We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at La Vie en Rose B&B Amsterdam Center

Room/Suite (46)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Lol.travel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Room review highlights
The apartment was advertised as a 1 bedroom apartment but is only a small studio with the bed located in an area too small to...
... walk to red light district area. Tram stop right outside. Room:Spacious. Kitchen area has adequate facility for making...
... distance to all sights and very convenient. The one bedroom flat was beautiful and in perfect condition. The owners...
Featured room amenities
Suites
Housekeeping
Hair Dryer
Laundry Service
Soundproof Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Internet
Iron
Kitchenware
Wifi
See all room amenities (18)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
The apartment was advertised as a 1 bedroom apartment but is only a small studio with the bed located in an area too small to accommodate even any bedside tables. The person sleeping closest to the window has to squeeze past the windows and curtains to get in/out of bed. When we expressed our disappointment about this the owner became aggressive and threatened to kick us out.
The apartment is in a very convenient location although on a busy road next door to a youth hostel on one side and a bar on the other.
The décor and overall ambience of the apartment is nice.
The shower had very poor and fluctuating water pressure and temperature and also water did not drain properly.
We were provided with 4 hand towels but only 1 bath towel making it difficult as we were a couple staying for 5 nights.
The toilet is badly stained and constantly drips.
There is no power point in the bathroom.
In the kitchen we were provided with only 1 tea towel, no bowls and 1 wine glass.
Most of the wardrobes are filled with the owners personal items or are locked.
The apartment is hot, stuffy and has no air conditioning and unless you want the apartment filled with smoke from the hostel and bar below, you cannot open the front windows.
There are extremely steep, narrow stairs and entrance.
There is poor sound proofing as we were consistently woken up in the morning by people walking in the apartment above us.
The apartment has poor, inadequate and faulty lighting with the lights constantly flickering and making it impossible to read at night.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Christa H, Eigenaar at La Vie en Rose B&B Amsterdam Center
Responded 26 Oct 2017
Hi there,
We expected you to write this review.
We have never experience such an unhappy person like you in our apartment that would not fit in an apartment of 50 square metres and that can only complain about the fact that there was no separate bed room. We explained that we do have always had a separate bedroom in this apartment but that the bedroom was small and that all our past guests liked sleeping in one part of the large living room so there is more space around the bed. We tried to explain this to you and our website was accurate with the pictures but since you booked almost a year upfront, we had the setting changed a bit more. There are also very large cupboards in the living room where you can store anything you would like but you were already very upset upon check in about the fact that there was no separate bedroom that you did not want to hear anything from us and you were VERY rude and impolite and we did want you to leave rather than to have you stay and act like you did. We offered you to leave as we want our guests to be happy and not force to stay in a place they do not like. We understand why your husband would want a separate bedroom.... We hope your future stays will be everything you expect and hope them to be! Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayed here for 3 nights in November.

Location: Excellent. Approximately 10min walk from centraal station, 15min walk to Ann Frank House, 10 min walk to red light district area. Tram stop right outside.

Room:Spacious. Kitchen area has adequate facility for making breakfat, we made porridge and eggs every morning. Kettle and coffee machine present. Adjorning bedroom area very comfortable. Hairdryer in room. There is a Albert Hein supermarket near by to get supplies.
Only disadvantages are 1) the stairs are from the front door to the apartment are very steep in keeping with most flats in amsterdam. If you have difficultly climbing stairs I would consider staying elsewhere. 2) There is a youth hostel next door, we did hear music during the night on the friday and saturday night

Hosts: Very helpful

We did find it quite cold in the apartment and in amsterdam in general. Bring warm pyjamas for night time!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
My partner and I had a one day layover in Amsterdam and this was the perfect spot - in walking distance to all sights and very convenient. The one bedroom flat was beautiful and in perfect condition. The owners are incredibly helpful and even when we accidentally left a small item in the room they promptly mailed it back to us. A great place to stay and one we will book again for sure in the future.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
My wife and I recently stayed at La Vie en Rose. The owners Christa and yvon where very friendly and welcoming and greeted us with a glass of wine upon our arrival. They gave us plenty of tips on places of interest and where to dine.
The accommodation was comfortable, clean, tidy and extremely well presented.
The bedroom and bathroom are a tad compact, but then when you're visiting Amsterdam you don't need a big bedroom and bathroom! We would definitely stay again ☺
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apartment is lovely, great location and plenty of space within the apartment. I sent my partner to collect the keys from the owners on the first day they let my partner know about a joiner coming to fix a door the next day, which was fine. At this point she stated the house rules and was very strict on smoking policy, again fine and understandable. She made my partner aware also that while cooking we had to turn on the extractor fan and open the window, again fine we did as we were told.

On the day the man had to come to fix the door in the dining room the owner let the man in but as he was working she came to our bedroom door knocking persistently as well as coming into the room continuing to try and wake me up by saying "hello" over and over. Once awoken all she did was introduce herself and say ill see you later. No urgent reason or any need for her to wake me and I felt this was an invasion of privacy and did not feel comfortable from my first morning,

At the few points over the 3 nights i was there I was cooking dinner on the hob provided, and i also done as she said and turned the extractor fan on and opened the window. Each time either during cooking the meal or once we had sat down to eat, the owner again would barge in or knock first to ask if we were cooking. Again, another invasion of our privacy while trying to have a meal in peace!!

On the last day I was making lunch and again she barged in, this time to have a word with us. She said we made her feel unsafe because we left lights on one night. She also complained of the "explosion" created in the apartment, the "explosion" she was referring to was our suitcases sitting open on the floor and a packet of crisps left open beside our bed on the floor (there is no bedside table so your stuff has to sit on the floor) Another reason for this "explosion" was the cannabis sitting on the table neatly in bags which we left on the table to go to sleep.

Definetly will not be using this apartment again simply because of the owner. Apartment was great as well!! not worth having no privacy!!!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Christa H, Eigenaar at La Vie en Rose B&B Amsterdam Center
Responded 9 Dec 2015
Dear guests, it is a bit strange to get this review after your stay as we do not understand why you picked our apartment for your stay. We have a strict non smoking and drugs policy and we were only in the apartment, after making an appointment with your partner. We did not meet you at all before the second day as you had missed your flight and you only arrived the second day. We came to your apartment on the Thursday, for the first time at appointment. It was 3.30 in the afternoon and we knocked your door before entering. We didnt get a sign but you knew we were coming so we entered the apartment with the mechanic who was going to fix the door in the dining room, as promised. When we entered the apartment I was in shock of the mess we found. All the curtains were shut and there was food, empty bottles and drugs laying all over the apartment floor and clothes all over the floor It looked like there had been an explosion
. In front of the bedroom door (outside the bedroom) there was a bag of peanuts, open, and the peanuts were all over the floor.... I got worried as the place looked like a junk hole. Than our mechanic was doing his repair and I cleaned the place a bit...I know I didnt have to but I could not help myself. Than, when I opened the bedroom door I was even more in shock, you were both in the bed and appearantly in a coma as you did not hear us knocking and did not hear us at all and we were even more worried as you used drugs and were not responding to anything and even at this late afternoon. I warned my partner christa that you were in the bedroom and that you did not repond to anything. This was the first time we met you, after you checked in as you came a day late after missing the flight to get to Amsterdam to be with your partner. Christa woke you up and after a lot of time she managed to do so and we than understood that you really came to amsterdam to use drugs and crash. We explained once more our policy and safety regulations and we are very strict on it. Since we did not see you upon check in we needed to be sure you understood this too. We never invade our guests privacy and we knocked your door a few times but never barged in. We wanted to ask you to leave and stay elsewhere where you could smoke and use drugss and we are glad to hear you would not be staying again as we would not have let you stay here again. Safety is the main concern here and once more, we really do not have a clue why you had booked us in the first place as we are very clear about our no drugs and no smoking policy. We are glad to hear that you at least liked the apartment but we would have be glad if you would have respected it a bit more. We hope that you willl find another place to stay for your next visit. Best of luck to both of you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous