We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at The Pine Lodge on Whitefish River, Ascend Hotel Collection

Room/Suite (318)
12% less than usual
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$ 94
Trip.comUS$ 85
Orbitz.comUS$ 110
TravelocityUS$ 110
Expedia.comUS$ 110
Hotels.comUS$ 110
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... A nice lobby with fireplace and view of the river. The room we stayed in was on the river side and was gorgeous even in...
... all included plus a reasonable breakfast. Clean comfortable room, friendly staff. Only negative is the reliance on disposable...
... hotel. If you are looking for a clean no frills hotel and room with a great staff then this will meet your needs. If you...
Most popular question about the rooms
Can we get a balcony room over looking river for august 22nd through august 25th?
I am not sure about the river. I do not know how far it is from the Lodge.Call the Lodge and ask them.
Featured room amenities
Suites
... my concerns, made the additional reservations and upgraded our rooms to suites to ensure we would be satisfied with our visit.
Hot Tub
... bicycle usage, exercise room, game room with pool table and shuffleboard tables, and an indoor/ outdoor pool with a hot tub!
Housekeeping
The front desk (thank you, Jennifer!), housekeeping staff (thank you, Curtis and Abby!), and breakfast staff (thank you, Mary!)...
See all room amenities (23)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
We stayed here 3 nights over the weekend. The staff was great and welcoming. Jamie, in the breakfast area, was awesome and was talkative with all the guests and very helpful. Every time we came in the person at the front desk made us feel right at home. Fresh cookies at night and coffee around the clock.
A nice lobby with fireplace and view of the river. The room we stayed in was on the river side and was gorgeous even in the fall. The room was quite spacious and very comfortable.
The hotel has a nice pool and hot tub and a very nice game room downstairs along with an exercise room. More comforts than at home.
Close enough to town that we could walk or we took the bikes (they have them there) for a ride into town and have lunch. A nice trail goes up the river into town.
I will definitely stay here again when we visit Whitefish and would highly recommend the Pine Lodge.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from esue0731, Manager at The Pine Lodge on Whitefish River, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello foozzerswife,

Thank you for taking the time to share this amazing review, we truly appreciate it! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay and that our property made you feel at home. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Jamie and our entire team so that they know how much you appreciate their hard work! We hope your overall time in Whitefish was great, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Emily S.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayed 3 nights and generally found Pine Lodge excellent. Good facilities - hot tub, shuttle to downtown (only 10-15 mins walk in any case). and activities - kayaks, bikes all included plus a reasonable breakfast. Clean comfortable room, friendly staff.
Only negative is the reliance on disposable plastic ware. Some is nominally compostable but everything goes in the same bin so one has to wonder. This issue is not unique to Pine Lodge and occurred at most motel style places we visited in the US.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from esue0731, Manager at The Pine Lodge on Whitefish River, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 7 Oct 2019
Hello frankcM2863XZ,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review, we truly appreciate it. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay but apologize for the issues you had with our plasticware and recycling. I have made note of your comment and will discuss them with our team so that we can make valuable improvements. We hope your overall time in Whitefish was great, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Emily S.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
For the most part this is a budget hotel. If you are looking for a clean no frills hotel and room with a great staff then this will meet your needs. If you are looking for this to be a luxurious mountain retreat hotel you will be disappointed. Our decision to come to Whitefish was made about 6 weeks before we needed a room. We stayed for an entire week and just about all the hotels that we normally would have stayed did not have a room available for the time we were there. This one did and I was tired of looking. In resort towns like this we prefer to stay in something locally owned and not a chain like Hilton, Holiday Inn etc. We knew we were going to spend most of the time outside the room anyway so it didn't matter.
PROS: Great location to town and base camp for Glacier. The staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations and directions. Basic continental breakfast that was clean and stocked with your standard items. muffins,fruit,cereal,waffle maker,yogurt and toast. I ate it once and we had breakfast in town the rest of the time. We were here when school was in session so not a lot of kids. Probably a mad house otherwise because the few kids that were there were very "visible". (not the hotels fault) Hotel stayed pretty clean and room service did a decent job.
Cons: Thin walls and floors lead to loud neighbors and if you are on lower floors expect to hear those above you running around. We could hear people next to us just having normal conversations. Bring your own pillow. We actually went to Bed Bad and Beyond and bought some because the ones here were so uncomfortable and hotel had no other options.
Recommendations: Stay on the upper floors if possible due to noise and facing back of hotel not front. Rooms on the lowest floor have a sliding door that goes outside without a closed in deck like the upper rooms. The designated smoking area is on the lower right side of hotel so if you have a lower room close to there expect to smell lots of smoke if you want to sit on your deck.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from esue0731, Manager at The Pine Lodge on Whitefish River, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 1 Oct 2019
Hello clniell,

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback, we truly appreciate it. We are happy to hear that our staff provided you with excellent service and you enjoyed our convenient location to Glacier. We do, however, apologize for some of the issues you had regarding your room. I have made note of your comments and will discuss them with our management team in order to make valuable improvements. We hope your overall time in Whitefish was great, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best,
Emily S.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High expectations almost always lead to some level of disappointment. The website for this hotel was attractive and the hotel was well-reviewed. This hotel isn't super expensive but it is also not cheap - we paid almost $500 CAD after taxes and amenity fees a night for a 2-bed room. All this added to the lovely pictures and descriptions about the amenities on the website made this place sound like a destination unto itself.
It isn't that. But it's not bad, either. Thus the 3/5 rating.
We checked in later in the afternoon. We booked a non-smoking family room on the top (4th) floor. The room was ok - not particularly large and a bit dated with paint chipping here and there - but the smell! I don't used a lot of strongly scented products and the intensity of smell in that room just about knocked me over. It was flowers and springtime on steroids! It was nauseating.
Also, our hotel room faced the highway so the I93 was not that far from our window. It was noisy with no view that anyone would ever want. So we called the front desk as the smell and the noise would have probably added up to a deal-breaker for us.
The rather sleepy guy at the front desk was sort of helpful after some prompting and gave us the option of a room on the 2nd floor. We gave considerable thought to leaving and did a 1 hour online search of other local accommodations in the area but Whitefish was packed and there weren't a lot of other options. We decided to make the best of it.
Pros: it's located right off the river, free ice cream in the afternoons was an unexpected perk, free cookies and coffee in the lobby all day, free kayak rentals, the breakfasts are pretty good, the indoor/outdoor pool is kind of fun - good for kids, most of the staff was lovely and friendly, and its in easy walking distance (with decent trails) of downtown Whitefish.
Cons: there was no family movie each night (as advertised on the website), the hotel is dated and they use fairly highly scented products (although nothing rivaled the smell in that 4th floor room), the kayaks are self-help so you better know what you're doing, the swimming towels are like sand paper, the bikes are only for teens or adults-sized people - younger or smaller kids will not be able to use them, and one side of the hotel is right next to a busy highway.
It was ok. Once we got over the initial disappointment and managed to change rooms, it was generally quiet and served our needs. Just make sure you book a river-facing room and expect to do quite a bit off-site as this is not a resort, even though you pay a daily amenity fee.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
Room Tip: Ask for river-facing rooms and bring your own bikes for smaller kids.
See more room tips
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from esue0731, Manager at The Pine Lodge on Whitefish River, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 4 Sep 2019
Hello GJAlberta,

We appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback. We sincerely apologize for the poor experience you had during your visit. I have made note of your comments and will discuss them with our management team in order to make valuable improvements. We wish you safe travels and hope you were still able to have a great time in Whitefish.

Best,
Emily S.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The hotel has a wonderful setting on the river. The rooms (our group had a double queen room and a king room) were clean, nicely furnished and had comfortable beds.
A self serve breakfast was included and there was seating in the lobby and on a balcony overlooking the pool and river. The pool was indoor/outdoor. My granddaughter loved it.
One odd thing caught our attention. The elevator is at one end of the hotel instead of in the middle. If you have a room at the opposite end, it’s a bit of a walk.
The hotel was pricey but the extras made it worth it.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from esue0731, Manager at The Pine Lodge on Whitefish River, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 4 Sep 2019
Hello Ibjan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share this great review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the extra amenities made your experience extra special. I wish you safe travels, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Emily S.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

I am not sure about the river. I do not know how far it is from the Lodge.Call the Lodge and ask them.
0 votes
PreviousNext
1