We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mui Ne Backpacker Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 970: English reviews
Start your review of Mui Ne Backpacker Village
 Click to rate
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

A well run hostel with a good vibe and a very young clientele. I am a backpacker in my fifties and this was the youngest hostel I stayed at. Run by two Aussie guys it is slick and well designed with a great pool with plenty of sun chairs. The food is ok and the prices on the dearer side....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeagullSmith
John J, Manager at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the review. Sounds like you enjoyed your time with us and really hope you get a chance to return in the future. By the sounds of it you have plenty more backpacking trips to come and we are on your list again. Kind Regards, Shane Manager Muine Backpacker Village

Aurora, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Mui Ne Backpacker Village is owned by a Australian man and Vietnamese woman. They are extremely kind and hospitable and the moment we checked in we were asked where we were from, how our travels were going, etc. We had a private room with double bed and there sure was a ton of space and it was CLEAN! And I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shannon r
John J, Manager at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for staying with us and we appreciate your review...you have pretty much summed up everything that great about our hostel and the local area. We really hope you get a chance to return and visit us again one day. Kind Regards, Shane Manager Muine Backpacker Village

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a wonderful stay here. The price is budget friendly and suitable for backpackers. the rooms are spotless clean and AC works fine. There is a pool outside where you can always jump in and swim or join for a volleyball game. The vibe is absolutely amazing and suited for young travelers. At night there are many games and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonal K
John J, Manager at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your kind words. We like to have some fun here and we also like to relax during the day. We find that's the best mix to keep everyone entertained without going overboard. We hope you get a chance to return in the future. Kind Regards, Shane Manager Muine...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The nicest hostel I stayed at in Vietnam, was gutted to only have one night there, but with it being St Patrick's Day I think I chose a good night to visit! It really felt more like a hotel than a budget hostel, and the pool was perfect. The icing on the cake was that the owner was born in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gruff L
John J, Manager at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and you picked a good night to be here. St Patricks day was fun and happy you could be here. I'll pass the message on to John for you. Kind Regards, Shane Muine Backpacker Village

Puchong, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been there in 2013, it was my unforgettable vacation to Mui Ne. What I like most about this hostel is cleanliness. The hostel owner is so friendly...They are husband and wife owned hostel...We became friend after couple of encounters. The coconut tree around the poolside remind me of a Palm Spring guesthouse in California I have stayed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leeyeewe
John J, Manager at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for staying with us and we really appreciate your lovely comments. I will make sure I pass on your message to the owners....they will be really happy to hear from you. Kind Regards, Shane Manager Muine Backpacker Village

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

No beach! They are so greedy..everyhing costs extra.. the portions in the restaurant are really small and you have to again pay for cheese or bacon for example. The viatnamese staff ( specially on the reception) if really rude, the foreigners are trying. They charge you for 1kg laundry even if it is just one shirt, but they don't tell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simona C
John J, Manager at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hi, Sounds like you didnt follow the directions that were given when instructed on how to get the beach or read the signs in reception about the laundry service. When you drop your laundry off to be washed and then come back 2 hours later demanding to have 1 item added (when your washing was already almost finished) and then...

Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Mui Ne is a great place for water sport. Unfortunately the beach isn't really suitable for relaxing. So that's why you should chill at the pool. It's lovely, well maintained and clean rooms. Food is bit more expensive but it's alright. The vibe is really good and I wish I booked this place earlier. Thanks and keep up the good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tpvanhees
John J, Manager at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for staying with us and we really appreciate your comments. The reason the for the good vibe is the people staying here....thats means you. Hope you get a chance to visit us again in the future. Kind Regards, Shane Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Came here because a friend highly recommend it and yeah did not want to move on! Ended up staying here for 3 weeks so I got to meet John the owner and his wife who were wicked and also Shane the manager and the Vietnamese staff were very welcoming and always wearing a smile! Great vibe here and everyone was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlie l
John J, Manager at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for the awesome review. You have enjoyed yourself by the sounds of it and its been great having you here. I'm sure we will see you here again in the future. Kind Regards, Shane Mui Ne Backpacker Village

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Very clean and spacious dorms. It's a big place, so really is a village. The showers and wifi were great. Didn't try the food but looked nice. Cocktails average/subpar, but the pool was big and clean with plenty of sun beds. Note that it's about a 10/15min walk from the beach. Bar is buzzing in the evening, and they organise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
John J, Manager at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your time. Pity you didn't try the food at the restaurant....we have a great range of vietnamese food and western at great prices. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Shane Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

If you want to have a great time, this place has it all. The owner John is a champ, so welcoming. The manager Shane helped us out with a last minute booking which was greatly appreciated. Ended up staying an extra 7 nights because it was just the place to be in Mui Ne. Many dorms so a good amount...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobby K
John J, Manager at Mui Ne Backpacker Village, responded to this review

Hi, We are extremely happy you enjoyed your extended stay with us and appreciate the kind words in your review. All of our staff including John the owner want to make sure every person thats stays with us is looked after to the best of our ability. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again...

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mui Ne
2.0 km away
Mia Resort Mui Ne
Mia Resort Mui Ne
#3 of 122 in Phan Thiet
734 reviews
0.4 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#16 of 122 in Phan Thiet
314 reviews
1.0 km away
Saigon Mui Ne Resort
Saigon Mui Ne Resort
#39 of 122 in Phan Thiet
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 km away
Ananda Resort
Ananda Resort
#26 of 122 in Phan Thiet
228 reviews
1.2 km away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#15 of 122 in Phan Thiet
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mui Ne Backpackers was one of the first guesthouses to open in Mui Ne, back when Mui Ne was a little-known coconut grove with a few woven huts along the beach. From those early days until now, this family-run property has been one of the most popular budget alternatives to the big resorts that have popped up along the main road. Mui Ne Backpackers has long been recommended by Lonely Planet and other reliable travel guides. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mui Ne Backpacker Village

Address: 137 Nguyen Dinh Chieu | Ham Tien, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Price Range: ₹ 655 - ₹ 2,225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Mui Ne Backpacker Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mui Ne Backpackers Resort - Vietnam-Austria House Hotel Mui Ne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mui Ne Backpacker Village staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mui Ne Backpacker Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There all good!”
 of 5 bubbles harryhY6242OM, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Mountain dorms if you want some quiet time”
 of 5 bubbles shanec241, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“private room has english movie channels/sports etc”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the 4-bed mixed dorm rooms if you can! They're spacious and have their own en-suite bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles ArthurNielsen, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Exclusive room $20 US”
 of 5 bubbles NickCollins77, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5