We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool

Queen Elizabeth Park, Stonehaven AB39 2RD, Scotland
+44 1569 762134
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Always fun!

Love my annual visit here! Visited on a Monday afternoon just before it closed for the season so... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
LizD_ABZ
,
Aberdeen
via mobile
Such a fun!!!!!! And then not!!!!

We found this place and decided it was a great idea to swim,it was very cheap and it was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
AriPadilla
Read all 203 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Huge, Olympic-size open air swimming pool and lido with clean sea water heated to 29°C (85°F). Open daily 27 May - 3 Sept 2017. Quiet swims for adults, inflatables sessions for kids, toddlers' paddling pool, midnight swims in peak season (1 July - 21 Aug inc 2017). Chute (swimmers only) open daily. Sheltered sun terraces, on-site cafe, ample free parking. Day tickets valid all day! 2017 prices: Adult £5.40, child/senior/student with ID/spectator £3.30, family £14.65. Midnight swims £7.10/£4.85/£18.40. Family 2+2 or 1+3. 12-session & season tickets also available.
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good24%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“salt water” (26 reviews)
“sea water” (31 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Queen Elizabeth Park, Stonehaven AB39 2RD, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1569 762134
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love my annual visit here! Visited on a Monday afternoon just before it closed for the season so wasn't too busy as kids back at school. Everyone very friendly.

Thank LizD_ABZ
Reviewed 1 week ago

We found this place and decided it was a great idea to swim,it was very cheap and it was heated.When we got there we got in the pool and it was heated although not hot just warm the salt water was kind of a problem...More

Thank AriPadilla
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're so glad you enjoyed your experience at the Pool but, er, we would suggest the water is not for drinking! Even swallowing the chlorinated fresh water in an indoor pool, or the salt water in the sea anywhere would upset anyone's stomach. Certainly, we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just wonderful place to be on a sunny afternoon, all the benefits of sea swimming without the worry of pollution or strong tides. The warm water is very relaxing, the only slight downside is that the changing and shower facilities are now a bit old...More

Thank peternI6763DX
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pool is great for the kids and adults alike. The pool is heated but to be fair it doesn't feel like it when you first go in. All public areas are kept clean but feel the changing facilities could be done with an update. Café...More

Thank KimMacD86
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here as last day of holidays. First time here. Pool is cold but refreshing. We all had a great day here. Great for all ages.

Thank Laurence B
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed your visit Laurence B, but the pool itself should not have been cold! The water is kept as close to 29°C as can be managed but unfortunately we can't do anything about the air temperature!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic heated pool in a great location, a must visit place for families. Facilities are clean, great value for money if you take a family pass. Only 14.95 for a family of 2 adults 2 children

1  Thank Garvla132
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write us a review. Much appreciated.

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Brilliant day out - regardless of the weather. Took my daughter and a couple of her friends for a swim. There is free parking in the onsite car park. Pricing was good - one adult & 3 kids was priced at £14.35. The pool is...More

Thank RenateBelle
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you RenateBelle for your detailed review and kind words - very much appreciated

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Swimming here was a real experience, with the Art Deco and old fashioned changing rooms and decor etc. However, we only managed 20 Minutes in the pool as it was far too salty and full of flies. I'm not exaggerating when I say full! Enjoyed...More

Thank minx28
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

We're sorry your experience was spoiled by flies in the water, minx28. Although we can't do anything about the salty water (how many people complain about the saltiness when swimming in, say the Med? We all expect it in the sea, but perhaps not in...More

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Visited here yesterday £14.65 for a family of 4 so good value. The water is heated, it's close to the sea so there is a breeze but it's designed so for the most part you don't feel it and with the sun yesterday it feel...More

Thank Kayleigh M
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the pool Kayleigh M and for your kind comments. Hope to see you back again before the end of the season on 3 September 2017.

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Visited during school holidays. Sign posted & easily found with free car parking. Arrived around midday and not too busy, though got busier. It quietened down around 3. The inflatables assault course is only up during certain hours. The shark slide is also a great...More

Thank nkc2017
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your detailed review nkc2017. We're delighted you enjoyed it and hope to welcome you back soon - perhaps for that midnight swim? The last one of 2017 is Wednesday 16 August. Doors open 9.30pm for 10 o'clock start.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bay Fish & Chips
661 reviews
.14 km away
The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn
759 reviews
1.04 km away
the villa
172 reviews
.90 km away
Station Hotel Restaurant
188 reviews
1.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stonehaven Beach
266 reviews
.69 km away
Stonehaven Habour
34 reviews
1.06 km away
Stonehaven VisitScotland iCentre
30 reviews
.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Roy D
2 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from caroline s | Reviewed this property |
No just turn up. On the dates of the midnight swim
0
Votes

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Stonehaven