We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Goodnestone Park

Goodnestone CT3 1PL, England
+44 1304 840107
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Very Pleasant Garden, a bit more TLC needed

My sister and I visited on a gorgeous sunny day and arrived as they opened up for the day. Very... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
kentishbelle2016
,
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Afternoon walk with tea

Went for a walk and to see the gardens. Had lunch first in the Tea Room. Quaint Tea Room where you... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Rodkoi
,
Arundel, United Kingdom
Read all 63 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good25%
  • Average17%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Goodnestone CT3 1PL, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1304 840107
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

My sister and I visited on a gorgeous sunny day and arrived as they opened up for the day. Very quiet, which we liked, a lovely walk through all areas, not as big as I thought it would be. Some areas could have been made...More

Thank kentishbelle2016
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for a walk and to see the gardens. Had lunch first in the Tea Room. Quaint Tea Room where you had to put your own milk in the cup at the counter and help yourself to salad with what you ordered. We had avocado...More

Thank Rodkoi
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments and for recommending the gardens, we really appreciate your feedback!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointed as had seen it advertised as “the prettiest garden in Kent”, I have only seen a few gardens while on holiday in Kent but this certainly is not the prettiest. It’s ok, nice walled garden, large trees and shrubs etc but very few flowers...More

Thank LesGUk
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments. We are saddened to hear about your experience here at Goodnestone. We didn't make the claim to be 'the prettiest garden in Kent' but the gardens featured under this headline in an article written by a journalist. Unfortunately a bad...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for a garden to visit. We had only 3 hours to spent before taking the train to the continent. This garden is OK. A nice estate, unfortunatly we could'nt walk around as it was let. The walled garden is worthwhile a visit....More

Thank Xavier G
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and are glad you chose to visit Goodnestone before your train journey. The area immediately around the house is closed when the house is occupied, and this is reflected in the admission price, but hopefully the...More

Reviewed 19 July 2017

The walled garden was lovely and then hydrangeas in the woodland garden were impressive, but the rest of the garden was pretty basic and needing work in places. Many of the vegetables were left to go past their picking date! Too many weeds in areas...More

Thank margaretelizabet2017
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that some aspects of your visit were disappointing and have taken your comments on board.

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Given the hype, we had rather big expectations of the garden. Entry charges are expensive which would be OK if the gardens were well maintained. Sadly, they are not. The Gravel Garden is mainly grasses. Don't expect a Beth Chatto-type experience. The Arboretum is overgrown...More

Thank EsmeraldaYorkshire
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for your disappointment and have taken everything you have said on board, and are always trying to make improvements.

Reviewed 15 July 2017

Terrible signage finding the place ! The house was in use for a function so no access to its grounds! ( A small discount was given because of this) The walled garden was quite nice and enjoyable. The woodland pond was drained and in a...More

Thank Peter F
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback; we are glad you enjoyed the walled garden and are sorry that some aspects of your visit were disappointing. We take our visitors' comments very seriously and are always trying to make improvements.

Reviewed 25 June 2017

The walled garden is lovely but ring first to check the house isn't being hired out for a wedding because you won't get anywhere near it if it is so I was very disappointed not to see the house and this was on a Thursday...More

Thank Val S
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback; our new website has been updated to let visitors know that the gardens immediately around the house will be closed when it is occupied and admissions prices are reduced accordingly. The whole garden covers 15 acres so we hope you...More

Reviewed 25 June 2017

There is more to this place than the garden - the setting is for me one of the attractions. The village is a classically beautiful English location, with stunning houses and unusual church. The tower of the church forms a fabulous backdrop to the main...More

Thank Wary1
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, they are really appreciated.

Reviewed 10 June 2017

We first visited this garden several years ago and compared to then it now needs a bit of TLC although there is some work going on at the moment in the walled gardens, Some of the garden was not accessable and roped off as the...More

Thank alang684
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments, we welcome feedback from our visitors. Our new website has been updated to make it clearer that there will be some occasions when the gardens immediately around the house will be closed, and admission prices reduced accordingly. Your kind words...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Fitzwalter Arms
104 reviews
.34 km away
The Griffin's Head Restaurant
115 reviews
2.04 km away
The Royal Oak Village Pub & Kitchen
134 reviews
2.44 km away
The Black Pig
170 reviews
3.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Barnsole Vineyard
34 reviews
3.63 km away
Wingham Wildlife Park
1,328 reviews
4.11 km away
Tor Spa Retreat
80 reviews
5.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Goodnestone Park staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit