We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Okarito Kiwi Tours

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 53 The Strand, Okarito, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-753 4330
Website
Description:

Muliple Award Winners Okarito Kiwi Tours takes you deep into kiwi habitat...

Muliple Award Winners Okarito Kiwi Tours takes you deep into kiwi habitat looking for one of the rarest birds in the world.We are the only licenced operators on the South Island of New Zealand.We give you an impressive 98% chance of seeing a kiwi in the wild.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 83 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 70
    Excellent
  • 6
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Wild Kiwi Tour Okarito

Great tour and guides came within only a few feet of a Kiwi didn't quite see one. Oh and if your FILLING your CAR up go to Wateroa just above Okarito much cheaper than fox and... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
Dean M
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Great tour and guides came within only a few feet of a Kiwi didn't quite see one. Oh and if your FILLING your CAR up go to Wateroa just above Okarito much cheaper than fox and Franz. Spread the world

Helpful?
Thank Dean M
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was in a tour group and only heard about this a few days before I booked it. I was so glad that I did it. Our guide was very informative about Kiwis and the local wildlife. Because it was raining HE was happy to refund the money if we didn't see any kiwi. He made every effort to find... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeorgeFoord123
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We had an exceptional experience on our Kiwi Tour with Ian..... The main purpose of the trip is obviously to find Kiwis but for me what really added to the trip was to experience the call of owls in the bush and just spending time looking at the stars..!! We did see 2 Kiwis which was really a highlight!!! Definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liezel D
OkaritoIan, Owner at Okarito Kiwi Tours, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. It was a nice Valentines night trip. It was great to get the calls before we saw Joeline then Fancy hot on her heels ! More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were only in Okarito because of re-routing due to the earthquake We were out for about 3 hours with our guide. After our briefing and 'stealth, training we set off into the bush. What a great experience. After a couple of hours we started hearing Kiwi calls and then out of the blue 2 Kiwi appeared. we were told... More 

Helpful?
Thank jerrycr2017
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Knowledgable tour leader, interesting, and fortunately a kiwi up very close - but no guarantees and come prepared for long night. (based on feedback from my girls when they returned buzzing around midnight)

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
OkaritoIan, Owner at Okarito Kiwi Tours, responded to this review

Hi, I was pretty disappointed to receive a review from such a stunning night and only receive 4/5 stars ! This review was also from somebody who didn't come on the tour ! Ian Okarito Kiwi Tours More 

Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

During our 3 weeks in South Island we saw many amazing things but hearing and then seeing an Okarito Kiwi at first hand in the wild was almost certainly the most memorable. On reflection I think the key thing you get from the Okarito Kiwi Tour is a connection with the forest at night, something which for most visitors is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charles W
OkaritoIan, Owner at Okarito Kiwi Tours, responded to this review

Charles, thanks for a great descriptive review. Toby described that trip and it sounded awesome. It takes special people coming out with us to make it happen. When you get a night like you experienced it shows up that all the hard work and effort pays off. The Kiwi is the winner, the trip gives you a better understanding of... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

The Kiwi tour with Ian was one of our highlights during 6 weeks vacation in New Zealand and we will remember it forever. And yes, we saw a Kiwi - just for 10 seconds - but anyway it was more about the whole evening and night experience than only about this short moment of luck of seeing one of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dirk K
OkaritoIan, Owner at Okarito Kiwi Tours, responded to this review

Hi Dirk. You are correct in everything you say....including the last bit ;o) More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

If you want an opportunity to see an endangered bird in its natural habitat, this is the tour to do. Ian and Toby (the other tour guide) are both very passionate about protecting the kiwi and making sure people are educated about them, as well as delivering a memorable experience. Be warned - bring patience! Ian warns you beforehand, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank leecsw
OkaritoIan, Owner at Okarito Kiwi Tours, responded to this review

Great Honest Review......Patience Patience and Patience is required for the 'Real Deal' wildlife experience. Well done on achieving the almost impossible ! More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016

Must go if you want the experience to see a wild kiwi in the forest! Do ensure you have a proper dinner before the tour as it will end about 10pm. You are not allowed to wear clothes that make noise when you walk (you will get a clothing inspection before the tour starts). No phones and camera allows. Depend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trumpboyer86
OkaritoIan, Owner at Okarito Kiwi Tours, responded to this review

Thanks for spending the time to write a review. Great effort and well done. We enjoy what we do, it never gets boring and its always nice to dust a little passion onto others ! More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

I absolutely loved my experience in Okarito. Ian is so passionate about conservation and the tour was informative and memorable. Cannot recommend it more highly.

Helpful?
Thank chelseaanne
OkaritoIan, Owner at Okarito Kiwi Tours, responded to this review

Chelsea....Short Sharp Compact Clear Review......Most importantly...Correct ! More 

Travellers who viewed Okarito Kiwi Tours also viewed

Okarito, West Coast Region
Okarito, West Coast Region
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Okarito Kiwi Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Okarito Kiwi Tours and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Okarito Kiwi Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?