We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Travelodge by Wyndham Pendleton OR

Room/Suite (17)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
WyndhamUS$ 74
Expedia.comUS$ 74
Hotels.comUS$ 74
Agoda.comUS$ 73
eDreamsUS$ 73
StayForLongUS$ 99
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... The reservation was screwed up and checking in the room is very dated although mostly clean. The offer no amenities....
... was SLEEPING! Obviously we knew that but we had booked the room so he needed to get up and give us the key to a room. He...
The room was nice and clean. Got a decent night's sleep. The walls ARE thin though.... my complaint is upon checkin and...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
pers0nalview wrote a review Jul 2020
Joseph, Oregon1,026 contributions149 helpful votes
It is the first stay for me and I am not really impressed. The reservation was screwed up and checking in the room is very dated although mostly clean. The offer no amenities. The do not have coffee or breakfast. The rooms are basic and the a/c had to work all night to get the room semi cool. Other than that I guess you get what you pay for. I will do Super 8 next time for a few more dollars.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Momommaj wrote a review Jun 2020
Pineville, Missouri33 contributions4 helpful votes
We arrived very late in the evening and the lobby door was locked. Understandable. We rang the doorbell as instructed by the sign. Nobody came. We knocked on the door many times and rang the bell again many times. Still no employee would come to the door. Finally we called and a very rude man finally answered the phone and proceeded to tell us he was SLEEPING! Obviously we knew that but we had booked the room so he needed to get up and give us the key to a room. He hung up without replying that he would open the door or anything. I was calling him back when we could see him turn on a light and unlock the door. He was unkind and grumpy. Pretty sure it's your job to open the door when someone has booked a room. After taking my credit card and getting the money, he gave us a key card and when we left he locked the door and turned out ALL the lights to make sure the world knew they were closed, I supposed. Our room was awful. One kleenex in the kleenex box, we had to hold down the toilet handle to flush, squeaky bed when you sit on it, you could feel the springs in the mattress, no breakfast was provided even though the website said breakfast was part of the package price, rude employee told me no food because of Corona virus, empty beer bottle in corner of room, towels felt like sandpaper, long black hair in the bathtub. Not sure I wrote down all the problems, but this is QUITE enough!! Find a different hotel to stay at because this one is not worth ANY money or points to stay at!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Cassie B wrote a review Jun 2020
Waskom, Texas25 contributions7 helpful votes
The room was nice and clean. Got a decent night's sleep. The walls ARE thin though.... my complaint is upon checkin and declaring that I had a dog, I was told to take him across the busy main street or a block away to parks for him to do his thing. Seriously? I am a woman traveling alone and its 1130pm in a place I've never been before and you suggest that?... not very concerned for your guests safety and welfare are you? Wont be back to this location. Plant a grass patch for your guests and their pets and it will be a great place!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
TravelTalk2 wrote a review May 2020
Seattle, Washington440 contributions239 helpful votes
Fiance had to travel for essential family business. I called to get him a room for his return trip. Spoke with a woman who seemed nice and I told her I wanted to pay for the room. She said she could do that over the phone. She took my cc info, etc.
When fiance got there they insisted that he pay for it, even though I had made it clear I wanted to pay for it. Then he asked to see the room before he took it. The woman was very rude saying, "We don't do it that way here." and "You can't get your money back anyway." The staff should understand that it is not unusual to ask to see a room prior to paying, especially with budget accommodations and even more importantly, during a pandemic. Customers may want to ensure the room is clean.

It got worse. He said he understood that due to the virus precautions there was no breakfast served, no problem. He brought his own food. Could he please have a bowl and spoon so he can have his instant oatmeal in the morning.... Eye roll, big sigh, stomping off in a huff to get the requested items. Really???

The room was clean, plenty of hot water in the bathroom as bed was comfy, but the room was very noisy. Road noise is a big problem and you can hear a lot of noise from folks in rooms around you.

Not recommended!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
ZdenkaScully wrote a review May 2020
Portland, Oregon122 contributions57 helpful votes
First of all I have to say we visited in the Coronavirus time, and really "hat down" for how clean the room and the whole motel was. My husband is a "germophobe" and he even checked the filters and they were spotless. The room was smelling good, everything was obviously recently refurbished. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was spacious. Everything worked good except the plug at coffee maker. The location is nice, quiet and safe.

However, the pleasant stay was ruined by the rude behavior of the receptionist upon our check-in. He apologized in the morning, but that was a bit late after a night in a bad, stressed-out mood...Dollar short and a day late as my money have been spent and my night ruined in these stressful times. He did not treat me like a woman, and I would not bring children here.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Travelodge11283, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham Pendleton OR
Responded 26 May 2020
Hello, Thank you for taking time to post a review on your stay at Travelodge. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with my front desk agent. I did speak with him and was just about smoking away from the room. As we are a nonsmoking property we try to let guest know about the rules of Oregon and we do have assigned area were our guest can smoke. Some do not follow and just smoke right outside their room and that is the reason he had to let you know. We do apologize for the inconvenience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous