BC Ferries
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
About
BC Ferries provides passenger and vehicle ferry services to 45 ports of call across coastal BC, with sailings to and from Metro Vancouver, Vancouver Island, the Sunshine Coast, the Gulf Islands, and Northern BC. BC Ferries Vacations also offers over 100 travel packages, including return ferry and accommodation. When on board BC Ferries, there are plenty of options for food and shopping, along with great wildlife and sightseeing opportunities.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience BC Ferries and nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • srimanone
    Joshua Tree, California1,030 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    FANTASTIC WAY TO TRAVEL
    Wonderful, clean and respectful crew. Plenty of room to walk around and lots of clean bathrooms. Outside sitting and plenty of room inside for sitting. Very pleasant and lots of fresh air
    Hi srimanone, Thank you for the 5 star review! It sounds like you enjoyed a fantastic adventure with us - thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you aboard again in the future. Kind regards, Bailey E - Customer Care BC Ferries
    Written 5 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled solo
    Written 25 July 2023
  • M2020
    Canada104 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    The 16hr ferry to prince rupert was great! Better than other long ferry rides.
    The ferry to prince rupert has private bathrooms! That one fact makes up for any other isses. Sure they had a few negative things from the staff and menu choices, but overall the trip was smooth and great! Arrive 90 to 120minutes early. Their info is conflicting on that.
    Hi m2020canada, Thank you for the 5 star review! It sounds like you enjoyed a fantastic adventure with us while travelling up North. We are pleased to hear your trip was a smooth experience over-all, and hope to have better menu choices to offer you in the future! We look forward to welcoming you aboard again. Kind regards, Bailey E - Customer Care BC Ferries
    Written 5 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 5 August 2023
  • Brooke M
    Edmonton, Canada1 contribution
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    No alcohol without food purchase
    Booking/boarding process was easy so that was great although the lady at the entrance wasn’t overly nice. My only complaint is that after a long day of travel via airplane, we wanted to have a beer. Waited in line just for them to tell us that we had to order food with a drink. We had already eaten so that was kinda annoying and I think they should change that policy.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 31 August 2023
  • Bazlen28
    296 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Well oiled machine
    The ferries operate like a well oiled machine. We arrived early and were able to be placed on standby for the next ferry and made it on. Good eating and gift area next to the vehicle queue for the ferry. So while you are in queue there is enough time to get a snack, though plenty of food available on board. Friendly staff and ran on time.
    Hi there. Thank you for the five-star review! We are so pleased to hear that you had a pleasurable experience. It's great that you were able to board an earlier sailing! We look forward to welcoming you onboard again soon for your next adventure. Kind regards, Britton - Customer Care BC Ferries
    Written 18 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 11 September 2023
  • Rockiroads
    Oshawa, Canada1,311 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A good system
    We had gotten on the BC Ferries while out in Victoria and Vancouver.- It all seemed to run well. Lots of seating, huge boat! Food to eat, even a buffet! Not too pricey. It seemed to be very efficient. No screwing about. You have to be quick and find a seat especially if you have luggage that needs to be close to you. Some really good scenery as it went between islands and in open water. Be ready for walking up steps and ramps and think about it if you have full sized luggage.
    Hi Rockiroads, Thank you for the 5 star review! It sounds like you had an amazing time enjoying the beautiful views that the West Coast has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you aboard again in the future, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Kind regards, Bailey E - Customer Care BC Ferries
    Written 8 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 11 September 2023
  • MrandMrsICHBI
    England, United Kingdom485 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Smooth & Slick
    Used the ferry service twice to travel between Vancouver & Vancouver Island. The loading & unloading is slick and the journey smooth. There is food & refreshments available plus vending machines, the is also a onboard shop.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 19 September 2023
  • GoVols79
    Chattanooga, Tennessee3,738 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    BC Ferries
    We took BC Ferries from Victoria to Vancouver. The boarding and unloading process both went very smooth. We chose to sit in the restaurant area as it was towards the front of the ship and gave a great view of the scenery while being climate controlled. The area was beautiful and we enjoyed our time aboard.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 24 September 2023
  • CdnMink
    Manitoba, Canada143 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    View from the water
    We took the Tsawwassen to Swartz Bay ferry one evening in late Aug to access the island as part of our road trip. We arrived at the terminal early and was able to exchange my reservation for a spot on the ferry 2 sailings ahead of it. My initial reservation was done online easily and efficiently. The attendant was very accommodating and friendly. The experience was seamless and enjoyable, from grabbing a bite at the terminal eatery, embarking and disembarking our car, and enjoying the journey and it's sights through the islands to Sidney.
    Hi there, Thanks for the 5-star review! We are so pleased to hear that you were able to board an earlier sailing, and that your experience was pleasant. We hope to welcome you aboard again soon! Kindly, Charlotte - Customer Care BC Ferries
    Written 30 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 24 September 2023
  • Justin L
    1 contribution
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Reservations for what?
    Reserved a sailing from Swart’s bay for 3:00 we arrived late at 2:40. They said we were late and put us in standby lane, we didn’t make the sailing. I don’t understand why they still took the extra money for the reservation fee when we don’t get our reservation. Money grab.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 3 October 2023
  • Leo B
    Vancouver, Canada7 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    This employees deserves raise
    I can't think the lady enough that work the ticker counter that got us to Nanaimo instead of to Victoria so that we can still make it to the island. I would've not recommended this or thought of this and yet this employee went out of her way to try to get us onto the island and loaded us last minute onto the ferry, if staff reviews these comments they should find out who this worker was and give her a raise or acknowledge how awesome she was. I appreciate getting to the island and her option to go up to Nanaimo instead of waiting for five hours was brilliant
    Hello there, Thank you for your kind words - we appreciate your 5 star review! I am happy to hear that one of our staff members went above and beyond to make your trip a memorable one. Our crew work hard to provide the highest level of customer service, and want to make your travel experience as stress-free, and enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you onboard again for more adventures. Kind regards, Bailey E - Customer Care BC Ferries
    Written 8 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled on business
    Written 13 October 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,784 reviews
Excellent
722
Very good
567
Average
181
Poor
86
Terrible
231

Sherry V
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2024 • Family
I am so disappointed on how this company handled my frustration. I booked my family trip online and once it came to the payment tab i put in all the payment information and when i clicked pay now it asked for my bank one time code which i did. When i clicked the purchase now it errored on me and asked to verify information which i did twice. Since it errored again i tried doing it again using a different which shockingly went through. And when i checked my bank account my first card was debited twice. Been on a call with the company for the past few hours and last night about it and someone told me i would be pending as theres no transaction or booking to verify the charges but today it was actually posted. The advisor told me it will take 2 business days before they can rectify it but other agents says otherwise! Jeremy whom i spoke to denied my request to be called by their supervisor and asked me if he needs to escalate and it will take 3 horrible weeks to complete! This is the worst thing ever if you are travelling and you need to deal with this and this is not entirely my fault is their system has glitch! I dnt usually make reviews but it pisses me off how they manage to just shrug their shoulders with this hard earned money of us that they took without my permission!
Written 12 July 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

DC L
Nanoose Bay, Canada18 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2024 • Family
Provided the old ships are working and being maintained, this old company works fine enough. But they have had decades to keep up with technology and improve on their communication and logistics when there’s a problem. Be warned, reservations mean nothing if the sailing is cancelled. No bumping to the next sailing, no priority for any other sailing; you’re on your own, back to square one. Some terminals have next to no refreshments and they run out of overpriced food (Duke point, Nanaimo). The staff are great! The management of this Canadian corporation is an embarrassment for locals and tourists. Customer service quality, due to policies, is an absolute fail. So, hope you arrive on a good day and don’t need to navigate any problems. I’m critical because BC Ferries has lots of managers and had decades to do better and they don’t.
Written 12 July 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Baltazar D
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2024 • Family
Our initial experiences with the online booking system, as well as our trip to Vancouver Island from Tsawwassen were smooth, and the trip was nice and beautiful. Nothing to complain about.

Getting up early to take the 9.05 ferry back from Nanaimo 3 days later, we were severely disappointed to see it cancelled with 2 hours' notice, and no attempt at re-booking. No explanation for the cancellation was given. The email I received suggested that I could re-book on a link in the email, but that one merely led me to a site telling me that my booking was cancelled with no options to proceed in any way. The Nanaimo-Horseshoe Bay trip was fully booked for the entire day for new bookings, so we had no other options. We ended up booking the earliest possible departure from Nanaimo to Tsawwassen to avoid being stuck on Vancouver Island for the day, despite this being a delay of about 2,5 hours to our destination, and despite us not knowing whether we would get a refund or a re-booking on the other trip. I attempted calling BC Ferries to clarify but was told the waiting time was above 40 minutes, which is hardly useful when we need to get on a ferry.

While we have no complaints about the ferry itself, the fact that we couldn't rely on it and that the cancellation proved quite disruptive to our plans means that it is hard to give it a positive review, as reliability is after all, perhaps the key feature which a ferry needs to fulfil. Accidents happen, but the response, which gave us no option to get on a later ferry, and the fact that we couldn't reach support in any way is not satisfying. In Europe, had this been a train or a plane, and perhaps also a ferry, though my experience with those is limited, this would have left to monetary compensation, and perhaps these higher standards cloud my perception. But the handling of this cancellation was far from satisfying; this is worth being aware of if you are planning to rely on these ferries on a tight schedule.
Written 12 July 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

John V
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2024 • Solo
I made my reservation I arrived 12 minutes prior to cut off but that's the first parking lot now you have to wait for all the vehicles in front of you at the teller each having a little chat causing me to be 3 minutes late for the half hour pre booking time so they canceled my reservation. 45 minutes before they left. What a joke what a terribly run company oh yeah it's a government Corporation what can you expect.
Written 11 July 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

jeff k
52 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2024 • Couples
The food on board the Ferries is over priced and frankly bad. Luke warm Whitespot food. Consider better options such as the Pacific buffet which was stellar now horrible food and line ups
Written 9 July 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TERRAvelista
London, UK18,349 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 • Couples
As soon as we arrived at the airport, stopping only at the Tsawwassen Mills to eat at Milestones, we drove straight away here to cross onto Vancouver island, to Victoria via the ferry called The Spirit of British Columbia:
- we paid for the tickets a few weeks in advance, after learning you cannot leave this to chance and buy your ticket there and then since these ferries going to different directions are all very busy despite having a capacity of 280 cars.
- reaching the paying booth, we simply showed our printed page with the bar code they need (repeating this process upon returning a few days later) to the very friendly lady in the booth who directed us to the line we needed to follow (in order perhaps to distribute evenly the cars inside the ferry, based on their weight)
- this is a military procedure and having arrived some 30min earlier than the departing time, it makes sense why they say no car should be there allowed one hour earlier!!! They were very busy even during the week for our afternoon crossing
- people were leaving their cars in the queue to either feed their dogs at the small dog park, or use the facilities in the small terminal (toilet facilities, many shops or food places with savoury or sweet stuff), as this is a very well organised place unlike the smaller facilities as you return from the Vancouver island to this terminal
- and yes, you pass through USA territorial waters as your phone is going to ping you, if you pay attention
- The spirit of BC is spread over several levels and you can sit in different areas if some families are louder than others, you can charge your phone if you have the USB connection with you (although some of their USB are not working), has several eateries with warm food if you like eating on the cheap, besides lots of vending machines: in the Greek islands they could only dream of reaching these standards
- plus unlike the Greek islands, the ferry was right on time every single time we used it
- I suspect it could be very busy at the weekend in summer time and is kind of hilarious to see how busy the roads are one direction as you leave the ferry while the other side is dead quiet.
And yes, the view towards the islands is simply amazing, as you see so many houses with no immediate neighbour: just nature, peace and wildlife!!! Gorgeous.
Written 8 July 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Josephine L
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2024 • Solo
There is convenience to connect with 1 hr bus from main Victoria city at South. For facilities fast and easy, can buy online from TripAdvisor or daily in person to buy at Pier if no vehicle together on riding. Food could be buy at canteen on ship, thousands of cuisine. Stable on ship, keep constant speed, so that you can watch the sceneries along the journey. Enjoy!
Written 2 July 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Odyssey05989156577
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 • Business
Made a reservation on the 10:45PM ferry - last ferry of the day - and because of their mistakes they decide to give all of the reservations for the last ferry to those whose boat was cancelled earlier because of mechanical failure. Rathe than communicate with us, they leave over a hundred cars sitting outside the toll booth in their cars wandering around questioning each other as to why they are not getting on the ferry they reserved .
Written 28 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Craig Castanet
Atlanta, GA5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 • Family
First experience with car on ferry great ship good food comfortable seating lots of room to roam the ship but toilet paper should have at least one ply this toilet paper was ethereal someone has a jokester sense of humor overall great experience
Written 27 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, Thank you for the five-star review! We are so pleased to hear about the positive experience you had during your recent sailing. The Coastal Café has some great options to choose from if you’re feeling hungry on board, and you can’t beat the views. We look forward to having you on board again soon! Kind regards, Caleb – Customer Care BC Ferries
Written 2 July 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

travelergail
Crowsnest Pass, Canada12 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 • Couples
3 hour late departure from Prince Rupert to Skidegate. No one giving any info on scheduled departure or reason for the delay. 3 televisions in our seating area. Why are they not being used for updated information?? No communication from BC Ferries!!
Written 26 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,595
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

BC Ferries - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024) - Tripadvisor

All things to do in Tsawwassen
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire