We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Cala Luna Boutique Hotel

Room/Suite (295)
9 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
US$ 172
View Deal
Travelocity
US$ 172
View Deal
Official Hotel
US$ 170
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$ 172
Orbitz.comUS$ 172
Expedia.comUS$ 172
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... set the tone. The only thing we did not enjoy: ants! Our room had so mamy ants in the bathroom. We are nature people so we...
I stayed one night in one of the suites. It was meticulous, charming and beautiful. At times I felt like I was in a little...
We stayed there last May, but the room is full of bugs. We've requested to move but they said there are no rooms available. We...
Most popular question about the rooms
Are there hair dryers available in the room? Are beach towels available to use?
Hi, yes we have a hairdryer in all our rooms.
Featured room amenities
Suites
Stayed in the new suites [#605] which was spectacular- wide open rooms, excellent AC, daily maid and towels, great dual shower...
Kitchenette
The rooms were spacious, AC was cool, kitchenette, cable TV, all very clean and tidy.
Room service
... desk and reservations, Liberty, Floradel, Flor, the Chef, Manuel at bar and restaurant, room service, and other hotel staff.
See all room amenities (17)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
I would highly recommend Cala Luna. We loved the food, loved the location to downtown Tamarindo, staff was great, and enjoyed all the amentities. Being greeted at our check in with an amazing detoxing drink and chilled towels really set the tone. The only thing we did not enjoy: ants! Our room had so mamy ants in the bathroom. We are nature people so we did not say anything and knew where they were coming from (window seams had large gaps and they came in through there) but still was a annoying to deal with about 5-10 ants every time with went in the bathroom. Other than that, we LOVED cala luna and if we are ever back in Tamarindo, we would stay here again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from CalaLunaHotelBoutiqu, Guest Relations Manager at Cala Luna Boutique Hotel
Responded 29 Sep 2019
Dear ECA12JRA4327,

Thank you so much for your review! After a long flight, and a long drive, we know that the extra touch of a cool, good smelling towelette is just what you need. Our highest ambition is for you to feel like you're waking up in paradise, as such it's our constant goal to be improving. We're so sorry you were bothered by the ants, maintaining the balance between eco-friendly and guest friendly. We are already taking measures to improve the situation, so that next time you visit us, you won't have to worry about it, see you soon!

-The Cala Luna Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
+1
I stayed one night in one of the suites. It was meticulous, charming and beautiful. At times I felt like I was in a little paradise. There is a pool and access to an ocean front (though I didn’t venture there). The food is very good. Vegan options are available. Front desk team is very caring and goes out of its way to be sure you have everything you need. The shower in my suite is huge and amazing. Bathrooms/rooms very, very clean.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from CalaLunaHotelBoutiqu, Guest Relations Manager at Cala Luna Boutique Hotel
Responded 15 Sep 2019
Dear Peter748,

Thank you for your very kind review! We love to hear you call our home a paradise, we feel the same way. It's a shame you didn't get to check out the beach, it's a lovely area with volcanic lava formations that look absolutely stunning. We also offer free cocktails every night right before the sunset, so you can sit back and relax in one of the many hammocks or beach chairs that are provided.

We know how hard it can be to find vegan options, especially when travelling, and we want to make sure that our guests have options so that they can not only pick vegan, but love the food as well. See you soon!

-The Cala Luna Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
We stayed there last May, but the room is full of bugs. We've requested to move but they said there are no rooms available. We moved out after a couple of hours and tried to find another hotel in the area late night. We've asked for a full refund since we didn't even have a full night there but they tried and they kept on delaying and eventually decided to give us half of what we paid. We have photos and videos to prove it's full of bugs. Would have been a great ending to our CR vacation but the way they handle us and the whole situation as a customer is not as friendly as you might expect. You are better off staying at a Westin or Marriott nearby, and for the same $$$, if not cheaper. Once they have your money, you are on your own so beware!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from CalaLunaHotelBoutiqu, Guest Relations Manager at Cala Luna Boutique Hotel
Responded 9 Sep 2019
Dear Eric U,

We're sorry that your experience wasn't the same as the majority of our guests. We have investigated your comments in order to find out exactly what happened with this situation. According to the information we received from our guest services department, the situation that you explained could have easily been dealt with.

We always try to make sure that our guests are satisfied with their experience here. The day that this occurred we were prepared to offer you a villa that met the requests you were asking for, even so, you made the decision to leave the hotel. Nevertheless, we offered a reimbursement that would enable you to continue your vacation, however you did not consent to give us the necessary information to complete the transaction.

Please contact us at frontdeskleader@calaluna.com to complete the process.

-The Cala Luna Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa for 3 nights. Although the hotel is not cheap nowhere in Costa Rica is. The luxury starts from the minute you enter with friendly staff and a welcome drink. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived so we had lunch at the pool bar which was delicious every time we had a meal there. The villa was plush with all of the amenities you would expect. Our private pool was cleaned daily as was the patio. The hotel also has a private beach where complementary sunset cocktails are served every night from 5-6. The breakfast is complimentary and there is an egg chef who will cook omelettes and pancakes etc. to order. The main restaurant also serves dinner. We dined here on our final night and it was extremely expensive but very nice, I recommend the Ceviche! The staff will book excursions for you as well, in our case we went on a brilliant ATV tour. Great hotel with great staff.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Cala Luna two weeks ago and highly recommend this hotel/resort to others looking for a beautiful, relaxing, and personalized resort stay

Things we enjoyed:
The suite was incredible. Comfortable bed, rain style walk in showers, reading nook, fast WiFi, fridge + coffee maker.

Staff: Extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Helped us book transportation and excursions as well as find local restaurants and cocktail lounges. Spoke great English and always helpful.

Restaurant: Quality, delicious locally sourced variety of food. The caprese salad was top notch.

Location: quick walk to the beach (3 mins) via a private trail. 15 min walk to Tamarindo beach via trail or $5 taxi to center of town.

You won't regret booking here!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from CalaLunaHotelBoutiqu, Guest Relations Manager at Cala Luna Boutique Hotel
Responded 11 Aug 2019
Dear Devin A,

Thank you so much for your review. Part of our main focus is to strike that perfect balance between comfort and luxury, and nature and authenticity. We want you to be able to enjoy seeing the occasional howler monkey, but not have to be camping out in the jungle. Food is our passion! And what’s more, it’s all from our very own organic farm, as you noted. In fact we offer tours of that very same farm, as well as horseback rides, a home-cooked meal with the hotel owners, and more. Hope to see you soon!

-The Cala Luna Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

Hi, yes we have a hairdryer in all our rooms.
0 votes
Show all answers
No. San Jose to Tamarindo is about $250 which covers entire family. The Cala Luna can make arrangements for you. And a hotel near airport day before departure is highly recommended. All are same. Hope it helps....Tamarindo is awesome!!
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi, does the luxury 1-bedroom suite have a private pool?
Dear Lady Alvarez Thank you for writing us in TripAdvisor. Our new Lifestyle Suite with 1 king bed does not offer a private pool, we would like to recommend our Beach House Villas with 2 or 3 rooms and private pool in each villa for the comfort of your vacation. In case you don’t have a reservation with Cala Luna, please feel free to contact us; Toll Free number 800 774 7729 - 800 775 5179 . We look forward to being part of your upcoming Costa Rica experience. Kind Regards. Reservations Department Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas
1 vote
Show all answers
Good afternoon Dear graceyandjoy, Here at Cala Luna we are honored for your interest in our property for your next vacations. Our hotel values each and every customer and strives to uphold its promise of total customer satisfaction. Regarding your previous information we are located in Langosta Beach adjacent to Tamarindo Beach, we are a family friendly Boutique Hotel, choosing a villa for your stay will be perfect, your family will have a private pool to relax and most important a fully equipped kitchen, we have different local supermarkets near the property to buy snack. I would like to invite you to contact us through our Toll Free numbers 800 774 7729 - 800 775 5179 or visit our website to offer you all the details regarding Food and Beverage and special packages. We look forward to being part of his upcoming Costa Rica experience. Best regards Reservations Department Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas
0 votes
Good afternoon Dear John Day Thank you for writing us. We do offer complimentary breakfast for all of our guest, you can drink our organic coffee from your own French press and try our delicious costar Rican “Gallo Pinto” In case you don’t have a reservation with Cala Luna, please feel free to contact us; Toll Free number 800 774 7729 - 800 775 5179 . We look forward to being part of his upcoming Costa Rica experience. Kind Regards. Reservations Department Cala Luna Boutique Hotel and Villas
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12