We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Sun Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sun Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 171: English reviews
Alnwick
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just return from a brief meal at "Steak at No. 6" I ordered a Sirloin Steak, which I have been eating on a regular basis for 40 years. What arrived was not a Sirloin Steak, about 30% of what arrived was fat and gristle. I have to admit when I cut away the fat which covered 3 sides, the steak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EddyJR
Sun H, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Hello EddyJR, Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed to read this review. We have a 5 star rating on social media and have recently been mystery shopped by a local newspaper receiving a 8/10 fantastic review. The steak you had that night certainly was a Sirloin. We would not advertise this on our menu and serve another. If...

East Lothian, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have just returned after a very enjoyable three night stay. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Bed and pillows extremely comfortable (so comfy, we were reluctant to get up in the morning!!). Meals were very good and well presented - large portions, especially the delicious fish in batter. All the staff were helpful and friendly especially the lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
Sun H, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Anne M, Thank you very much for leaving us your lovely feed back. Sharon was over joyed at your lovely housekeeping comments, and we are too! Your comments have been passed to Chef about your lovely meal. We look forward to having you all stay with us again. Kind regards, Jen

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the most wonderful experience from start to finish. An absolutely gorgeous old world hotel contrasted by a modern up market bar. Our room was absolutely fabulous with an awe inspiring view of Warkworth Castle. Bar food was delicious and reasonably priced. Restuarant food first class. Steaks magnificent!! The staff were exceptionally friendly welcoming and made staying here a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbie b
Sun H, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Hello debbie b, Many thanks for your great comments towards your stay. Your compliments have been passed to our chefs and staff. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Jen

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Great location....Excellent personal service....Rooms,appear newly refitted/ decorated,to a very high standard....very clean and tidy . Lovely mixture of Bars and food venues under one ' big ' roof. Have to single out one man for praise....Mark...in the bar area,to the left of Hotel.what a smashing worker,and ambassador for your Hotel.He was alone most of the time we had our meal....and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donald H
Sun H, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Hello donald H, Many thanks for your posting your review on Trip Advisor. Mark has seen your comments and is elated!! We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay and experience with us. Kind regards, Jen

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The hotel is very welcoming and comfortable with accommodation excellent for a small town. The bar area also very good and welcoming, restaurant fair different and requires some adjusting, better venues for food in the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
Sun H, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Bob N, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Jen

Glasgow, Scotland UK
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Visited here (in the Castle Brew House) for dinner last Monday and we both enjoyed the delicious fish and chips. Crispy batter, great chips and minted peas. Scrummy! Service was good too. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJTGlasgow
Sun H, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Hello CJTGlasgow, Many thanks for leaving us your positive response about our food and staff in our recently refurbished Castle Brew House Pub. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to our chefs and staff. Hope to see you again soon, Jen

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We have just had two nights in the bridal suite at The Sun hotel. What a fantastic luxurious room with an amazing view of Warkworth castle right outside the window. The steakhouse which is part of the hotel served really good food, plentiful portions(so much so we didn't look like we had touched it) the pub on the other side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebecca h
Sun H, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Hello rebecca h, Many thanks for leaving us your positive comments regarding our Bridal Suite, Steak House and Breakfast, your comments will be passed on accordingly. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The booking for this room was made by yourself directly to Booking.Com. On their site it does state that the bedroom has a roll...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Wonderful hotel with a very good steak restaurant and a nice bar to the side of the hotel.Service was excellent from everyone, locals all very friendly and rooms big and comfortable, decent breakfast in a lovely setting. Definitely intend on returning. Also good off road parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandyHd
Sun H, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Hello SandyHd, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your positive review. Your comments will be passed on accordingly and we hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Jen

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

We called in to get a coffee and some lunch and also to get prices for a possible two week stay in the future.(We are not on the internet). We were told very rudely to go next door into the pub. This is one easy way to loose £3000 of business . We can't give ratings for no service. Only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinek-c
Sun H, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Hello christinek-c I had to chuckle to myself when we received this review. You came into the hotel asking for coffee and we explained The Castle Brew House next door has a coffee machine offering an extensive range. You asked us for info and were told that everything was on line. You said you DIDN'T have internet and marched out...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel - they are spending time doing up the bedrooms and the main area could do with some TLC but it's clean and the staff are lovely. Great location for gusting the surrounding areas. Two mins walk to Warkworth Castle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotgirl1976
Sun H, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Hello scotgirl1976 Many thanks for leaving such great feedback. We have 1 bedroom left to refurbish then we are concentrating on the reception area and corridors later this year. We hope to welcome you again, Kind regards, Jen

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
9.5 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
916 reviews
16.9 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
19.3 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.0 km away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 13 in Warkworth
722 reviews
2.1 km away
The Wellwood
The Wellwood
#6 of 19 in Amble
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Sun Hotel

Address: 6 Castle Terrace | Morpeth, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Price Range: ₹ 4,956 - ₹ 8,078 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Warkworth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sun Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Sun Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Eat at the Warkworth House Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles EddyJR, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room at the front of the hotel to enjoy the view of Warkworth Castle.”
 of 5 bubbles annemS3861NP, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bridal suite .... Even if you're not a bride”
 of 5 bubbles V2324LMdebbieb, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms very well appointed and welcoming.”
 of 5 bubbles BobN51, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is magnificent but has a bath only, no shower. Great views”
 of 5 bubbles SandyHd, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay