We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cloof Wine Estate

Closed: Closed
Open today: Closed
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Great food and service

We loved our wine tasting and lunch. The chicken pie and burger with blue cheese was amazing and... read more

Reviewed 27 March 2017
ClemD2014
,
Cape Town Central, South Africa
via mobile
Lovely warm tasting room, friendly staff

Was welcomed to a lovely warm and well laid out tasting room. Lovely decor and friendly staff. Wine... read more

Reviewed 21 June 2018
michaelporter1907
,
Cape Town, South Africa
Read all 42 reviews
18
All photos (18)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“chicken pie”(3 reviews)
“the main road”(2 reviews)
About
Closed
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
20°
10°
Oct
21°
12°
Nov
23°
13°
Dec
Contact
Off of the R315 - Darling - Malmesbury Rd, Darling 7345, South Africa
Website
+27 22 492 2839
Call
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
17
12
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
17
12
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken pie bottle of wine the main road winery wines cases tasting
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Was welcomed to a lovely warm and well laid out tasting room. Lovely decor and friendly staff. Wine is well priced. A true gem in the hill side. The Sexy Shiraz was easy drinking wine and the gift pack was well worth the price

Thank michaelporter1907
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Poor service. Poor knowledge of wines. Disappointing portions. No atmosphere. Wines are generally good.More

Thank Brian R
Cloof, Marketing at Cloof Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Good Morning Brian, Thank you for your comments and for visiting Cloof Wine Estate. We have been undergoing a handful of changes within the tasting room specifically over the last few weeks and have actually completed an entirely new look and feel, including brand new...More

Reviewed 7 January 2018

Staff not friendly here at all, we had to stand to do wine tasting, they do not sell any food there as the restaurant closed down. Will definitely not go there againMore

1  Thank rochellew55
Cloof, Marketing at Cloof Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Good Morning Rochelle, Thank you for your comments and for visiting Cloof Wine Estate. As I am sure you are aware I had sent you a private reply, however I did want to also comment here. We have been undergoing a handful of changes within...More

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

What a pleasure .It s a bit off the main road but easy to find. Had a very relaxing bottle of wine with a most fabulous tray of cheeses and snack foods Great service. Make a point of visiting if you are in that part...More

Thank Snakedrvr
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Cloof has great wines but their wine tasting experience does not live up to expectations. We visited in winter and the wine tasting area was freezing cold and not very welcoming. We found the tasting to be very pricey , and even though we bought...More

Thank RobCCapeTown
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We loved our wine tasting and lunch. The chicken pie and burger with blue cheese was amazing and great value. The wines were super tasty too. Great job!

1  Thank ClemD2014
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Cloof is one of the few wine farms where you can go back to time and time again and not be disappointed with the wines. They have two tasting menus and we chose the second option of their most widely known wines: the Very Sexy...More

Thank Julian H
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We did a four wine tasting at Cloof, consisting of 3 reds, 1 white. The standout of the bunch was the "Super Sexy Shiraz", which by looking at the walls has won numerous awards. The others were nice but didn't stand up to the Shiraz....More

Thank Rob N
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We visited Cloof on a Tuesday, which is not a very busy day and we booked ahead of time for lunch. We sat outside on the lawn, overlooking the valley and it is simply beautiful. It was just the two of us and another group...More

Thank Josefijozi
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Even though we arrived on one of their quietest days, the staff were attentive and knowledgeable and eager. I'm very happy to have stopped here as we didn't have much time. Thanks guys

Thank BruxismRobbo
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Ganzekraal Holiday Resort
2 reviews
17.32 km away
The Gregorian on the Sea
29 reviews
38.97 km away
Atlantic Beach Hotel
68 reviews
39.54 km away
The Farmhouse Hotel
396 reviews
44.03 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 17 nearby restaurants
Marmalade Cat
199 reviews
.08 km away
Chicory Cheese Cafe
90 reviews
.14 km away
The Flying Pig eXpress
39 reviews
.18 km away
Bistro on 7
107 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 13 nearby attractions
Darling Brew
178 reviews
1.02 km away
Darling Sweet
58 reviews
.16 km away
Darling Museum
58 reviews
.45 km away
Evita se Perron
122 reviews
.27 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cloof Wine Estate staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines