We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amara Mountain Resort

Expedia.comUS$ 146*
View Deal
#3 of 13 Hotels in Kalaw
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Amara Mountain Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 191: English reviews
Start your review of Amara Mountain Resort
 Click to rate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The 'strange'ness is because we were the only guests, and were given the farthest away bedroom in the main house. It was fine, but the place had a somewhat ghostly feel about it. It is concentrating, we think, on becoming a bit self-sufficient, and the food was made the more delicious with fruit and vegetables from their own garden. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HUGH C
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear HUGH C, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! Thank you very much for choosing our properties in Kalaw. We would much appreciated of your experiences during your stayed with us. We do hope to welcome you once again in the future. With our best regards, The Management of Amara Group Co., Ltd.

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this report. He buildings are very nice and the garden beautiful. Food was ok but choice limited. A big disappointment for us was the price of the drinks (2x anywhere else in Myanmar - a bottle of local wine for USD 55... and laundry as well). It felt like a trap for a supposedly mid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BernieBird
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear BernieBird, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! Thank you very much for your comments and we will be reviewing all sorts of pricing soon. Apart from this we would definitely feel as you do have a great time here with our team. We are looking forward to welcome you once again in the near future. Best regards, The Management...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Old style colonial buildings converted into a quaint hotel. Staff are attentive and the restaurant is a separate building. Gardens are well maintained. No swimming pool or gym - its not that sort of place! No separate bar - you have an evening drink in the restaurant. Our room was on ground floor of a house - very poor soundproofing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Donald F, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! Thank you very much for your comments and we would wonder to welcome you once again in the near future. Wish you all the very best, The Management of Amara Co., Ltd.

Newtown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017

What a wonderful boutique hotel. We spent two comfortable nights here. All the staff encountered were very pleasant and most helpful. Our room was very big and had a large fireplace. The person who took us to our room wanted to light us a fire in the room. Temperature over 20C . When we returned from dinner there were two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ioan_wilson
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ioan_wilson, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! First and foremost, thank you very much for your lovely comment here on this page and your experiences. Second of all, we are very glad to know as you had a perfect stayed during your stayed with us and our team very much appreciated to serve you when you have plan in...

Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 24 March 2017

When we drove through the gates I couldn't believe my eyes, I thought I was back in the U.K. Our guide told us that the original house was a colonial home and the house we stayed in was an exact copy of it. Reading the hotel book it states that the staff are from the region where they are given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivyCharlotte4
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear IvyCharlotte4, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! First of all, thank you very much for beautiful comments. We are so glad to see your happiness during your stayed here with us. We had shared of your praiseworthiness the performance of our team and your kindness. We do not have doubt of your enjoyment holidays here with us. We do...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Another hotel, selling itself as a resort: something lost in translation, a resort is a town or a place, not a singular business Anyway a good 25 minute walk from town but still close enough to a temple for a bit of chanting to contend with, one finds creaking "gem". Only three rooms occupied when I stayed so dinner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PUTNEYBIKER
Canton of Thurgau, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We spent a cold winter night in this beautiful hotel. The rooms are big, have their own fire place - which can be a necessity on such a night. The bathrooms are big and the bathtub is stone. The dinner was very tasty and the wine menu adequate - better than most. A taste of the local whisky before bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 386gailr
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear 386gailr, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! Thank you very much for your lovely comments of your experiences of stayed and services about our team as for the first sight. Secondly, we are very glad that you have a perfect holidays at our resort. Restassumed that we still keep this kind of hospitatly of standard to welcome you once...

italy
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We stay in this hotel 1 night and was an amazing experience , the room is amazing with fire place for the cold winter ... very romantic ! I tray the massage spa and was very good ,only the room was a little too cold.the breakfast could be improve ...the quality of food good but the choice poor !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laura7777
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Laura7777, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! First of all thank you very much for choosing our property amongst Resort in Kalaw as well as we would highly appreciated of your experineces sharing here on this page. We are very glad that you had perfect of your staye here with us and we always try to imporve the quality...

Kalaw, Myanmar
Reviewed 1 March 2017

The title is words another guest used to describe this charming hotel. We go loved the place. The garden is a delight to sit in amongst sweet peas and many other flowers. The cooler temperature was most welcome. The food was really good,much of it grown in the hotels near garden.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FutureCreation
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear FutureCreation, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! First of all, thank you very much for your beautiful comments and sharing of your experiences of fabulous stayed at our resort as well as we would much appreciate for taking time to write on this page every ascepts of praising nature and all about us. We do hope to chance to...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 26 February 2017

This is a beautiful setting. Unexpected Alpine. The room was nice and we were very glad of the mosquito netting. Odd that you had to order dinner ahead of time. Food and service were quite good though. We stayed here on the way to visit the amazing Green Hill Valley Elephant Camp.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amiesmie
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear aschilson, Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw! Thank you very much for taking time to write your lovely comment. We would highly appreicated for choosing our property amongst hotels in Kalaw. We are glad to know as you have a pleasent stayed here with us and spent of your perfect holidays. Looking forward to welcome you once again in...

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.8 km away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.7 km away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kalaw
35 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kalaw
259 reviews
0.3 km away
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
1.5 km away
Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalaw is a small town in Shan State, formerly created by the British government during colonial times as a summer resort in the highlands. The Amara Mountain Resort itself consists of two buildings, both colonial style and one built as early as 1909. It is surrounded by a cottage garden with ancient trees, brightly colored flowers and a bio garden, whose products are served fresh in our restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amara Mountain Resort

Address: 10/182 Thida Road Quarter 10 | Western Bogone, Kalaw, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Price Range: ₹ 7,304 - ₹ 11,571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amara Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amara Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Amara Mountain Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms were very quiet. There were only 4 rooms in each block”
ioan_wilson, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“upper floor recommended”
amiesmie, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we were in the newer building upstairs. the floors are wood and may be noisy if you are on the first floor”
38ConradC, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All cabins seem to be the same.”
Dugan65, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“They're all good & nearby”
Simon3105, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 146* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 150
Hotels.comUS$ 147
Agoda.comUS$ 150
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates