We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

WWT Welney Wetland Centre

Features Animals
Open Now: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Birds, birds and even more birds

This is a place to see and learn about birds; the visitor centre has plenty of information and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
matforddavid
,
Exeter, UK
Swan feeding by floodlight

Great evening watching all the swans being fed. We are members and visit very regularly. The... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
claired376
,
Wisbech, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 175 reviews
112
All photos (112)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good34%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“bird watching”(15 reviews)
“wetland centre”(15 reviews)
“the reserve”(18 reviews)
About
WWT Welney has a beautiful wetland reserve and eco-friendly visitor centre. Every season is different; in spring watch breeding birds and chicks. In summer see dragonflies, butterflies, and wildflowers out on the summer walk. In winter the Ouse...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Hundred Foot Bank, Welney PE14 9TN, England
Website
+44 1353 860711
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
102
60
9
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
102
60
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching wetland centre the reserve pond dipping swans and ducks bit limited brass rubbing interesting talk spacious cafe annual visit end of august well worth the trip summer holiday duck feed well stocked shop sculpture trail interactive activities
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

This is a place to see and learn about birds; the visitor centre has plenty of information and there are views over part of the wetlands - with feeders to attract them. Across the road and drain, there are hides and more information about the...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank matforddavid
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great evening watching all the swans being fed. We are members and visit very regularly. The facilities are lovely, the cafe is very nice and you can spend a day watching birds and wildlife. There are plenty of places to enjoy a picnic if you...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank claired376
WWTWelney, Public Relations Manager at WWT Welney Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Claire, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad you enjoyed a lovely evening with us at one of our floodlit swan feeds. As well as visiting throughout the seasons to enjoy the changes which take place across the landscape of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice day, but very few swans at the early feed (12pm). Sure it’s lovely in the evening, staff are friendly and the setting is nice.More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank leone259
WWTWelney, Public Relations Manager at WWT Welney Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Leone, Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad you had a nice day and enjoyed the location and our friendly team, but are sorry that you had anticipated more swans for the feed than there actually were. There are thousands of whooper...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't bother with the 12pm feed. Only a handful of swans there. Will need to make a return visit to the afternoon feeds as we have been told this is more impressive to see. A bit disappointed since the website makes no distinction of the...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Julia E
WWTWelney, Public Relations Manager at WWT Welney Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Julia, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that you had anticipated more swans for the feed than there actually were. We hope you enjoyed watching the swans up close that were there for the feed, as well...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Brochure should have stated that the best time to see the swans is 15:30 or 18:30 as they are coming into or already at roost at this time. We visited at mid day and there were only a handful of swans on the water and...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank peperamia85
WWTWelney, Public Relations Manager at WWT Welney Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Peperamia, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are glad you had a nice day and enjoyed meeting our friendly team, but are sorry that you had anticipated more swans for the feed than there actually were. There...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited to see the Swans being fed. It is good to see winter feeding of birds and this is definitely better than visiting a zoo with caged birds. There is a good cafe at the centre and a souvenir shop. Whilst having the same...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank GlavumTraveller
WWTWelney, Public Relations Manager at WWT Welney Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi GlavumTraveller, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad you had a nice day and enjoyed one of our commentated wild swan feeds. There are thousands of whooper swans wintering in the Fens this year, amongst tens of thousands of ducks...More

Reviewed 11 December 2018

I've passed this place loads in my peregrinations around March and the locality. I've often thought, 'I should check that place out!' So finally, last week, I did. I was actually driving around, on my way home from Ely, deliberately taking the B-roads, in the...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Sebulus-Palmer
WWTWelney, Public Relations Manager at WWT Welney Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Sebulus, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, great to see you enjoyed your visits to us so far. We are sure that you will enjoy the rest of the reserve as much as you have enjoyed the visitor centre. During...More

Reviewed 10 December 2018

A great day out at Welney Wetland Centre. Started with a cup of tea in the excellent café, followed by a very informative hare walk (included in entrance fee) across nearby fields. Although we often see hare near our home, we now have an insight...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank NSWD
WWTWelney, Public Relations Manager at WWT Welney Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for sharing your review, great to see you enjoyed your visit. We have made sure that Tony has seen your feedback on his swan feed and hare walk. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful afternoon and waited until you...More

Reviewed 9 December 2018

A good afternoon. After a good lunch in the restaurant we watched the hundreds of birds from the hide. So many swans and ducks which were fed at 3.30. Beautiful views over the wetlands. Our grandsons enjoyed the interactive activities.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Pauline S
WWTWelney, Public Relations Manager at WWT Welney Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Pauline, Thank you for your review, great to see you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another visit in the future, Emma Brand

Reviewed 30 November 2018 via mobile

We had a delightful afternoon enjoying Afternoon Tea and the watching the Swans being fed at 3.30pm. Thoroughly recommend it.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Southwold70
WWTWelney, Public Relations Manager at WWT Welney Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2018

Hi, Thank you for sharing your review, great to see you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the future, Emma Brand

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Crown Lodge Hotel
101 reviews
9.51 km away
Little Downham Anchor
265 reviews
10.75 km away
The Castle Hotel
136 reviews
10.95 km away
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel
292 reviews
13.15 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Wigeon Cafe
11 reviews
.11 km away
The Old White Bell
63 reviews
7.40 km away
Jenyns Arms Restaurant
232 reviews
7.59 km away
Habis
67 reviews
8.03 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
The Crown Inn Littleport
6 reviews
7.99 km away
Wood Fen Lodge Spa
85 reviews
8.28 km away
Denver Windmill
34 reviews
8.99 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
j0andrews
2 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from WWTWelney | Property representative |
Hi, Apologies for the delay. Hopefully you have been able to contact us on 01353 860711 by now. If not, or, you are yet to visit us we do hire out binoculars to visitors. These are £5 for the day with a £20 deposit... More
0
Votes
Richard E
I was thinking of walking to the centre from Downham Market by following the public footpath down the NW side of the New Bedford River. This path appears to pass straight through the Wetland Centre but I think it may be more complex than that, and the only access to the facilities is from the road (Station Road) on the SE side of the river, over the covered wooden footbridge. My question is: Can I gain access to the Wetland Centre hides and so on from the public footpath or do I have to stick to the road? Alternatively, there is another public footpath on the SE side of the same river which I could take, but it seems to be separated from the road by a barbed wire fence, which I could probably tackle, but would prefer not to. Which route would you advise me to take? I don't begrudge you the entrance fee, but I would prefer not to have to walk all the way to the suspension bridge at Wash Road and back again just to get in. Suggestions please.
29 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from WWTWelney | Property representative |
Hi Richard, You can't gain access to WWT Welney from the public footpath on the NW side of the river, the only access is through the visitor centre which is on Station Road. There is a bridleway on the SE bank of the New... More
1
Vote
437BarbaraS
25 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from WWTWelney | Property representative |
Hi Barbara, We hope that you do decide to come and visit us this winter. Our busiest week of the year for visitors is Boxing Day to New Year's Day. We've got plenty of information on the website about events and activities... More
0
Votes