We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Ventures

Features Animals
Watamu 80202, Kenya
+254 42 2332420
Website
Save
Review Highlights
True Professionals!

If you letting your 10-year-old son go down under water to 12 meters’ depth only the very best... read more

Reviewed 2 April 2016
Steffenobil
,
Vasteras, Sweden
Awesome Scuba Diving!

Steve and Helen were exellent teachers and guides. As first time divers of varying ages we felt we... read more

Reviewed 21 March 2016
Tessa V
,
Ottawa, Canada
via mobile
Read all 54 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Aqua Ventures is an owner operated company established in Watamu in January 1990. Steve and Helen Curtis, the proud owners of the company, have successfully managed Aqua Ventures and moulded it into what is considered one of Kenya's leading dive centres. Steve an ex-military diver from Zimbabwe has been diving in Kenya since 1982. Helen, Kenyan by birth, has been diving since 1989. Watamu, being the first established Marine Park and reserve in Kenya, with its superior underwater topography and uncluttered beaches made it the natural location for Steve and Helen to start their business. From humble beginnings at the Ocean Sports Resort, Aqua Ventures operates three diving boats and has a well equipped diving centre with 3 compressors and over 50 sets of well maintained diving equipment.
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average0%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“dive masters” (4 reviews)
“marine park” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 07:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Watamu 80202, Kenya
CONTACT
Website
+254 42 2332420
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2016

If you letting your 10-year-old son go down under water to 12 meters’ depth only the very best diving instructors is good enough. I dived in January this year with my sister. I haven’t dived in 15 years and had no intention to start again....More

1  Thank Steffenobil
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for your very nice and positive review - it was a pleasure to dive with you and the boys. Jack did so well and Fabian too.

Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Steve and Helen were exellent teachers and guides. As first time divers of varying ages we felt we were in experienced, professional, and patient hands. We would highly recommend aqua ventures.

Thank Tessa V
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Thank you for your review Tessa, it was great to meet you all and to introduce you to the underwater world!

Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

We did 3 dives in the marine park with Aqua Ventures. We had excellent equipment and very professional lovely dive guides. All dive sites were great - lots of beautiful and healthy coral, vast variety of fish, and each site was different. Another great thing...More

Thank Rachel_F_Sydney_Aus
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Thank you for your comments Rachel. It was great to meet you and Ofir and so glad that you enjoyed yourselves

Reviewed 10 January 2016

Went on 3 great dives with Aqua Ventures, they are a top operation with very well maintained equipment and they are extremely safety conscious. I have been diving with Aqua Ventures for at least 6 years now and have never been disappointed. Thank you Helen,...More

2  Thank PeerIuel
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Thank you for your kind comments Peer. Always great to see you here and look forward to catching up in December!

Reviewed 17 December 2015

I dove three times with Aqua Ventures. It was convenient because it was on site at Ocean Sports where I was staying. Dominick and Safari were the dive masters for my first two dives and Helen (the owner) was my dive master on the third....More

Thank Brent E
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2016

Thank you so much Brent, for your enthusiastic review - it was a pleasure to dive with you and we're so glad you had a good time in Watamu!

Reviewed 12 November 2015

Recommended diving operator for sure. My experience: I did four fun dives over the course of two days with Steve, Safari and Dominic (Dominic specifically as my DM). I rented all my equipment from Aqua Ventures for my dives. Diving briefs per dive site were...More

1  Thank Matt W
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Great to meet you Matt and Thank you for the positive write up - we're so glad you enjoyed your experience

Reviewed 3 November 2015

Spent 10 days in Watamu, I really wanted to dive but was very nervous because I hadn't dived for 3 years when I got to Aqua ventures. The lady who owns and runs the business was very helpful and understanding. I was so happy that...More

1  Thank HJudit26
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Thank you for your kind words - we were happy to be able to get you into the Ocean so that you could get to (almost!) enjoy the underwater experience

Reviewed 21 August 2015

When we went to book our dive they were very frank with us. They told us it was not prime season. That the visability may not be top notch and that we could only go before the breakline. We appreciated the honest and booked with...More

1  Thank ctveav
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Thank you for your kind comments - we also enjoyed Diving with you and maybe you will have a chance to come back when the sea is calmer!!!

Reviewed 5 December 2014

Choosing a dive store when travelling to new countries can be interesting as the range in service and safety can be vast, but just like you can often estimate the cleanliness of a restaurant kitchen by the way they take care of the restrooms, so...More

1  Thank keenore
Reviewed 15 November 2014 via mobile

Absolutely awesome dive, although being chased around by a tyrant fish cutting the dive a little shorter, amazing location and large range of beautiful fish. Am very much looking forwards too coming back for more dives :)

Thank SicilianLemonade
Helen C, Owner at Aqua Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2014

Dear Ash, Thank you for your kind words! Sorry about the nesting Titan triggerfish episode, but glad you enjoyed yourself and see you in December!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
NON SOLO GELATO by anna
55 reviews
.59 km away
Come Back Club Watamu
220 reviews
1.47 km away
Hosteria Romana Watamu
122 reviews
1.52 km away
Bahati Gelateria Italianna Anna & Andrea
229 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Safari Kenya Watamu - Day Tours
424 reviews
1.61 km away
Roma Watamu Safari - Day Tours
15 reviews
.21 km away
Joseph e Toyota Kenya safari - Day Trips
19 reviews
1.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
n1a2n3a4
27 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Helen C | Property representative |
Hello, Is this Marti who I've already spoken to on the Phone???!!
0
Votes