We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gamo Travel Tours

Arba Minch, Ethiopia
More
About Gamo Travel Tours
Truly capture the spirit of Arba Minch and Dorze. We tailor day tours so you can immerse yourself in the culture, wildlife and eco tapestry of this stunning and ancient land. Explore Lake Chamo and see crocs, hippos and pelicans, visit the local savannah and swim in the natural springs. Alternatively, visit a mountain village, see weavers, potters, bustling markets and join a coffee ceremony.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Gamo Travel Tours
from US$ 2,307.70

Arba Minch Walking Tour

Read more
4 hours
from US$ 32.06
from US$ 1,641.03
from US$ 1,410.26
58Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bill S wrote a review Nov 2020
West Falls Church, Virginia1 contribution
I strongly, and without reservation, recommend Gamo Travel. My experience with Gamo was distinguished by a high degree of professionalism, attention to detail, friendly, personalized service, and dedication to making my experience a very positive one in every way, and at a very fair price - Bill
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Patpat2409 wrote a review Jan 2020
Olten, Switzerland4 contributions
We were travelling two weeks with Wasagne Gedebo, Gamo Travel, to the Surma and the Omo National Park. The trip was perfectly organized by him. We experienced two exceptionally exciting weeks. We were visiting different Surma villages where people still live very self-sufficiently and authentically. Wasagne was very helpful in realizing my photographic project. There was good food every day. Wasagne was a good and reliable companion for us in all situations, which we highly recommend. We will definitely travel with him again. Switzerland, Pat and Dan
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Sara877 wrote a review Dec 2019
Cagliari, Italy18 contributions4 helpful votes
I did with them the lake chamo tour. I didn't have time to organize so I called them and in a few hours the tour was organized. But then... When it was time to pay, they tried to charge me a different exchange rate than the official one. At the dock, we had no fuel and had to wait 1h before starting the tour. I didn't see any crocodile. Of course it is not their responsibility if animals are not around, but if I compare this with other lake tours I had in Etiopia (Hawassa, Tana), this was the most disappointing and most expensive. If you want to see the lake, no need of a guide, just reach the park and rent a boat; some Hotels also provide this kind of service. The captain knows where animals are (or are expected to be).
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from GamoTravel, Owner at Gamo Travel Tours
Responded 14 Jan 2020
I'm sorry that this trip did not meet your expectations. In terms of your specific feedback, we were pleased to help you organise a tour to the lake with only 1.5 hours notice. With regards to the exchange rate, we used the official rate as per xe currency converter. Our guide was aware that you were disappointed with the unfortunate delay and the lack of crocodiles and offered you a free tour to the local market and free dinner in a local restaurant but you refused both options. Visitors cannot go to the lake and directly select a boat, all tours on Lake Chamo have to booked in advance, must pay the national park fee, organise the captain and as per local tourism policy, must be accompanied by a local guide. We note that the price is different to other lakes but the price is competitive with other service providers on Lake Chamo.
Read more
bvb wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Last week we (couple, 52y) finished a 6 days tour with Wes. We booked the trip several weeks before. Clear communication via email, no problems to modify tour upon our request (eg to include Chamo lake, to use cheaper but still clean accomodation). Deposit of 500 USD was paid beforehand (costs of our bank excluded). Unfortunately only about 460 USD arrived on his account, so probably the Ethiopian bank also took a fee. This wasn’t the case for a same payment to a tour operator for the northern part, strange. Superb that Wes didn’t make a big issue of it, thanks Wes! Tour was well organized. Excellent communication skills by Wes, in English as well in local languages with the different tribes. Also very good knowledge about the tribes and their way of living. Very good driver as well. Competitive price I think. No complaints and highly recommended. Thanks Wes!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Jodee9b wrote a review Jun 2019
Grenada19 contributions4 helpful votes
Just finished a 14 day tour with Wes (Wasagne) which was amazing. My highlights were Dorze village campfire with locals singing and dancing. Also camping in Hamer village with traditional BBQ and perusing the local markets in Key afer. Having never visited Africa before I was really impressed with Wes’s knowledge of all the tribes and his fluency with the different languages - puts me to shame. Would highly recommend this if you want something a bit different and want to immerse yourself in the culture.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456