We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium

Pool & Beach (14)
33% less than usual
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Orbitz.comUS$ 211
Expedia.comUS$ 211
TravelocityUS$ 211
Hotels.comUS$ 211
Trip.comUS$ 119
Nustay.comUS$ 220
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Pool review highlights
... and I wound up having to change my socks because there was a pool of water on the floor when I went to empty the dishwasher. ...
... place and if you want waffles, be prepared to wait. The pool area is minimal and adequately maintained, but I can imagine...
... to fix a tub drain that was not draining properly. The pool was dirty and was really cold. The hot tub was dirty as well...
Featured pool amenities
Outdoor pool
Exercise rooms (2) with running equipment only & outdoor pool.
Heated pool
... for our 2 children and water and soda for the grown ups.. Gym to get a morning work out.. Heated pool and hot tub as well...
Pool / Beach Towels

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
+1
I came here with my two sons to see a Ducks game at the nearby Honda Center and visit Knott’s Berry Farm. Because we were thinking of doing a week long stay for Disneyland in a few months, and having Platinum status in the Bonvoy program, I thought this would be a good test drive of this hotel. Glad I did that, because I’m doubtful we would come back.

Upon check in, the friendly desk clerk noted my platinum status with Marriott, and said our room was ready. I had booked a two bedroom suite and she noted it was room 420, which was on the top floor and furthest from the elevator. When I got on the elevator, I noticed a couple of spots where the siding of the elevator walls were missing. Not a good sign about the hotel’s upkeep. Getting off the elevator, I noticed the hallway was not that brightly lit, and the walls showed this was an older property that could use some TLC.

Entering our suite, the thing that I first noticed was the tiny galley kitchen, with a stove that looked like a museum piece situated right next to the fridge. Old grease stains were evident on the side of the fridge. Some of the bedroom furniture looked to be a few decades old. The carpet in the suite’s larger bedroom had also seen better days. The air conditioning outlets were along each window, and all of them were incredibly loud. Hot water at this hotel also seems to be an issue, as both my morning showers were incredibly lukewarm. We used the suite’s dishwasher before checking out, and I wound up having to change my socks because there was a pool of water on the floor when I went to empty the dishwasher. We did not partake in the free breakfast, nor did we use the pool.

At check out, when the desk clerk asked how our stay was, I said it was probably the most disappointing stay I’ve had in a hotel in a long time. Having platinum Bonvoy status, I spend a fair amount of time in hotel rooms, and this place doesn’t really represent that well the Marriott brand. It seems the hotel’s employees or operators don’t take any pride in the appearance of the hotel, and it really shows. The desk clerk said she would post 10,000 Bonvoy points to my account, as an apology for the issues I pointed out. It’s the only reason I’m not leaving a 1 star review.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from GeneK293, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium
Responded 2 weeks ago
blkjck5697,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience while visiting our hotel, I want to first apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We strive to have all of our guests satisfied, however we obviously failed with respect to your visit.

I will be in contact with our housekeeping and maintenance staff in order to rectify all the issues you outlined in your review, we are grateful that you brought it to our attention, and we will ensure to improve for our better guests. Our hotel is definitely not perfect, and we strive to improve every single day.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank You
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
This property combines two valuable things: a location convenient to various Anaheim attractions (stadium, Honda Center, Disney, etc) and reasonably-priced family-friendly rooms with kitchenettes. For many, this will be sufficient.

We were not able to stay in the two-bedroom suite we booked, but were re-accommodated in two adjoining rooms, which was acceptable. We were told this was due to a plumbing failure, which speaks to the age/condition of the property.

The rooms were clean, but very basic, consistent with the price point. However, the A/C units are *very* loud. I would not have been able to sleep with it on, but fortunately it was cool in the evenings and I did not need to. The walls are thin, so be prepared for some noise from the hall and adjoining rooms, if that bothers you. The public areas were not very clean over the weekend -- elevator and halls do not appear to be cleaned daily on the weekends.

The secondary offerings are a bit more problematic. While parking is free, the lot came close to being full on a couple of occasions, partly because of idiots parking big vehicles in multiple spaces.

The breakfast was hard to make use of because there are far too many guests for the very small lobby space provided. The last thing I want first thing in the morning is to stand in line for food and drink and be jostled and listen to screaming kids. But it's a family place and if you want waffles, be prepared to wait.

The pool area is minimal and adequately maintained, but I can imagine in the summer it is a madhouse.

All told, I found this to be acceptable, but only because it was inexpensive. Investment in a larger breakfast area, lobby, and increased check-in services would go a long way.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019
Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the best bet, if you can get one.
See more room tips
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from GeneK293, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium
Responded 2 weeks ago
gnetweker,

Your review is greatly appreciated, we appreciate your loyalty! We apologize for the inconvenience regarding your room type, we do our best to accommodate all guests whenever possible. We will also take your feedback and look into issues at our hotel in order to improve our future guests experiences.

We hope you will choose to visit us again in the near future.

Thank You
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
We arrived just after 4pm to checkin only to find a very long line exiting out of the entrance of the hotel all for guests ready to checkin. Very small lobby.

We got checked in to our room and found the key card did not work for one of the doors into our building but did work for another door that was further away from our room.

We found that the sink was leaking and called the front desk and they sent maintenance workers to fix it. Ended up needing to replace a garbage disposal. Also had to call for maintenance to fix a tub drain that was not draining properly.

The pool was dirty and was really cold. The hot tub was dirty as well but cleaner than the pool.

Very small lobby, which didn’t accommodate any more than 20 people to sit down for breakfast. Most mornings we had to eat our breakfast outside on patio tables. Our trip was all about Disneyland. We needed to eat breakfast early to be able to get on the ART in time for gates to open at Disneyland. Our first morning for breakfast we got to the lobby at 6:30 am (breakfast begins) only to find items were just barely being pulled out of the back room. Nothing was hot (chorizo, eggs, hashbrowns- all cold) the waffle batter was not available. So we had to rely on bagels, cereal, fruit and yogurt. We also had a Magic morning entry which opened the gates at 7 am at Disneyland. So in order to board the ART bus on time we could not eat breakfast at the hotel that starts breakfast at 6:30. So we had to go across the street to McDonald’s for an earlier breakfast. The other mornings breakfast was ok. Food was warmer because we arrived to breakfast later but had no room to sit until patio tables outside became available.

Not that this is necessarily the fault of the hotel but the ART bus was almost never on time. Most times it was 10-20 minutes late to pick up from the hotel according to the hotel print out of the ART pick up times. There was even an evening time it was 30 minutes late. This particular route from Towneplace suites was long and I wouldn’t recommend it since it took so long to get from our hotel to Disneyland that was just down the road.

On our second to last day at this hotel my husband found a cockroach in the bathroom. He took care of it but makes it difficult to feel comfortable in our room knowing there could be more.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from GeneK293, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium
Responded 4 weeks ago
Shaelyn_love,

We appreciate your review, and will use your feedback as a way to improve our hotel, when you checked in the housekeeping staff was running behind due to the previous night being sold out, and on top of that there were technical malfunctions with the computer system, this certainly is not an excuse nor an issue for guests however unfortunately untimely instances occur. Our lobby/breakfast area is limited in seating and we provide outside seating, and guests will also take their food back to their rooms. We certainly apologize that the food was not warm on your first day, and that will be addressed with the breakfast staff.

The ART bus as you stated is also not perfect, the staff tries to provide as much information as possible, based on information we receive from the City of Anaheim. (who runs the shuttle) We also apologize regarding the insect in your room, we utilize one of the nations largest companies in order to provide preventative maintenance and will alert them ASAP.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank You
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
This is our fourth time to this property. I stay in Marriott Brands almost weekly so I know their product. Recently, we stayed there over the weekend in a 2 bedroom suite and I stayed solo during the week. The soft product is great. Everyone is pleasant, they attend to issues appropriately but I have to call out a few areas for improvement. Lastly, I realize this is not a 5 Star property and I'm sure it serves well for the Disney market- these comments are coming from a well seasoned traveler and intended only to distinguish this property from other Marriott brands throughout the country.

First observation. Inconsistent treatment for Titatium members. The first stay we were awarded points as our gift. Second visit I was awarded points and a market item. Why the difference? Is it both or just one. Just need to set the customer expectations especially with those of us who notice inconsistencies.

Second, the rooms. They are dated. They were clean, but between these two trips I noticed many issues, so it was not a one-time occurence. The 2 bedroom had a TV in each room. Bedroom 2 - TV did not function. Went to call for maintenance and the only phone in the suite also did not work. Had to wiggle the cord to get a dial tone. Maintenance fixed it promptly, but really. Is there no checks in the rooms to ensure TV and phones are in working order? Other issue with the 2 bedroom was the water temp for showers. It was not the last person who suffered from lack of hot water - it was everyone.

There were no suitcase stands (something my wife values completely) not sure if that is by design.

Hallways are really beat up - chipped paint and wear that is obvious.

Air conditioners are positioned right at the bed so whoever's on that side of the bed better have an extra blanket. Of course you can adjust temps but never found a comfortable setting. It's common to see these air conditioners in various Marriott brands so maybe not a fair critique of this location.

Functional kitchen but my return stay had a coffee maker that had no lid. As a result when making a pot, coffee went all over the counter. Again, where is the quality control on these rooms?

Appreciate the bottle water and cookies.

Pool was nice and refreshing as was the hot tub.

Food was standard fare and met expectations. Gets a little busy in the morning with all the Disney families, but that energy is a great addition. Refreshing for me to see as a business traveler

All in all - great soft product, but they have to work on quality and the place needs some updating.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from GeneK293, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium
Responded 8 Oct 2019
David A,

We are so grateful of your review, we certainly appreciate the time you took to write about your experience at our hotel. We definitely have areas to improve on and will take your review and share it with the staff in order to improve our process, we value all feedback, especially negative ones as it provides areas of opportunity in order to improve the hotel. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future, and again thank you for your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I showed up early and was assured that my room would be ready after a day game and it was. In addition recognizing my Rewards membership I was upgraded at no charge.
The staff was probably the friendliest I have met in the last three-four months and Patrick helped me score some cheap tickets to the ballgame. The hotel while older may show a little age was still clean and comfortable. Restaurants in walking distance and more available if you will drive a couple miles. nice pool. I would definitely stay again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from GeneK293, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium
Responded 7 Aug 2019
TexCol56,

Thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel! Our staff works very hard to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied during their stay. We're so happy you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank You
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous