We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Glenesk Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Glenesk Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glenesk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 470: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Our room was spacious but because we got no sun it was chilly. on request staff suplied a heater. food was lovely as were staff. Our weather at the time was great . The attendant at the pool I wish I could remember his name was soo kind to us and even helped me in my wheelchair to the car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank murielsteinson
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your break away with us here at the Glenesk Hotel. Great to see that you enjoyed your stay and your comments with regards to the high quality of food you experienced and our friendly staff will be passed on to all concerned. Kind Regards, Martin McIlrath General Manager

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here whilst attending a reunion, it is easily the friendliest hotel we have used in this life. Great location and accommodation, the bar should keep whisky drinkers very happy. Its an old building so no real aircon, however its comfortable. Will we use again Definately yes.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Will449
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review

We really do appreciate your review following your weekend break with us here at the Glenesk Hotel. Our Bar is very unique with one of the largest choices of Malts, Gins,Vodkas and Rums in Scotland. We are pleased that you found our hotel comfortable and friendly and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Kind Regards, Martin McIlrath...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Glenesk Hotel in Edzell for two nights and loved everything about this hotel. It is a quality establishment with a very high standard of service from all the staff we encountered - very helpful and friendly. Our room had a very large king size four poster bed, ensuite bathroom, and all the facilities you could require:...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariongEdinburgh
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this wonderful review following your short break away with us here at the Glenesk Hotel. Its great to see that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay. Your kind comments with regards to the food you experienced and the service from our staff will be passed on to all concerned. We are very pleased to...

Glasgow
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Friendly accommodating staff throughout, warm clean and bright was my first impression. The 360 Deg. bar is a knockout staffed by a 'proper' bar manager, the selection of drinks is gobsmacking followed closely by the BM's knowledge. The food was 10/10, the selection and quality is matched perfectly to the description on the menu, The Hotel owner chatted with us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tomi70
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this very positive review following your weekend stay with us. Our Bar is really something quite special and are pleased that you appreciated the choice of drinks and also the service you experienced. Your complimentary comments with regards to our high standard of food will be passed on to all concerned. Great...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We paid £150 for a small room for D B & B. The room had a shower, toilet and washbasin fitted into an area which was no larger than a double wardrobe. The food was OK but not great. House wine was £7 for a 250cc glass and a pint of lager £5. These are Edinburgh club prices, not some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brian242567
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian, We are very disappointed to read your comments and obviously realise you are more a kind to the indian takeaway reading your other places reviewed, and looking at them you seem to have a run of bad luck with your chosen venues. Your party booked you in on the £75 per night per person dinner bed and breakfast...

Cupar Fife
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed over on Sunday night for dinner, bed and breakfast.Found the welcome by the receptionist to be lovely, lovely young girl. This was followed by the same attitude by the evening receptionist and barman. So pleasant to relax in such a welcoming hotel. The selection in the bar was pretty amazing with over thirty gins and more than three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wyandour
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed review following your one night stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall and we have noted your comments with regards to service at Dinner and also with regards to your breakfast content. We appreciate your constructive comments within your review and will address them accordingly. Great...

Birchgrove, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

After visiting Glamis Castle, we head north en route to the Whisky trail. We land upon this grand old Victorian hotel, reminiscent of genteel times of yore. The rooms are recently restored, the billiard room is magnificent, whilst the indoor swimming pool is very pleasant (albeit a degree too cool for us poor Antipodeans). But it's the Whisky and gin...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boodar
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great review following your stay with us. Great care and attention has been invested in our unique Whisky Bar over the past few years and we are very proud of what has been achieved. Our Head Chef and his team have been made aware of your great feedback with...

North Lanarkshire
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Due to work commitments we had to look for a hotel close to Aberdeen late Friday night., the Glenesk was a good choice as it was pet friendly. We arrived very late but were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome. My partner was leaving early in the morning so would miss breakfast but the staff were kind enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fungirl315
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed review following your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend the Glenesk Hotel to other guests. We note your comment with regards to the water pressure and this is curently being investigated by other heating engineers. Your comments with regards to your enjoyable dinner and...

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing hotel and staff. The hotel manager, Dilan, was very kind and accommodating during our stay, as well as the kitchen staff and our hostess, Vhari. We loved it here and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Tasha, the front desk receptionist, was extremely attentive and professional. Edzell is a wonderful, quaint, country town and the people here are wonderful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReansBean
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review

Great to receive your very positive comments with regards to your stay and also we do appreiciate your acknowledgement of our staff and we will make sure they are aware of your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenesk Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Martin Mcilrath General Manager

Brechin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We didn't stay in this Hotel, but booked a table in the restaurant for dinner.. I requested a 'quiet' table as my partner is hard of hearing. we were seated ideally. The staff were extremely pleasant, very efficient and knowledgeable of the menu. The food was top quality! Absolutely nothing negative to say about this experience.. Would return again in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KC1598
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive comments following your dining experience here at the Glenesk Hotel. Your great feedback has been passed on to my Head Chef, Restaurant Manager and their relevant teams. Great to see that you would certainly return again soon. Kind Regards, Martin Mcilrath General Manager

199 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edzell
8.3 km away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
205 reviews
40.0 km away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
15.7 km away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Glen Clova Hotel
Glen Clova Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Clova
370 reviews
34.7 km away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
28.7 km away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 4 in Banchory
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Close your eyes and think of a hotel that is set in some of Scotland's most spectacular countryside. A hotel that offers traditional four star luxury and that vital ingredient of owner attention. Picture a hotel that is only a short wedge away from a championship golf course, and is within a short drive of such courses as Carnoustie and St. Andrews. Visualise a hotel that offers shooting, fishing, hill walking breaks and golf packages to suit all standards and tastes. Imagine a hotel which boasts fine cuisine, from traditional Scottish breakfasts to a la carte dinners all expertly prepared by our award winning chef. Now, turn these pictures into reality by visiting the Glenesk Hotel in picturesque Edzell. A village famed for its success in Britain in Bloom and is a superb holiday base with a Historic Scottish Castle, folk museum and many tourist attractions. Our well equipped leisure club offers guests free use of the swimming pool, sauna, hot tub, steam room, fitness suite and snooker room. Combine this with the wide range of locally available outdoor pursuits and you'll realise why Glenesk Hotel is the perfect place to get away to it all. Catering for parties between 1 and 200, Glenesk Hotel prides itself on an outstanding reputation and is classed second to none on event and conference management. Whether you come for an overnight stay, a weekend or a two week holiday, you'll always be assured of a warm welcome and will soon see why guests who visit the hotel come back again and again. Numerous distilleries, to name just a few, Fettercairn and Glencadam offer tours to our guests. 4 star Visit Scotland Glenesk Hotel is ideal for shooting, fishing and hill walking breaks in spectacular countryside just 45 minutes drive from Aberdeen or Dundee airports. For convenience of our guests we offer transfer service to and from many destinations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenesk Hotel

Address: High Street, Edzell, Brechin DD9 7TF, Scotland (Formerly The Glenesk Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin > Edzell
Price Range: ₹ 8,526 - ₹ 10,640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenesk Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Glenesk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glenesk Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Glenesk Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 33 ground floor, nice and bright with lots of windows”
 of 5 bubbles lizbethclark, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on the second floor so there is no-one above you. and it was quiet and also near the fire escape.”
 of 5 bubbles cOOk-192014, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues ask for a ground-floor room when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles Sula-Bheinn, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sure Please make sure that there are no lifts if No Lists in the her tail No lift so make sure you would like ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles ferryfolk321, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This is a conference/business centre at times, so it pays to book well ahead.”
 of 5 bubbles Oonagh321, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay