We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Room/Suite (24)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Room review highlights
... guests. I was thinking what if I was changing in the living room and a male is standing infront of me. This was a major...
... during our stay was perfectly friendly and professional. The room was exactly as per the photos; clean, bright and welcoming....
... at night and fresh coffee given to us for the mornings. The room is set in the most beautifully maintained hinterland gardens...
Featured room amenities
Suites
Kitchenette
Refrigerator in room
Internet
Air conditioning
Wifi
Microwave

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Let me first start with the positives

- Luxurious balinese style decor
- Plunge Pool
- Open Living Space
- Two bathrooms

Negatives
- The owners are way too intense for my liking. For example, the owners came into our property at 6.30pm without a confirmation from us that we were okay with this and was against the french door in the kitchen area, which took us by surprise. I was honestly very concerned about this, because I thought this was instrusive to enter a property without consent of the guests. I was thinking what if I was changing in the living room and a male is standing infront of me. This was a major concern for me. Some people might view this as friendly, but it certainly didn't to me because I felt someone was always watching us.
- Their glassware is from ikea and are easily breakable. We popped them into a dishwasher, and two of them broke. Just something to keep in mind for any future guests, is to handwash these as we were charged a $100 cleaning fee for this, which I thought was very harsh.

Would I stay here again, no because I prefer owners who are more relaxed and they have too many rules.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Jonathan H, Owner at Sanctuary in The Pocket
Responded 30 Sep 2019
Hi Praveena,
Thank you very much for providing your feedback.
I will answer your concerns one by one.
1. We were away at a Wedding when you arrived and organised with our neighbour to welcome you.
She advised you at that time that we would drop in at 6.30 to show you how the spa worked and the control 4 electronic equipment. We also sent you a text message prior to coming over.
2. The Glassware, we were unconcerned that you broke two glasses and did not charge you for this.
We have guidelines for guests that stay with us which we forward them prior to their stay in the interests of themselves and any others on the property.
You confirmed your compliance with these 2 months prior to your stay.
Unfortunately, you decided to bring additional people to stay overnight at the property without notifying us of this and also denying this when asked.
This may appear to be a small thing from your perspective, however it is
a) dishonest,
b) deny’s us income in what is our livelihood, through deception
c) Puts us in breach of the regulations we are required to adhere to in the provision of a safe accommodation environment.
As I explained in the email I sent you post the stay, the additional charge incurred, was for the additional guest who stayed and the additional cleaning that was required.
Thank you for your text post your stay to my wife advising that you all had a great time and would like to return in the future.
I will also being contacting Luxury Escapes, who you booked through to advise them of this situation.
As I said in my email, we were very disappointed in your behaviour and now more so that you have taken this up in a review without providing the full perspective.
Regards
Jonathan

Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
My partner and I enjoyed our 2 year anniversary at Sanctuary in the Pocket. The care & communication provided by the host before and during our stay was perfectly friendly and professional. The room was exactly as per the photos; clean, bright and welcoming. We had a wonderful time walking around the beautiful property, snuggled up by the fire at night, and venturing out into Mullumbimby by day. The host recommended we try "The Flock" cafe which was an absolute highlight of our trip - we will be coming back just for this place! Definitely recommend to other couples or families.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Jonathan H, Owner at Sanctuary in The Pocket
Responded 4 Sep 2019
Thank you, we're both so happy you enjoyed your stay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The most tranquil and beautiful place to stay. We are a group 2 adults 2 young children. Sadly we only had one weekend there, a log fire to keep us walk at night and fresh coffee given to us for the mornings. The room is set in the most beautifully maintained hinterland gardens that the children played in. Everything is so picturesque and well maintained. The wonders live on site and are extremely helpful and friendly too.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Jonathan H, Owner at Sanctuary in The Pocket
Responded 4 Sep 2019
Thanks Hannah, it was lovely to have you all stay, and so happy you all enjoyed the Pocket
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC