We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at The Machan

Room/Suite (495)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... make such exceptions. We were staying in Canopy 1. The room was clean and the view was simply mind-blowing. Coming to...
... Lodging: We took a starlight machan. This machan has a two bedrooms with decks/balconies. The upper deck has a single person...
... time of check in that the plus resembles an extra bed in the room. At the property, no one knows where what is. When asked for...
Most popular question about the rooms
... September along with my husband and 19 months old daughter. Can you please suggest a room suitable for us specially for child safety perspective. Also, do we need to pay extra...
Answer from VH03
Aug 2020 |
Hey Sam, We look forward to having your lovely family over. There are a few types of Machns that would suit you needs. If you'd ...
Read more

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Aloysius Lobo wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
This place surely doesn't disappoint. Before going here I read a lot of reviews, many were positive and some were downright bad. However, now that I have been there I feel I need to write a review that really makes justice to the place. We booked the canopy machan for 10th September, however 2 weeks before our stay our dog fell critically ill, we had to cancel and thought our money is surely down the drain, however upon learning that our dog is so I'll they gave us an extension which we gladly accepted, however once again our dog hadn't recovered. They graciously gave us an extension on the condition that it would be the final one. We were really grateful because rarely any resorts make such exceptions. We were staying in Canopy 1. The room was clean and the view was simply mind-blowing. Coming to food I read many reviews that the food was very expensive. I had both their set menu and al carte menu. The food was filling and extremely tasty. Considering the cost, one has to understand that it's in the middle of jungle and the cost of getting fresh produce daily is expensive, moreover most high end restaurants in Lonavala would charge you same if not more. The best thing I liked about this place was no cell reception. I and my husband have been married for over a decade. Having the phone out the way allowed us to have long conversations with each other, which also bought us closer emotionally, spiritually and physically. I would highly recommend anyone who can afford this place to come here, atleast once. This place is truly worth the money. I know I will be back here, maybe not so soon, but surely in a couple of years."
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Shreyas Joshi wrote a review Nov 2021
Mumbai, India1 contribution2 helpful votes
The Location:
We went in mid November and the location looked very beautiful with cool weather and greenery everywhere. Even the trip from Lonavala main city to the Atvan village itself is very scenic. The property is surrounded by jungle and is part of jungle itself with fences ensuring that no unwanted wild life enters the property.

The Lodging:
We took a starlight machan. This machan has a two bedrooms with decks/balconies. The upper deck has a single person bathtub. There feels little privacy though to use the bathtub as your neighboring two machans will be visible from the deck. You could use it with swimsuit on though. The upper room has an open roof bath with commode and the washbasin indoors. A nice setup so that you don't have to worry about bugs creeping into the washroom. We mostly used the second washroom and bath on below room as we saw a big spider and a tiny frog in our upper room bath. The Machan also has a good plunge pool with water above waist level we swam a lot and had great fun here. The pool is good for 4 people and the water was warm and clean as well.

The Property:
They have maintained a good garden and walkable paths through it with a few seating areas and hammocks. The also have a very small butterfly garden. If you are lucky best visit it in the early morning. The rest of the property is a jungle of various different kind of trees and there is walking path through it where the guided nature walk takes place. Be sure that this is a jungle and you will find wild life at some or the other point. We saw a snake about 3 foot long casually gliding across the property garden when we were roaming around. When we asked the surrounding staff they said that there are bigger snakes too.

Things to do:
We had gone for a night stay and after the lunch we straight away went for a swim in our pool. We had booked a nature walk by 5pm for a nominal fees of 100 per person plus taxes. The walk is a bit of mini excursion as it involves climbing up and down a lot and the path takes you across multiple streams, through some dense jungle part and finally to a sunset point. We missed the sunset though as the walk started a bit late. Do carry a water bottle though as you will sweat a lot. We found the nature walk worth it. They also offer free yoga session and documentary screening which we opted out of.

The Service:
The Machan felt to be short staffed and pretty unprofessional in service. The inhouse dining took about an hour to deliver food as they were bogged down by orders. Also when asked to take away our plates we were instructed to keep our empty plates outside besides our door and they would take it away - which was still lying around our door till the time we were checking out.
Our Machan had a retractable roof but the mechanism didn't work when we tried to open it (somewhere around 10.30-11.00 pm). we called the reception and they sent out someone to check on it. The Technician checked the rooftop mechanism and informed as that some major issue was there and that they would only be able to fix it in the morning. When we asked at the reception to have us a room change or for any other solution they just said that the reception is closed and nobody will be able to respond to us till the next morning. Now the starlight is the most expensive accommodation of the machan and it is called starlight because you are able to retract the roof at night and see the night sky. Imagine how worst it is when the management is unavailable when such a major issue is present. So we had to sleep off disappointed that the thing we payed for is not available. But this is not even the worst of the experience. The worst happened the next day.
As we went for our breakfast next day we met with Vikrant Jharia the General Manager at the property and the conversation that transpired was really the worst hospitality we have seen till date. When we tried to tell him about the issue all he had to say was how unfortunate it was. When we tried telling him that we are very disappointed in the service he ranted on the N number of decades of the Machan and the efforts they put into maintaining the forest and all. But what he would not listen is how that didn't matter if we have paid for the service which we did not get. He was so blatant as to say that "the machan is about the good vibes and not about the lodging" - now why would you charge such an exorbitant price for the starlight if it wasn't about the lodging, could have charged the same as any other machan(which is about 10k less). He continued on to say how we were the ones who were having a negative vide and to leave the negativity and enjoy the stay. He also went on saying that they have worked decades on the property and we just merely go there and pay some amount for the stay in the property. What he doesn't get is that we have worked hard to earn the money we are spending in the Machan and that the arrogance he has for the Machan is not going to make do with loss we faced. He then went ahead saying that we should have opened the roof sooner in the day and that insect would come at night - When we checked in, the staff that showed us the room explicitly specified that to open the roof after 9pm as insects would not come in. To which he went on saying why even open the roof at night. When we said "to sleep under the open sky", he started laughing. I don't see the humor there, how you could laugh at your customer for the very thing you are selling. After this humiliating bit he went ahead saying that they could have opened the roof manually us - Yes for each of our want to open/close the roof we would then have to call the technician all the way from wherever he is and wait and dump the privacy you get at night - no thanks.
For all the disappointment, humiliation, frustration that we had to go through they dropped all the pending charges for food and activity which was less than 4K - Not much considering the cost of THE LODGING.
All I have to say about the upper management is that they are very rude, arrogant and no sense of responsibility. Their attitude is "sorry for your loss but we didn't do any mistake". They will rant away with all the long history of the Machan without a care that there customers hard earned money.

Food & Beverages:
We had non veg lunch buffet over at Machan. The food was good but definitely overpriced. I have stayed at places where they prepare locally sourced food. And local sourcing actually reduces price not increase it. We had in-house dining for dinner which was also way overpriced. If ever you want to visit this place the best thing would be to carry your own food if you can. The dining area also is smaller and you would have to struggle to find seats.

My Take:
I will not visit this property again. It does not have much to offer. There are properties which would offer a great deal more for the same price - nature, tranquility as well as service. I have lived in 5 star hotels and have lived in the most nature exposed camps. This property tries to have a take on both but fails due to bad service.

My suggestions to The Machan:
Value each customer. Things go wrong - I get it - but that's what management is for - to handle the situation when things go wrong. We are not expecting a 5 star service but you are not a small camping establishment either.
Try to increase the staffing - mostly the reception ones who are directly in connect with customers.
Replace the cloth hammocks in the Machan with rope ones as the cloth ones accumulate a lot of dust and leaves. - if they are not present still its okay.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2021
Room Tip: Starlight is not worth it. Room changes is not possible if anything is amiss.
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from TM General Manager, General Manager at The Machan
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear "ShreyasJoshi" At the very outset I do apologise for the malfunction of the roof and we did at multiple times expressed this to you. However, it is with a lot of dissappointment that I see such a review from you after you were offered a recovery for one mal-function of the roof and that was a fair one. You also resorted to put up two reviews seperately. We offered to rectify it in the morning but you denied. Over and above waiving off all your food and incidental charges and duly apologised, we only attemoted to guided you on what is that you should undertand that you have gained from here. Not everyone underetands that unless told. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatAgar30 wrote a review Nov 2021
48 contributions44 helpful votes
The machaan makes a poor effort at being a luxurious resort and no effort at being a tree house resort which it claims to be one. We stayed at the forest plus machaan number 5, and lucky us that we chose to stay just one night. The beds were squeaky, bathtubs unclean, bathrooms unclean (the one at the reception so bad that I had to wait until we got ours which wasn't clean too), kettle broken, unclean cups, and the list goes on. Forget covid protocols, wonder how they even do their basic cleaning if bathtubs bathrooms and cups themselves are so poorly maintained.
The reception being poor in responding to crisis that one can call them to fix something as basic as providing a functioning kettle, and be assured that after numerous calls and false promises like give me seven minutes, the problem will be fixed, hopefully, 2 hours later. The food quality poor except for the tandoori naan being exceptionally good. And yes, you need not pay for the internet because if you find the right spot in the machaan, you could get internet connection too (so much drama for digital detox!). At the time of booking, we were told that first machaan plus is the tallest machaan's only to be told at the reception at the time of check in that the plus resembles an extra bed in the room. At the property, no one knows where what is. When asked for directions for lunch, we were told just walk down and ask someone, and there was no one to be found to ask someone. We asked how do we go on the trail, we were told just walk towards forest machaan and ask someone. But who do we ask? Other guests. Forest machaan plus shares a wall with forest machaan 4 and lucky you if you have same guests as your neighbors as we did not. So much for quietness, and privacy, the machaan promises that you can hear your neighbors talk and walk in the next room, and jump about on the roof as well (forest plus machaan 5 has another forest machaan on top of it!). Haha! Yes, so much for being a tree house that you share spaces with others too! And to top it all, there is constant construction noise even on a mighty Sunday! Yes you read it right, there is an executive room being constructed whose construction noise is surely something you wouldn't miss (so much for running away from Mumbai construction!). They take a 3000 security deposit (which one is not informed to carry at the time of booking) for incidental damages. However, on reaching the room, a "piece of advice" says that if you do not vacate the room at 11am, late charges would be deducted from security deposit. Threatening works I guess. All in all. For 25000/night (inclusive of all meals) you can visit much more luxurious properties who do not falsely advertise and pretend to be what they are not.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The resort itself is something you want to avoid.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TM General Manager, General Manager at The Machan
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear "NatAgar30", I feel terribly sorry that you have this impression and apologise for the delay in service and other observations. All the furniture are made inhouse and are maintained such, however if you would have called us we would have attended to the bed issue in a jiffy. We have atleast 80 more guests dining the same food and sometimes its just a personal taste. We are very happy to adjust or customise as much as possible for you based on your taste. We understand that this is not a structured Hotel building with boundaries and that there would be hotel staff around to show directions to guests. We have hence errected numerous direction signage inside the property. If our guests just follow them they will reach the desired place. There all types of Machans available. Sometimes while you book, we may not have the one with your specific requirement. You are either given a choice of another date or a choice left to you to take a decision. However our reservation consultants do inform of the structure. All most all guests also come here for the peace & serenity and they do appreciate when we request them to lowerdown their volumes. incase of disturbances to others. If you would have told us of the disturbanses we could have got it addressed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh Punamiya wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We had very bad experience staying @ The machan , food spread and quantity vanished and no courtesy to refill and very thing is chargeable.
Reception called and forced us to checkout otherwise, they will charge Inr 3500 . Whereas they allowed us room @3.00 pm
Worst place and no Internet . Complete cut off from outside world .
Bad , worst experience @The Machan.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TM General Manager, General Manager at The Machan
Responded 24 Oct 2021
Dear "Surepun", "..no Internet . Complete cut off from outside world ..." You have mentioned these as objection. But this is what we offer. Our guests come here specifically to disconnect from the work and reconnect with themselves, their loved ones or the Nature. For our guest's convenience and to keep them safe we serve in different seating time for meals. You have reached late everytime you gave us time, that is the reason that sometime there is a possibility of facing dissappointments. However food is always replenished as we cook as per the number of guests who gave us time and not an estimation. These are Machans which are more than four times the size of any city hotel accommodation. It takes time to clean and sanitize to our satisfaction for the safety of guests like you. Hence you have to depart on the time that you agreed with us. You would have asked for extension in the last minute breaching all previous understanding. It is a difficult time for the amnkind especially if you are planning to stay at hotels and organisations like us do take your's and you family's safety very seriously. The least that we expect is cooperations. We have prices our chef's curated menu very thoughtfully, and such a set up is given for guests to choose from. Guests dont eat every item every time. One of your group member asked for Jain, when we provided you selected items from the menu prepared for jain, you demanded that each item of the set menu should be ofered to that person. Who does that? But our chef still went ahead and organised that. And all of these are briefed to every guests multiple time via voice, written and video at multiple stage and I am sure you did not pay attention to any of our communique. WHen you come to such exclusive place, you should pay a lot of attention in the guidances given. We do understand that we are not everyone's cup of tea and you surely fall in that category. We are purely for naturelovers and people who appreciate what we have made in last 30 years and counting. Regards General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Ambience & location was splendid. Traveling towards Resort in not much difficult. Resort interior & it's elevated room's location is really like MACHAN.
We would love to re-visit the Resort along my family and friends.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashique Barua, Marketing at The Machan
Responded 17 Oct 2021
Dear Sunil, Thank you for choosing the Machan and taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had an opportunity to feel relaxed and rejuvenated. In case you need another break from the city, please don’t hesitate to call us. We would love to have you as a guest at our resort again. Regards, The Machan Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
123456

Questions & answers about the rooms

Answer from VH03
Aug 2020 |
Hey Sam, We look forward to having your lovely family over. There are a few types of Machns that would suit you needs. If you'd be so kind as to reach out to us via phone, website or email. We shall be glad to walk you through the valid options. No charges for the little one. Look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, The Machan Team
1 vote
Answer from Sunil S
Nov 2019 |
Hiii, though you might have got the answer from other travellers too by now, but I will also like to inform you that room charges include only complementary breakfast, you have to pay for everything else. I would also add here that meals are in buffet only though an ala carte menu is there but it has very very limited options of snacks & bitings only.
0 votes
Show all answers
Answer from VH03
Jan 2019 |
Dear Lily, All our rooms have bathtubs with many of them out on a private deck. We also have Machans with private plunge pools. Greater details on our website.
0 votes
Show all answers
Answer from Ross K
Jul 2018 |
We stayed at one bedroom. It should be around 12” by 12”. Rooms are pretty big compare to regular 5 star hotels even the bathroom. We enjoyed the view during our drinks and coffee from right inside the room.
1 vote
Show all answers
Answer from VH03
Apr 2018 |
May end is the hottest time of year and day time highs will be in the mid 30's that is to say IF we don't get our scheduled pre-monsoon showers then the weather is Wonderful. and in the mid-high 20's. We are also just experimenting with a system to net meter and with our expanded solar system we are now Air Conditioning our units. Please contact us for availability and suggestions and a reservations consultant will personally work out a itinerary for you.
0 votes
PreviousNext
123