We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Comfort Inn & Suites ISU

Room/Suite (6)
10% less than usual
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$ 114
TravelocityUS$ 134
Agoda.comUS$ 114
Expedia.comUS$ 134
Orbitz.comUS$ 134
Hotels.comUS$ 134
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... bed linens for the sofa bed, since there were none in the room. After being out all of the following day, we returned to...
The room was clean and well decorated. I was a refreshing change to have a stand alone shower in the bathroom rather than a...
... visiting Iowa State and our daughter for the weekend. The room and bathroom were extremely clean. My only negative is the...
Featured room amenities
Suites
Interesting that this new Comfort Suites seems to have cut corners on amenities / the extras that add to the experience.
Housekeeping
... did let the front desk girl know and she said that she would talk to housekeeping so that they are more careful in the future.
Desk
The staff, desk clerks, manager, the breakfast staff and the room staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful.
See all room amenities (31)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
This is a new hotel in a great location. The rooms are nicely furnished. Our issue is with the cleaning service. On our first evening, we had to go to the front desk for bed linens for the sofa bed, since there were none in the room. After being out all of the following day, we returned to our room to find our beds were not made and our towels were not replenished. We contacted the front desk, and were told that the manager was contacted about our situation. We returned the following day to the same situation. We were then told that since we had "personal items" on the bed, the staff would not make the beds. Those personal items were our pillows. We have stayed at several different hotels in Ames and have never had this issue before. We certainly understand hotel security issues. Had we been told, we would have cooperated, but we are disappointed that after staying 3 nights we never had our beds serviced.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Remove all items from the beds to have the beds serviced by the staff.
See more room tips
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from BonnieA677, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites ISU
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for providing your review. We too love our great location and appreciate your kind words regarding our furnishing. I apologize that we were unable to make your beds. It is Choice hotel policy that our staff is not able to physically move any guest belongings. We would hate to something lost or broken while moving your items. I am glad that I was able to follow up with you and appreciate your understanding of our policies. Again, thank you so much for visiting with us and we are delighted that the rest of your stay in Ames was great.

Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The room was clean and well decorated. I was a refreshing change to have a stand alone shower in the bathroom rather than a tub. Plenty of room and a nice coach area to sit and relax. Perfect location to ISU, however if you are driving back to the hotel right after the game, it is very difficult due to road blocks.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from BonnieA677, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites ISU
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for being our guest and celebrating the ISU Homecoming. We are delighted that the location was perfect for you. All game days do create additional traffic, thank you for joining us in Ames we wish you safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
We were visiting Iowa State and our daughter for the weekend. The room and bathroom were extremely clean. My only negative is the breakfast items were not re stocked very quickly. We had to wait for items to be re filled.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from BonnieA677, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites ISU
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for providing us with your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit and found your stay great. Our entire team takes great pride in delivering a clean, comfortable home away from home experience for our guests. We appreciate it when our guests notice those efforts. Please accept my apologies that you had to wait for some items to be re filled during breakfast. We appreciate everyone's paitence while we quickly replenished any low items. It is our goal to keep things full with a great presentation for all of our guests and when large groups of athletes go through like that morning, it can cause a slight wait while we do a quick refill. Again my apologies that you had to experience any wait.
We wish you safe travels and very much look forward to the next time you visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
+1
We stayed at the Comfort Inn ISU while traveling through Iowa. We were surprised to find it was a brand new hotel. Everything sparkled!
Check-in was fast and friendly. Our room was huge. I had inadvertently booked an accessible room and I think that is why it was so large. The bathroom was almost as big as some motel rooms. I was surprised it had a bathtub since it appeared to be a handicapped room with a lot of grab bars.
I assumed all Comfort Inns had hot tubs so we were disappointed after a long day of driving to find they didn't have one.
Breakfast was very good and included delicious homemade cinnamon rolls. Definitely a plus! Karina, the breakfast staff person, was very friendly, and we enjoyed visiting with her.
We were very pleased with our stay with the exception of no hot tub!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from BonnieA677, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites ISU
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you were our guest and thank you for your kind review of our hotel, team members and amenities. We too love our yummy breakfast and so happy that your morning started off perfect! We wish you all the best in your travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Very nice hotel, so new, they have some kinks to work out but overall it was a very nice hotel to stay in. The staff, desk clerks, manager, the breakfast staff and the room staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms were very nice, but still have a slight odor of new carpets. The hotel is convenient to ISU, close to the highways, close to Reiman gardens. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our stay was less than $100, but it wasn't a football weekend.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from BonnieA677, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites ISU
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you so much for joining us here at Comfort Inn & Suites. Thank you for your kind words! We love having a brand new hotel here next door to everything ISU! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and are appreciative of our guests who notice our efforts to deliver exceptional quality! All the best to you in your travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous