thing about this place!) but would need some serious cleaning and had no hot water despite turning on the water heater. The staff clothes and hands are dirty. The dishes is not clean. The dining room is dusty and dirty and we crossed our fingers we would be fine the day following our diner (which was included in our stay but charged for when checking out). Thank god it was only for one night. I’m sure it was quite nice some time ago but lack of maintenance and proper management now clearly shows. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shakti Singh, Owner at Ghanerao Royal Castle
Responded 10 Sep 2020
Dear Ms, We are sorry to hear that your experience at Ghanerao Castle was not up to its mark. Thanks & Regards, Ghanerao Castle management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$27 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaRajasthanPali DistrictGhānerao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GHANERAO ROYAL CASTLE (Rajasthan) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ghanerao Royal Castle
Which popular attractions are close to Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Nearby attractions include Camel Charisma (7.5 km), Ghanerao Adventures (0.8 km), and Ghanerao adventures (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Ghanerao Royal Castle located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Ghānerao.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ghanerao Royal Castle?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Ghanerao Royal Castle?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kumbhalgarh Fort (10.5 km) and Sun Temple Lohargal (14.8 km).