We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel

Room/Suite (7)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Trip.com
US$ 48
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$ 45
View Deal
Travelodge
US$ 48
US$ 41
View Deal
SAVE US$ 7
Reserve now, pay at stay
Nustay.comUS$ 42
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... what floor to get off at so I guessed. When I got to my room it was very basic and really large, but oddly, 2 fold up...
... you have to pay for literally everything after paying for room the toilet sink inside you can see the dirts I always closed...
... to over book the rooms and therefore they only had 1 family room for us. One of my kids is an adult, the other a large...
Featured room amenities
Internet
Wheelchair Access
Wifi
Accessible rooms
Flatscreen TV
Non-smoking rooms
Non-smoking hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
The website doesn't clearly state how you get into the car park so my sat nav took me the wrong way and there were bollards at the end which was very frustrating because I then had to go back and sit in lots of Friday work traffic. The car park had a big pile of dumped rubbish and some of the doors were open and it was quite scary walking past in the dark. When I got there, there was no one at reception and another guest waiting. When I got in the lift there was no signage indicating what floor to get off at so I guessed. When I got to my room it was very basic and really large, but oddly, 2 fold up beds had been put up. It looked like an adapted room. Smallest kettle in the world. Very clean but also very cold. They could have left the electric heater on. Basic TV channels. £7.50 to park for 24 hours. Which is disgusting especially when the road restrictions are 8am - 11pm so you have no other choicd than to pay. I wouldn't come back. Awful location to get to. Very "cheap and cheerful" and no luxury at all for such a massive brand.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Chelmsford hotel.

We're pleased to hear that you found your room to be clean however we are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the temperature and facilities and the problems locating the car park.

We appreciate all the feedback we receive and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.

Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Won’t stay again the staffs are nice but the hotel is horrible you have to pay for literally everything after paying for room the toilet sink inside you can see the dirts I always closed the door as it irritated me beds are not changed if you staying long it’s only made regardless of stains
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Booked 2 double rooms 2 weeks ago and paid in full. Arrived in chelmsford after 6 hour journey at 10 pm to be told it is their policy to over book the rooms and therefore they only had 1 family room for us. One of my kids is an adult, the other a large teenager so room was not appropriate, nor what was paid for. I was told no refund would be given either for price difference?! We then discovered they had accessible rooms available and having checked locally for any other hotel availability, we had no choice but to accept other than sleep in the car. Our room smelt of cat urine, the bathroom sink was leaking over the floor and the bedding was stained with the added bonus of a pubic hair. Breakfast was also poor. As we checked out we advised the manager of our complaint and to their credit we received a full refund. However we will never be using them again. How is it legal to take a booking and payment therefore entering into a contract, to then resell your room??
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from TravelodgeUK, James from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge Chelmsford Htoel.

We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us.

We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion.

As your experience was not up to our usual standards, could we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Services Team via our website help form, with a copy of your review, so that we can look into this further for you.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plenty of room, nice and clean had a great shower, but no frills. We did not use the bar or food area but it looked clean and tidy and other guests were using the facilities. Parking was good value at £7.50 for 24 hours. Location is slightly out of town but literally only a 5 -10 minute walk. traffic was quite noisy but it is a very busy road
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayed 2 nights clean hotel and clean room and very spacious for housekeeping you had to leave a tag on the door for it to be cleaned.
On site parking not managed by Travelodge but by a 3rd party paid for the stay via the 3rd party website no issues£7.50 for 24 hrs was worth it can pay on site at the machine.
Paid for the unlimited breakfast and was not disappointed was worth it and a good selection of hot and cold.
Staff polite and helpful
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous