We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Labranda Cayo Santa Maria Resort

Room/Suite (301)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
Our room was close to the lobby, but far from the beach. We had an ocean view. The beds were comfortable (2 Queen). We had no...
... their best with what was available to them. - Luckily our room was located far enough away from the large, shallow pool,...
... food but more Cuban, the service has been good so far, the room is clean, bed comfortable, the only thing the path is very...
Most popular question about the rooms
room upgrade pricing for the warwick please. Thanks
The prices of our Hotel Warwick Cayo Santa María are accessible through the representations of travel agencies, tour operators and...
Read more
Featured room amenities
Suites
If you can afford it.. upgrade to the ocean view suites.. they are spectacular.
Housekeeping
-Rooms- spacious and clean- housekeeping staff do a great job keeping the rooms clean and tidy and seem to be appreciative of...
Safe
... the beach was super fun..its shallow for a bit so you felt very safe..but on calm days the snorkleing on the reef right at...
See all room amenities (29)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Our room was close to the lobby, but far from the beach. We had an ocean view. The beds were comfortable (2 Queen). We had no complaints with regards to the room. My friend and I slept great.

Food in Cuba is not great. We were prepared for that. I always find something to eat. But it's just meh.

I was disappointed in the state of the public washrooms (by the pool or beach). They were gross. People would smear poop (people are gross) but it would still be there hours later. Yet there was always a cleaner around. We also started carrying toilet paper from the room with us all places. They never had any in the public washrooms.

The service and staff was excellent. What I am used to with Cuba. I loved the beach staff especially. We wanted a nice, relaxing getaway and we got one.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Tour65896382258, Quality Manager at Labranda Cayo Santa Maria Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear notestanley,
We are very happy that you had your relaxing and nice holidays at our hotel and that our staff has lived up to what you expected. It is true that our house needs some improvements, but under the new administration we have made many changes and we plan to make many more. We will review the problem you are referring to the state of our public restrooms as we can assure you that we have the necessary personnel and supplies so that these places are in the best conditions. In addition we already have at home a new Executive Chef who is designing a varied and modern gastronomic offer for our guests. We hope to return soon to our hotel to see the new changes we are making. Grateful to have had you at home.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In the first half of October 19 my husband and I had a great 11 days at Hotel Labranda. (Now under new ownership this hotel is called Lagunas del Mar). We were especially impressed by the always friendly and helpful staff in all the hotel's services, but particularly by the staff that looked after us during meals (preparation and serving) as well as at the various bars. They were all excellent! Yet Pedro Ivan Rodriguez, bartender at the 24-hour snack bar, waitress Seydel Hernandez Catoira as well as waiter "Lachi" in the dining hall and his mom at the food prep counter deserve special mention. They simply couldn't do enough for us, kept cheerful and smiling throughout their sometimes long and busy hours of service and answered our many questions about life in Cuba politely and patiently. They were a joy to deal with from beginning to end. - The next best thing for us was definitely the beach - clean and unspoiled; the water clear and warm. Just at the water's edge there were a few small rocks deep in the sand, but you could easily see them in the shallow water and walk around them. When you got farther into the water, the sea remained shallow for about 50 meters; good for swimmers and non-swimmers. The landscaping throughout the whole resort is professionally done and well maintained; beautiful to behold.- The food was okay; not gourmet, but there was plenty of the staples (meat, fish, eggs, veggies, bread and butter). We got the impression that the cooks did their best with what was available to them. - Luckily our room was located far enough away from the large, shallow pool, where the music is constantly blaring (way too loud for old folks like us). If you want peace and quiet, you should mention it at the reception when you check in and get your room assigned. Also, there is not enough shade around the pool. Some more umbrellas or other shade-makers could fix this problem. There was also a big outdoor chess game, but unfortunately some pieces were damaged or missing, and again, the game was located in the broiling sun. To hot to think! - Overall though, with the exemplary hotel staff by your side you can have a great time at Labranda at any age.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: Rooms away from pool, but close enough to walk to dining and bars
See more room tips
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Tour65896382258, Quality Manager at Labranda Cayo Santa Maria Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Grudrun,
We are very happy that you have spent a good holiday at our hotel and that our staff has lived up your expectations, we will recognize each of the workers you mention. As you start, we are under a new administration and we have made new investments and we still have many others to do, we will take into account your criteria on the shade in the pool and in the outdoor play areas; our giant chess game is close to repair. Thank you very much for taking some time to share your experience with other users and we hope to return soon to our home. Until next time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I arrived Tuesday and so far I have no complaints. The restaurant food is good, thank god not Canadian food but more Cuban, the service has been good so far, the room is clean, bed comfortable, the only thing the path is very dark at night. one complaint I have is that my friend had to leave in a emergency and go home. Another friend of mine wanted to come and join me here since I paid for 2 people. I ask at the front desk and they told me it would have to be a new reservation and I had to pay. I do not understand what the big deal is , it is just a different person in my room sharing what I paid for. Very disappointed. but now I know why I was refusing to go to Cayo Santa Maria, because there is nothing to do. If you like quiet and not interested in the Cuban culture than go here, otherwise stay away
I will not come back here for sure . The hotel could have been more accommodating and at least give me a very low price instead laying for another room.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Tour65896382258, Quality Manager at Labranda Cayo Santa Maria Resort
Responded 8 Oct 2019
Dear volker07,
We would like to begin by thanking you for taking part of your time to share your experience in our hotel with other clients. We are pleased to know that your stay at our hotel has exceeded your expectations, and that our staff has lived up to it. Regarding your request to enter another person with the same reservation, we understand that it may be a bit difficult to understand, but we do not have procedures that authorize these cases, mainly because the reservations already come from the agencies with the names and personal information of the clients that they will then accept when we send back the invoice, and in effect, they would not accept an invoice with three different names if only they sold the package for two people. We also regret to hear that you felt alienated from our recreation, but every day we have recreational activities programs that we perform in the morning, afternoon and evening, in several places of the hotel simultaneously. In addition, directly in the Reservation Bureau of Gaviota that we have in our Lobby you can access a wide range of excursions to different villages in the country, diving excursions, catamaran excursions, etc. Even so, we work every day with our animation team to make our offers more varied and attractive to our customers. Sincerely,
The board of managment
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
+1
There is a very serious problem in this hotel! Most probably the management is so much untalanted that unable to manage this motel! I am writing motel because this building is far away from 5star. The room is awful after 8 changes we hardly found a clean room. On the sheet there were BLOOD spots and next day nobody say sorry!!!! Out of 8 additional rooms I saw there were others also dirty bedsheets one with no electricity one with no lamp etc.
The beach is the worth ever, old and destroyed dirty chairs the all hotel looks like it has no responsible GM, if there is any HAVE TO FIRED IMMEDIATELY!!!! No way to lead a hotel in this mood!!!!!!! The pool close at 6pm🤷🏻‍♂️🙈 after 5 you can not get a towel!!!! Stay away from this property maybe when it was Warwick it was good, today this is a rubbish non working motel!!!!! Shame on the management!!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Tour65896382258, Quality Manager at Labranda Cayo Santa Maria Resort
Responded 8 Oct 2019
Dear travelmaster_hu:
We regret not having met your expectations. After being personally attended by the managers of Customer Service, Quality, Reception and the General Management of the hotel; we understand that the attention and compensation received from our management, in your own words, it had been good enough. When you refered to the 8 room changes (we know that this situation is not true because you changed twice and we also regret it); we want to inform future travelers that you made your first change because you wanted a room near to the beach which means being away from the building and the main services, it is also true that the fan of that room did not work properly and a light bulb in the bathroom was missing, problems that could be quickly solved by our technical services staff. Regarding the second room change, we could see that the bed sheets were indeed stained, but not with blood as you refered, but with small spots of rust. About the destruction of the beach, we understand that it refers to one of the parts that are still affected by the last hurricane, however, there are two more areas available for use, with turquoise crystalline waters as reflected in the photos that we have posted on social networks (some of them taken and published on the dates you were at our hotel). We sincerely regret that a person with your traveling experience and so educated, with so many contributions to the site, speaks in such a derogatory and impolite way of our staff and the General Manager of the hotel that was in charge of attending you directly. Once again we apologize. Sincerely,
The board of managment
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
This hotel was bought out with a whole name change and suppose to be revamped... Unfortunately after staying there for 4 nights I can say this hotel got worse then when it was the warwick! From not having any soft drinks, plastic cups, 1 day no beer, the same crap food everyday at the buffet - the food was absolutely horrible and were not picky people.. our room not having any AC. The pools being GREEN from not being cleaned!!!!!
I can go on and on.. overall I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone, save your money.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Cancelon.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Tour65896382258, Management at Labranda Cayo Santa Maria Resort
Responded 5 Oct 2019
Dear Angel1818.

First of all, thank you for the time you used to evaluate your stay here in Cayo Santa Maria. You are helping all the other users and of course us to constantly improve our service.

We are very sorry to hear that our team could not live up to your expectations during your stay here. But because of your review and different other reviews too, we've come to the following conclusions and actions:

The hotel will now be managed under a different brand.
The management and staff were largely replaced.
An extensive investment program was carried out in which the public areas, the buildings and the hotel rooms were renovated.
The areas for food and drinks have been modernized and reoriented under new management.
The staff was enlarged and trained in languages and hospitality skills.

The hotel now shines in a completely new light.

We would therefore like to ask you to visit Cayo Santa Maria again in the future to enjoy a fantastic Cuba vacation here with the hotel run by the new management.

The management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

room upgrade pricing for the warwick please. Thanks
The prices of our Hotel Warwick Cayo Santa María are accessible through the representations of travel agencies, tour operators and websites with which we have valid commercial contracts, through them you can get all the information necessary to make your trip.
0 votes
Show all answers
In the hotel all the electrical voltage is 220volt, if you have equipment that operate with lower voltage you must bring your own voltage converter.
0 votes
I reserved the building I wanted to be in when I booked... its based on availability, but 90% of time the request is approved.. stay in Building #10 closed to everything
1 vote
Show all answers
Does anyone know if there is an iron and ironing board in the room?
Hi, we do have an iron and ironing board in each room.
1 vote
Show all answers
you can walk to the market. however there is a bus that will take you there for a few pesos. I stayed in building 9 2nd floor loved it close to everything. you can fb message Warwick and they will give you an email address to send your requests to the resort. they can't guarantee it but I requested building 9 and 2nd floor at check in they honored it.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234569