We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Old City Design Apartments

Room/Suite (14)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Room review highlights
... area! Location good for seeing Porto but disappointed by room outlook & how noisy it was. I presume rooms on the other...
... fish market in front which can be a bit smelly so ask for a room on the other side. I can definitely recommend this...
... where you could eat breakfast or have evening drinks. The room could be blacked out with shutters which made for better...
Featured room amenities
Kitchenette
Refrigerator in room
Internet
Baggage Storage
Air conditioning
Wifi
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Non-smoking hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Mooramana wrote a review Sep 2018
York, United Kingdom6 contributions10 helpful votes
Visited for 3 nights in September. Firstly if you’re not agile you’ll struggle to climb K2 well that’s how steep it felt upon arrival lugging suitcases......... Had been allocated a ground floor apartment facing market smelt of fish! & car park. Not very scenic. Internally well appointed but the sofa bed was very firm. Couldn’t open any of the doors to look out, one had been damaged by previous guest & consequently mosquitoes invaded overnight.......Very noisy woken every morning at 3.30 by people starting vehicles & leaving them running also a lot of building work happening in the area! Location good for seeing Porto but disappointed by room outlook & how noisy it was. I presume rooms on the other side will be quieter. Sadly Wouldn’t return to this accommodation.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from NunoC2003, Gerente at Old City Design Apartments
Responded 1 Oct 2018
Dear @Mooramana, We kindly thank you for taking some time reviewing your stay with us. We're terribly sorry to read that you didn't have a pleasant experience in our apartment. Our aim is to make our guests feel confortable and at home during their stay with us. The apartment you booked was, indeed, our WINE apartment, located on the ground floor. It's a modern apartment, fully equipped, located in a very privileged area of Porto, the old neighbourhood of "Sé", classified by UNESCO as World Heritage. Although this is mostly a residential area, and usually very calm at night, is also a touristic one. Unfortunately, we can't control what happens in the streets surrounding the building, but we frequently have a good feedback from our guests. We do have more apartments available in the same building, at different prices, some of them in upper floors and provding better views to our beautiful Cathedral. We'd very pleased to welcome you back to Porto. Warm regards, Oporto Design Apartments
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMM77 wrote a review Jul 2018
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa120 contributions21 helpful votes
Stay for 4 nights on a ground floor apartment Invicta and loved it. All you will need for self catering stay, most friendly and helpful owners. Right at the cathedral and close to all the little bars and restaurants as well as the river area. Arriving we were a bit concerned about the surroundings but it was our first time in Porto and Portugal and we soon realized that this is not a concern. There is also a fish market in front which can be a bit smelly so ask for a room on the other side. I can definitely recommend this accommodation for your stay in Porto in the heart of it all, comfortable bed and decorated with care.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from OportoDesignApartm, Gerente at Old City Design Apartments
Responded 16 Jul 2018
Dear @GMM77, We kindly thank you for taking some time reviewing your stay with us. We're please to read that you had a great time in Porto. Thank you for choosing us for your stay. Come back anytime, you'll always be welcome! Warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura_Sweep wrote a review Oct 2017
Torquay, United Kingdom83 contributions65 helpful votes
The apartment is very easy to find from the airport – metro to Trindade station, change to yellow line to Sao Bento. It’s a 5mins walk from either exit. One exit has more of a hill than the other!
We had a late flight so the keys were left for us in a pre-arranged place. We were in the TRAM apartment on the ground floor. We took a bit of time getting used to the lock and getting the key out of the door – the advice is patience.
The apartment itself was clean and spacious – we particularly liked the artwork. It had a big, modern functional kitchen and the bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower and complimentary toiletries. Bed was a bit small, but this is personal preference. The Wi-Fi was brilliant. Great outside courtyard where you could eat breakfast or have evening drinks. The room could be blacked out with shutters which made for better sleep! Water, tea and coffee making facilities available, as is breakfast in bed! Good price. Towels and linen provided. Room was quiet but on our last day we were woken up very early by construction work in the next building. This will only be temporary.
The apartment is in the perfect location to everything – metro, train station, restaurants, the bridge, main points of interest.
The service was fantastic – really friendly staff that couldn’t do enough for you. You even get a free taste of Port when you check-in. Very reliable and prompt at replying to my email queries about arriving late. I was very impressed with the high standard of service. You can also leave your luggage in reception if you have a late flight. Reception is about 200m around the corner from the main apartment block. Very good value for money. I would recommend these apartments to anyone and would stay here again.
I’d also recommend the ‘free walking tour’ to learn about the history of Porto; Port and Chocolate tasting at Crofts (15 Euros) and a tram ride to Foz (3 Euros each way, 20mins each way). There’s also an excellent vegetarian buffet restaurant 5mins from the apartment – Da Terra.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ground floor had a large outside private courtyard
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from OportoDesignApartm, Gestor at Old City Design Apartments
Responded 31 Oct 2017
Dear Laura H, We kindly thank you for taking some time reviewing your stay with us. We're glad that you found our apartment suitable for your visit to our wonderful city! We hope that you had a pleasant stay! It was a pleasure to meet you. Come back anytime! Warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhattergreen wrote a review Mar 2017
Boston, MA30 contributions14 helpful votes
This room was at a perfect location. The property will need to be maintained soon (e.g., the bathroom) and the wifi was great except for slightly slow on netflix (which is normal, I think). The owners were incredibly friendly. We had a mixup with the location (they have two locations, and we went to the wrong one), but they were very helpful. They also were great in identifying sights to see and wineries to visit.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from nuno c, Gerente at Old City Design Apartments
Responded 4 Mar 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and feedback, which is really important to us. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and we hope that you were able to get to know Porto and all of its magic! As our aim is to constantly improve, we will address the things that you pointed out. You're always welcome. Come back anytime! Warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC