We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Premier Inn London Chingford Hotel

Room/Suite (4)
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PremierInn.com
US$ 64
View Deal
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... was pretty poor. Bed kept moving when you rolled over. Our room was placed near the stairs and you could everything that...
... Premier Inn hotels because we know we will have a decent room and comfy beds at a family-friendly price. In addition to...
We had a spacious room for our party of 2 children and 2 adults. The fold-up bed was extremely uncomfortable, but the hotel...
Featured room amenities
Iron
The staff were faultless and so friendly, I asked for an iron and a young lady half my size insisted on bringing it to me even...
Wifi
... pressure in the shower was a little lacking, and the free wifi signal was almost unusably weak - which led us to hesitate in...
Hair Dryer
Internet
Wheelchair Access
Accessible rooms
See all room amenities (9)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
The overall night was pretty poor. Bed kept moving when you rolled over. Our room was placed near the stairs and you could everything that went on, people who walked past. The room temperature was awful, when we checked in it was freezing, we put the heating on that you have access to in the room and it blew out cold air. My partner and I were freezing the whole night. Every time I went down to talk to the staff, there was no staff at the desk considering it’s meant to be 24 hours service. The staff have been quite dismissive and blunt, no service with a smile, and clearly all were having terrible days due to their poor mood. The dinner was average pub grub, nothing to report apart from my partner was very happy with it even though, I purchased the chicken tikka and the rice was cold and hard, stuck together and we ordered sides which didn’t come with the meal, and I had to ask for them, no check backs either. Staff on that evening were quite rude too. The breakfast was good, very nice, better breakfast than we’ve had at other premier inns. However earlier that morning around 9am we had the fire alarm activated which went off in our room, for 10 minutes, my partner went down to ask what was happening and they said it was because of the kitchen. Good job we was already up and awake. Wouldn’t recommend Chingford!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
We chose Premier Inn hotels because we know we will have a decent room and comfy beds at a family-friendly price.
In addition to this, the Premier Inn Chingford can add a wonderful staff team who go above and beyond to make your stay memorable.
When we arrived, later than we'd hoped in the dark, we couldn't find the disabled parking spaces. The duty manager put on her coat and helped us search in the cold November drizzle for a space.
And when the team heard it was our son's 4th birthday, they bought and delivered a card to our room with sweets inside! He was thrilled!
If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay with the family for London, with a great restaurant attached, you should definitely consider this hotel. The team make it a brilliant place to stay. We will definitely return!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
We had a spacious room for our party of 2 children and 2 adults. The fold-up bed was extremely uncomfortable, but the hotel supplied a duvet to put on top of the mattress, which solved the problem.The only other minor downside was no decaf tea or coffee in the room, and a rather mean allocation of the tea and coffee available in the room. Overall, it was a great stay, with very friendly and helpful staff, a good breakfast, clean room, and lovely location next to the forest.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Very poor standard throughout the bar restaurant and room .
There is no fresh air therefore my room smelt of feet
The skirting boards were thick with dust
Very shabby. Carpets worn out and flooring dirty
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from WhitbreadHotels, Guest Relation at Premier Inn London Chingford Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello there, thanks for taking the time to review our London Chingford hotel. I'm very sorry to hear of the issues you had with cleanliness in your room and service in the restaurant. I can imagine this left you feeling very let down and this certainly isn't how we want our guests to feel.

With issues such as these, we'd always encourage speaking with a member of staff as this would give them the chance to put things right and will hopefully help improve your experience. However, we can appreciate this isn't always possible so thanks for bringing it to our attention.

Just so you know, I've now passed your comments to the hotels management team so they can look in to what improvements can be made going forward. We wouldn't want issues like these to continue so retraining for the House Keeping team will most likely be looked in to to ensure the best service is being provided.

We hope this doesn't make you think twice about staying with us again so please have confidence this isn't our usual standard and your comments will be picked up. If you'd like to discuss this further, please do so with our Guest Relations team who you can reach by calling 0333 003 0025 (option 1).

Thanks for bringing this to our attention and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Ricky
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No USB facility to charge devices, room smelt like a musky damp smell when we walked in, no phone to Call reception and no fire instructions, incase of an emergency, it was very basic, with just one coffee and tea sachet each, not use to hotels like this but may be just premier Inn, we will not be staying again. But breakfast was nice, options were fine
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous