We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gilcrest Cottages and Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gilcrest Cottages and Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
wargs7
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed another wonderful long winter weekend at Gilcrest Cottages plus the new owners are extremely inviting and have big plans for the place all of which will only enhance the experience. Best of luck to Andy & Jennifer and I'm sure we'll be back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wargs7
GilcrestNH, Owner at Gilcrest Cottages and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you SO much for the great review! We appreciate each and every kind word from our guests, but given your history with the property this one is extra special! We look forward to seeing your again!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the West Branch apartment and it was more than we could ask for. The accommodations were very clean and neat. The property is well kept and beautiful. And the owners are extremely helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
GilcrestNH, Owner at Gilcrest Cottages and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review! It was our pleasure to host you and your family, we hope to see you again soon!

Swampscott, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night at Gilcrest Cottages and Motel when we had plans to see the Ice Castles. The room was very clean and cozy and the bed was very comfortable. Jennifer and Andy were very helpful in giving us some suggestions for places to have dinner, we took their advice and had a delicious dinner at the Covered Bridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 289judy
GilcrestNH, Owner at Gilcrest Cottages and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you all again soon :)

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed only one night, the room was clean and comfortable,and we will definitely be going back. The new owners, Jennifer and Andy, are so down to earth and want to make you have a fantastic stay. They offered things to do in the area as well as places to eat and where we could get the best deals. Their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GilcrestNH, Owner at Gilcrest Cottages and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Accommodations are quaint and private - you have your own cottage!? The management staff are the most friendly and helpful you'll find in the area! Don't pass up the opportunity to drive 5 min out of Lincoln to Thornton and avoid the traffic. You'll be happy you did!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
GilcrestNH, Owner at Gilcrest Cottages and Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

Taunton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Motel was very clean, owners were very helpful about local restaurants, snowmobiling, and shopping. Everyday there was a weather report on the board at the front desk, for three days. Enjoyed our stay very much, and will return again, and again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AliceT1116
Management response:

Thank you so much for the great review, it was our pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you again soon!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was looking for somewhere within a good price range to visit the Ice Castles with my boyfriend and we decided to book this place for a weekend. We were running a bit late due to heavy traffic and I was afraid that we were going to not make the 8pm check in time. I gave them a call just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenna H
Management response:

Thank you so much for the great review! It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am always a bit nervous when I stay somewhere new. As soon as we walked into the office and had such a warm welcome from the owners I felt at ease. Then when we walked into our room it finished sealing the deal for me. It was cozy, clean (very clean), relaxing it was honestly perfect. I loved the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ialicea80
Management response:

It was a pleasure to host you and your family, we hope to see you back again soon!

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Clean, friendly, and convenient to lots of outdoor activitie, like snowboarding, skiing, and snowshoeing. Fireplaces are currently electric only but the rooms were still very cozy. Perfect for a family getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
Management response:

Thank you very much for the great review!

Reviewed 10 January 2017

Everything was PERFECT during our weekend stay in the Welsh and Dickey Cottage. The owners were extremely friendly, and they run a beautiful business. The cottage was not only adorable but immaculate. There is plenty to do in the area, and the hotel is nestled right in the heart of the White Mountains. We are looking forward to planning another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
Management response:

Thank you so much for the great review! It was our pleasure hosting you and we do hope to see you again soon for more winter fun and fall foliage : )

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton
19.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
23.5 km away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
586 reviews
7.5 km away
Pine Valley Cabins
Pine Valley Cabins
#2 of 7 in Thornton
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Valley Brook Cottages
Valley Brook Cottages
#3 of 7 in Thornton
41 reviews
22.2 km away
Profile Motel & Cottages
24.2 km away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#5 of 20 in Lincoln
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A nostalgic escape from everyday living, our "Storybook Cottages and Motel" are close to White Mountain attractions, skiing, and snowmobiling, Gilcrest offers one and two bedroom cottages, and a small eight unit motel often referred to as "connected cottages." Fireplaces, kitchenettes, units have refrigerators and microwaves. Outdoor pool, horseshoes, play area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gilcrest Cottages and Motel

Address: 2378 US Route 3, Thornton, NH 03285-6150
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Thornton
Price Range: ₹ 6,452 - ₹ 8,603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gilcrest Cottages and Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gilcrest Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gilcrest Cottages and Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Gilcrest Cottages and Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views ,Gracious hosts ,adorable rooms ,extra clean ,”
 of 5 bubbles Gsemperfitop, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room was perfect for the days we were there. I especially appreciated the boot matt & tray and the fireplace. Tips would be 1) only duraflame logs in the fireplaces, no real wood. 2) no maid service during your stay of less than 5 days, but you can ask the owners for anything you need. 3) Closet with hangers provided, but no dresser to put items away. If you are the type that likes to unpack everything and put it away, please keep this in mind. Highly recommend these cottages. Free wifi!”
 of 5 bubbles SunfireMB, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend the cottages”
 of 5 bubbles RNS0921, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They are all great motel rooms and cottages.”
 of 5 bubbles CheerFan, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We liked our motel room 13 with king size bed and fireplace.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryAnnL684, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5