We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at The Mill House B&B

Room/Suite (20)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... seems abandoned. The rooms were clean but again there was room for improvement. Room was very spacious (bathroom was...
... owners. Firstly, when you arrive you are not shown to your room but immediately shown the breakfast room, asked what you...
... and 15 mins from Bristol Airport. We stayed in a lovely big room, light bright and airy with a spacious en suite bathroom....
Featured room amenities
Wifi
WiFi access was a challenge in the older house but that is being addressed.
Family Rooms
... enjoyed the weekend and making use of the triple and family rooms was like going back to childhood for some of us and...
Housekeeping
Desk
Laundry Service
Walk-in Shower
See all room amenities (21)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
The hotel is situated in a beautiful valley surrounded by nature. The building is beautiful but needs a little more upkeep, the garden has a lot of potential but seems abandoned. The rooms were clean but again there was room for improvement. Room was very spacious (bathroom was huge).
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from natalieofhousewild, Owner at The Mill House B&B
Responded 13 Oct 2019
Hello Ruben,

Thank you for your review.

I just wanted to let you know that The Mill House has recently changed hands and is now open again under new management. As the new business owner, I'd taken a good long look at the feedback left by previous guests and have made a lot of significant changes to how things are here now.

In addition to giving the garden a big dose of TLC (its no longer abandoned), we've given the rooms a revamp and have added a lot of period furniture and artwork to the home, which I will continue to do as time goes on - I want to do this beautiful house justice and make it the warm and inviting home away from home it has the character to be.

We've also given the breakfast menu a full makeover, making a cooked to order breakfast using a lot of locally sourced produce. I'm striving to provide guests with a delicious and filling meal and a stay that is overall good value for money.

If you would be willing to give us another chance in the future, please reach out to us in advance and I will provide you with a code for 15% off of your booking to use if you book directly with us.

Best Wishes
Natalie.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Well, I always check here before I book and was really looking forward to our stay. Yes, it is a fabulous house in a lovely location, but it is not good value for money. Maybe it's past its best or has become too much for the owners.
Firstly, when you arrive you are not shown to your room but immediately shown the breakfast room, asked what you want and told you have to choose a half hour slot. Then we were taken to the room, which was large, but not particularly clean. The carpet needed a good hoover and there were cobwebs on the large painting above the bed.
Owner looked into the bathroom 'to check the cleaner had done a good job' -We never once saw a 'cleaner'! We were told there was soap in the bathroom, but if we wanted shampoo to ask her for it.
The bathroom was large with a good shower, but there's wallpaper loose on the walls, and the windowsill needed painting. I realised after I had a shower that there's another door onto the landing that was unlocked! The cupboard in the bathroom was full of old videos!
You only get a small bar of soap-nothing else. You only get a very old and fraying bath towel each-no hand towels. I have never stayed anywhere that didn't give you a hand towel.
On to the bedroom. It also needs revamping. Half of the wardrobe has a lock and chain on it, but you can see inside that it is full of the owners clothes. There is a small TV which is tuned into Welsh TV. One side of the bed has a lamp and bedside table, but the other has a settee next to it, so the person sleeping that side has no lamp and no where to put their cuppa. On the plus side the bed was massive and comfortable, but the pillows were very hard.
You are supplied with just two unwrapped tea bags, two coffees and 4 milk cartons. When I asked for more tea bags the next day, we were given 3 tea bags and 1 coffee!
Breakfast. Well you should have seen my hubbies face! One rasher of bacon, one sausage, one hash brown an egg and a spoonful of beans. Had to be the smallest B&B breakfast ever! I didn't mind as I only wanted a small breakfast, but he was bitterly disappointed.
We couldn't quite work out what was going on. Were they just tight? Were there money problems? It was all quite bizarre.
The lady that was running it was lovely, but of advancing years and seemed to be running it on her own. Maybe it's too much for her?. She had younger family staying, but they gave her no help at all.
It's not the worst place to stay, but not worth £85 per night.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from natalieofhousewild, Owner at The Mill House B&B
Responded 13 Oct 2019
Hello Wildheart65,

Thank you for your review.

I just wanted to let you know that The Mill House has recently changed hands and is now open again under new management. As the new business owner, I'd taken a good long look at the feedback left by previous guests and have made a lot of significant changes to how things are here now.

In response to your well made points (sorry you had to experience them!) - Under the changes, we do not offer breakfast slots, but ask that guests come down for breakfast whenever they are ready, a time is loosely agreed upon arrival (we're in the kitchen from 07:30). Rooms (and the rest of the house) are cleaned daily. I can happily confirm there are no cobwebs remaining in the house, - our resident house cat is also doing a great job at keeping any further spiders under control.

As well as using elite hotel linen on our beds (provided by Stallbridge Linen) we provide all guests with a bundle of 4 soft 100% cotton towels of different sizes to use during their stay.

We have revamped the bedrooms, keeping furnishings light to draw out the character of the home, but are gradually filling the place with period furniture - I want to do this beautiful house justice and make it the warm and inviting home away from home it has the character to be. We also provide more tea and coffee in your room than you could consume, because why not. Its a basic nice thing to have.

I can't unfortunately do anything about the welsh TV, because of our rural location we only receive welsh satellite TV, as does every house in the area, though I have installed Fibre broadband for guests to use for free, enable streaming on any devices they bring and there are ample DVD's in the sitting room that can be watched on the built in DVD players in the TV's in guest rooms.

We have also given the breakfast menu a full makeover, making a cooked to order breakfast using a lot of fresh locally sourced produce. I'm striving to provide guests with a delicious and filling meal and a stay that is overall good value for money. So far, no guest of mine has been able to finish one of my AGA cooked breakfasts and the feedback has been very positive.

If you would be willing to give us another chance in the future, please reach out to us in advance and I will provide you with a code for 15% off of your booking to use if you book directly with us.

The new management are not tight, we don't have money problems, and we're able to offer a much better service.

Best Wishes
Natalie.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
+1
Lovely B & B in rural Somerset. Close to Coombe Lodge and 15 mins from Bristol Airport. We stayed in a lovely big room, light bright and airy with a spacious en suite bathroom. We stayed in winter and it was cosy and warm. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upon arrival we were the first of two couples to arrive at the same time. We were greeted and shown to the dining room to fill out some information & our breakfast choices. Personally pop the breakfast choices in the room and get your guests to leave them in the dining room before 8/9pm. On arrival guests want to be shown to their rooms especially after a long journey. Maybe something to think about?

We were shown to the family room with private bathroom. It was not en-suite which wasn’t a problem however I would not describe it as private as next door was a family play/toy room. So we felt very uncomfortable using the bathroom while there was people in the play/toy room. It’s a great idea but not right place to have it - I know personal preference but would you feel comfortable walking along a corridor in just a towel to your room while strangers were in the next room?! No.

The family room was okay - double room with single bed with an adjoining double room. Rooms were extremely cold and with a 2 year old we put the heater on to warm the room up. Only one heater for both rooms so our little one was cosy while we were absolutely freezing! Heating came on maybe an hour in the morning.

Breakfast is served 8-11am with 30 minute intervals and no two rooms could come to breakfast at the same time. There were three rooms including ourselves staying yet once a time had been booked we could not come for breakfast. On arrival to breakfast we had cereal and then was asked if we would like our cooked breakfast so two rooms could arrive because the next room to come down went straight for their cooked breakfast. Guests know in a B&B where a cooked breakfast is the offering they have to wait so do you have to be as strict on times?! Breakfast was adequate and only just warm but the dining room was freezing. We expected fresh bread instead a standard cheap toastie loaf. Milk/butter we asked for a few times to be refilled. I’d of had a jug of milk available with the juice & offer a bigger butter bowl. Fresh coffee was lovely. We didn’t feel rushed but slightly awkward always asking for milk or butter.

We headed back to the room after our breakfast to finish packing but we hung on a bit because we felt we couldn’t checkout until they’d had their last table down for breakfast as I’m not sure what the process would have been if we’d of checked out through breakfast.

Unfortunately we won’t be back. I appreciate it’s personal preference but we have been to similar price B&Bs and had a far better experience. I see the lovely feedback you’ve had hence why I think my review is personal preference but I do agree our room and private bathroom looked tired and in need of decoration. Also a deep clean by moving the beds to hoover the thick dust and hoover the dead flies and woodlice from the drawers. The towels in the bathroom were in desperate need of changing - they were clean but looked grubby. There weren’t many towels either for a family.

I’d maybe revisit the description of the attic room with private bathroom to mention the toy/play room to make guests aware because had I known I’d of booked an alternative room or stayed elsewhere.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from natalieofhousewild, Owner at The Mill House B&B
Responded 14 Oct 2019
Hello marazionmountsbay,

Thank you for your review.

I just wanted to let you know that The Mill House has recently changed hands and is now open again under new management. As the new business owner, I'd taken a good long look at the feedback left by previous guests and have made a lot of significant changes to how things are here now.

In response to some of your points; we don't ask guests to pick their breakfast the evening before, instead we ask guests to simply come downstairs whenever they're ready anytime after 07:30, and order what they like from the revamped menu of local and fresh produce. Every breakfast is cooked to order on the AGA. If everyone comes for breakfast at the same time, that isn't a problem. We are prepared, and aren't skimpy on the milk, sugar, butter or anything else I can politely assure you.

I can't unfortunately do anything about the physical locations of the bathrooms, however I can advise that we have removed the playroom (using it instead as a private storage room), which offers more privacy to those using the family room as they then have sole use of the top floor of the home and the private bathroom that accompanies it.

We agree, rooms were very cold. Since taking up residence here I have fired up the AGA in this house (which was neglected and not used for several years under the old business owners here) and the central heating is now also working properly ensuring the house is comfortably warm at all times. I have also taken the liberty to have broken window frames repaired so there is no constant draft coming into the family room from three angles.

We have revamped all of the rooms and are slowly filling the house with period furniture to match its character. I can agree a deep clean was needed, which I had professionally done when I took on the property back at the start of September, it took 3 weeks, proudly, our rigorous daily housekeeping of the home means it will never get into that state again. We use only elite hotel linen on our beds, provided by Stalbridge Linen, and provide guests with a bundle of 100% cotton towels upon arrival (which are new, clean, and definitely not frayed or grubby.)

I appreciate you may be sceptical, however if you would be willing to give us a chance in the future, please reach out to us in advance and I will provide you with a code for 15% off of your booking to use if you book directly with us.

Best Wishes
Natalie.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I stayed here at the weekend with my partner and three children. We stayed in the family room which was very spacious. This is almost like a little flat only without the kitchen. There is a seperate flight of stairs which leads to the landing where there is a toy room, bathroom and the bedrooms. Not immaculate in terms of cleanliness but it was by no means dirty. We booked to stay here to break up our long journey the next day, we made an early start on both days and declined breakfast however we were offered continental breakfast which could of been left out for us but we declined due to leaving around 5am on both days. The beds were very comfortable, so much so it made the early alarm almost impossible to wake up to. We are planning to do a trip to longleat in the new year and will be returning when we do so. Highly recommended especially if you have young children! Only negatives for us were hard to find in the dark, drove past ended up near the pub. No sugar or sweetener for hot drinks, everything else was great. Thank you for a lovely stay
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
1234568