- Traveller favouritesThings to do ranked using Tripadvisor data including reviews, ratings, photos, and popularity.
- Traveller rankingHighest rated attractions on Tripadvisor, based on traveller reviews.
Types of Attractions
Sights & Landmarks
Sights & Landmarks
6 places sorted by traveller favourites
Things to do ranked using Tripadvisor data including reviews, ratings, photos, and popularity.
What travellers are saying
- Women are not allowed to visit this temple in the daytime and may only enter after the evening Poojas . It’s a beautiful ancient temple, with the architecture reminding one of the Angkor Vat. Beautiful Lotus pond outside and the legends associated with it make it a must visit place on your itineraryWritten 27 January 2020This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
- The temple was formally a Vishnu/Krishna Temple, dating back some 1500 years. The temple after Amma's Prathishta (giving sacred power to the idol of Annapoorneshwari) was built by Avittam thirunal Raja Raja Varma of Chirakkal Kovilakam. In Hindu mythology, it is said that the goddess arrived from Kashi with two other goddesses or devis ( Kalarivathikal Amma and Madai Kavail Amma) and a boatman in a golden ship, and disembarked at Azhi Theeram which is now known as Aayiram Thengu.
The Punna Prathistha was done in 1994, in the month of Kumbham in the Malayalam calendar, Pooyam Nakshtram, which now is observed as the Prathista Dinam every year.
The main festivities in the Temple start from the Malayalam month of Medam Shankramam (15 April), and is celebrated in the following seven days. The other festivals that are celebrated in the temple are Shiva Rathri, Navami, Ekadashi etc.
The temple is presently under the Malabar Devasom Board, and is maintained by the Temple Committee. A unique characteristic of this temple is that it is built of one single type of rock, and the Sree Kovil of both Annapoorneshwari and Krishnan is of the same size as per Vasthu, signifying that both the goddess and the god are given equal importance. The Entrance of the temple is in front of Krishnan's Sree Kovil, and the reason there isn't a direct entrance to Annapoorneshwari's Sree Kovil is because during the olden days, it was believed that women from Brahmin families aren't supposed to be seen directly (Antharjanam). Hence there is a small window that is right in front of the Sree Kovil so that people can view the idol from outside.
This temple is one among the two Annapoorneshwari temples in Kerala. It was built using polished stones and put together using avil and belam (a mixture of flattened rice and jaggery). Next to the Temple is the Temple pond or the Ambala Kolam, which is approximately 2.5 acres in area. In the centre is the Pole, otherwise known as the stumpa. The four major entrances of the Chera have been built using large layers of rock laid parallel to each other. The Chera also has a Kollapura (used by poojaris for bathing), located to the southwest of the Chera.Written 27 December 2019This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
- This is one of the best place to view Sunset .
One can also visit Light house that is located next to this place.Written 14 June 2019This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
- This is a must go place for a history and folklore student . there are lots of North Malabar's traditional Art form of Theyyam models .Written 15 January 2019This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
- Holy Trinity Cathedral is located in Burnassery (the anglicized version is Burnshire), previously addressed as Kannur Cantonment/Cannanore Cantonment during the days of the British. Even before the English, it had remained a military camp of the Portuguese and the Dutch, and is presently the headquarters of the Defence Security Corps of India. The Cathedral is about 3 Km from the Kannur Railway Station by road and can easily be accessed by car/auto-rickshaw/local bus.
The present church is the renovated one during 2010 in a Roman-Gothic style of architecture, adding beauty to the original historic monument.
According to history, the Portuguese traders could not get along with the Zamorins of Calicut and hence moved to Kannur, where they were received by the Kolathiri king of Kannur and were permitted to build the first Chapel in 1501 A.D. by a team of four Franciscan Missionaries in the site where the Cathedral stands now. This ancient Roman Catholic Holy Trinity Cathedral, thus, gathers its fame as one of the oldest Catholic Churches of Kerala having this great historical significance. The establishment of the Chapel has also been instrumental to the missionary activities of North Malabar.
When the Catholic Missions of South Canara and Malabar regions were handed over to the Jesuits of the Venice Province in 1878, the mission involvement of the area took a new turn. On 12th June 1923, again some parts of Malabar, which belonged to the Diocese of Mangalore were separated and a new Diocese of Calicut was established. On 5th November 1998, Saint Pope John Paul II created the present Diocese of Kannur, bifurcating it from the original Diocese of Calicut. Most Rev. Dr Varghese Chakkalakal, who was then a professor at St. Joseph's Seminary, Mangalore, and a priest of the Diocese of Calicut, was consecrated as the first Bishop of Kannur on 7th February 1999, who took charge of the Diocese on 8th February 1999. Consequent to his transfer on June 15, 2012 to the Roman Catholic Diocese of Calicut, Most Rev. Dr Alex Joseph Vadakumthala is appointed as the present Bishop on 1st February 2014 and was consecrated on March 23rd as the administrator of the Diocese of Kannur.
The Church is close to the coast in the neighbourhood of the Defence Security Corps, Baby Beach and the Kannur Lighthouse. The interior of the church is very appealing, adorned with stained glass carrying the portraits of descriptions in the Bible. Just below the alter is an Adoration Chapel that can be reached using the steps in front of the alter. The Stations of the Cross are erected in the sprawling vacant area in front of the Church.
In the belfry at the back of the church, 5 bells brought from Novara of Italy in 1912, have been reinstalled and recently automated using ‘Automatic Church Bell Ringer’ with ‘Ave Maria’ and ‘Jingle bells’ melodies. Each of the five bells are connected to separate Pulsator units that are regulated by a control unit.Written 1 April 2019This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
- Mauvadi vayal is a less known migratory bird watching point situated amidst the green fields of kalliassery. It is unique. A bird watcher/ nature lover will love this place. There are numerous birds seen in the early morning & evening hours. December is the time of arrival of migratory birds.Written 10 January 2020This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.