We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Mercure Birmingham West Hotel

Room/Suite (46)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
AccorHotels.com
US$ 55
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$ 55
View Deal
Trip.com
US$ 98
US$ 50
View Deal
SAVE US$ 48
TravelocityUS$ 55
Orbitz.comUS$ 55
Otel.comUS$ 98
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
Stayed in room 344 Firstly, the positives: lovely staff, very comfy bed, newly decorated and furnished room, spinach and...
... driving south from Yorkshire. Two nights in a smart and tidy room with access to a gym and swimming pool proved perfect with a...
... Michael who works the bar very nice person and funny, the room was just the right size and very clean thanks for a great...
Featured room amenities
Room service
Tea coffee & milk wasnt topped up and room service food clap cold.
Housekeeping
... danielle, michael, the reception staff are welcoming inclusive of gerry, delan, the housekeeping is exemplary thanks to aina.
Desk
Upon arrival the lady on the desk was fab, welcoming and hdlpful.
See all room amenities (28)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
+1
Stayed in room 344
Firstly, the positives: lovely staff, very comfy bed, newly decorated and furnished room, spinach and ricotta ravioli was delicious, breakfast was nice.
Secondly, not the best but could have got over: key was temperamental, carpet to thick so door doesn't open easily, pizza was too greasy and had to be sent back because it felt wet.
Finally, inadequate: charged full price for facilities that were halved. Restaurants, steam room, sauna, half the building closed for refurbishment. Building smelt of fresh paint which made me sickly after the first day. Building had no heating so was freezing, had to eat dinner in the bar with my coat and scarf on. Room was freezing with one electric heater that was on continuously for my 2 night stay and the room was never warm. Drilling above me until 10pm, when I rang down (from my mobile as no room phone) rang out for 10 mins with no answer. When complained about this the next morning I was left a drinks voucher and fruit platter in my room on my return from event. Fruit platter left all day in room, which was like a fridge so should have been fine, however left directly above the electric heater (the only place that would have actually been warm).
Finally complained via twitter and website on the day of checkout with no acknowledgment, sent another complaint the next days, again via twitter and website and still no response.
I think when the hotel is complete it will be lovely but I find it shocking you can charge full price without even informing the customer of these major disruptions. Especially when it was booked as a relaxing weekend that turned out to be anything but.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I've long wanted to experience what was the old Moathouse Hotel close to my football shrine of choice, the Hawthorns and recently took the plunge with a two night stay either side of a Baggies home match after driving south from Yorkshire. Two nights in a smart and tidy room with access to a gym and swimming pool proved perfect with a jaccuzi to soothe off the mild disappointment of a WBA draw. The staff were friendly, the venue needs a wee bit of work, the room service menu was massively overpriced (always the case but a wee bit of rampant profiteering going on here!) but this is a great place to stay overall and outstanding value compared to what you might get with Travelodge or Premier. Very accessible for Birmingham, the Baggies and the tortoise's crawlway that currently passes as the M5! I will be staying here again...but next time make it an Albion win!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Love this hotel the food was good and breakfast was lovely, no rip off prices at the bar Michael who works the bar very nice person and funny, the room was just the right size and very clean thanks for a great stay would definitely recommend.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Jason M, General Manager at Mercure Birmingham West Hotel
Responded 23 Sep 2019
Dear fazman69

Thank you for your review and feedback, it is very much appreciated. Very pleased to see you had such an enjoyable experience throughout your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

kindest regards
Jason Morgan
General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I have stayed in this hotel before and loved it so was excited to stay here again. On this visit my daughter was using a wheelchair and I found the ramp very hard to use as the ground was uneven and it was very steep,if your on your own in a chair you would need help getting up it.

The staff are amazing so friendly and happy to help if you need it. It was my daughter's birthday and they made her feel very special. We did have a birthday banner on the door but this was stolen and never replaced.

It looks as though some parts of the hotel are getting a revamp and the room that we stayed in was very spacious and very nicely decorated. There was ample room to get the wheel chair in and when my daughter was using her crutches she was able to move freely.

The food was amazing I have no complaints at all.

Only real complaint I have was the noise from other guest. The room next to ours was up all night being loud, slamming doors and shouting in the corridors. There was also loud music playing but I'm not sure where from. Sadly it meant I didn't get a full nights sleep.I didn't report this at the time but wishing I did now. It hasn't put me off using the hotel but I think it's an issue that does need to be addressed.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Jason M, General Manager at Mercure Birmingham West Hotel
Responded 19 Sep 2019
Dear ZSH84

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay despite the noise issue you encountered with a neighboring guest. We would certainly of intervened if reported to us and will certainly address the unevenness you mention at the entrance area. The hotel is indeed undergoing a revamp. All 168 rooms will have been completed by mid November and all public areas as well by the same time and do hope you return soon to experience the fantastic changes being made.

Kindest Regards
Jason Morgan
General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
+1
Great value, mid way through refurb hotel near West Bromwich.Stayed one night with a friend,met by the fabulous Yvonne on arrival, upgraded and treated like royalty.Yvonne helped us throughout our stay and is a credit to the hotel.
Almost all refurbished and it's looking great.We were lucky to have a refurbished room,beds extremely comfortable,decor very tasteful. Breakfast delicious and well stocked.
Spa facilities.
Only negative is that the spa facilities were minimal-no working jacuzzi,sauna nor steam room as they were out of action. Also,as we were 2 women using the pool,we felt uncomfortable with a group of older men huddled one end of the pool,not swimming but just looking.Not hotel guests it appeared;health club users perhaps?. We didn't enjoy this part of the stay/spa and waited for then to leave before we swam freely.
Overall a great place for business or pleasure, located a few mins from West Bromwich centre. Postcode incorrect on website however so call hotel for correct one!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Jason M, General Manager at Mercure Birmingham West Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2019
Thank you Racharz for your feedback following your stay this weekend. Pleased to see you enjoyed one of our newly refurbished bedrooms and found it to be extremely comfortable in addition to the great service you received from our team member.

We will certainly review your comments regarding your experience within the leisure club and apologise that some of the facilities were unavailable this weekend during your stay we will address these areas of concern immediately and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

kindest regards
Jason Morgan
General Manager

Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous