We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Zebula Golf Course

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: D1000 Farm 534, Vaalwal KQ Road | Mabula District, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 14 734 7708
Website
Description:

Zebula Golf Course is a classic Bushveld par 72 course, set in the open...

Zebula Golf Course is a classic Bushveld par 72 course, set in the open plains of the reserve with herds of game roaming freely. The course is relatively flat yet undulating, inviting to play with generous fairways and clusters of trees that act as hazards. Voted the Golf Digest's Best New Golf Course 2004 and awarded the 5 star Golf Experience for 2010 by Compleat Golfer, Zebula has matured wonderfully over the past few years into a truly great course to play.

 

 

 

Zebula was designed by the legendary Peter Matkovich, a golf professional for 25 years, and a world-respected golf course designer for more than 15 years. When it comes to golf course design, first and foremost Peter is an environmentalist - seamlessly blending nature and design to create golf courses that are inherently sensitive to local environments. In fact, love for the indigenous remains a cornerstone of his designs; to him, golf should offer a retreat, an escape, from one's busy life.

The layout, built to USGA specifications with kikuyu fairways and bent grass greens is so much part of the bushveld experience that one wouldn't be surprised to encounter a lofty giraffe or a shy zebra or two during your golfing experience. The wonderful year-round climate and the judicious use of naturally occurring water practically guarantees the course will be green year round.

 

Complemented as it is by an excellent Clubhouse with a location that defies description, a well-stocked Pro Shop and superb practice facilities, Zebula is a joy to play. You are destined to keep coming back again and again to experience it. As we like to say: if you have Africa in your blood and you love the game of golf, life just doesn't get better than this!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 57 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 25
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Great quality golf course

Great golfing day. The golf course was in very good condition and charm treatment I enjoyed a lot. The massage I booked was really poor!

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Santi T
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 54: English reviews
Level Contributor
247 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great golfing day. The golf course was in very good condition and charm treatment I enjoyed a lot. The massage I booked was really poor!

Helpful?
Thank Santi T
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Santi T Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the massage... More 

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very upmarket but restaurant surprisingly reasonably priced. Cheating viewing available. Cheaters are run on weekends. Lots of high end private homes and an air strip for private planes. Small animal section to view.

Helpful?
Thank Tom O
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Tom O Thank you for sharing your experience at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and a friend were staying in a nearby lodge and decided to go play golf at Zebula. Upon arrival we were told that the area was experiencing a 4 year long drought so we were told that we would be given the drought rate of R310 as apposed to the R350 a lodge guest would normally play. I understand... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tarryn G
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Tarryn G Thank you so much for your feedback with regards to your experience at Zebula Golf Estate & Spa. Thank you for bringing the halfway house meals to our attention and we have sent your feedback to the relevant department in order to ensure that this is an isolated incident. Please could you provide your email or contact... More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

About 40 km outside Bella Bella. Tar road and also accessible by plane, private landing strip. Beautiful golf course with wild animals watching your achievements or failure. Large homes with a view over Bushveld and plenty animals to sea.

Helpful?
Thank Bhejanespecialevents
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Bhejanespecialevents Thank you so much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Regards, Hayley Poole Zebula Golf Estate & Spa More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We spent just over an hour on the property where we felt the commercialized fuss was overplayed. The main restaurant and service in reception was disgraceful. The woman's bathrooms had not been cleaned for at least that day and were in no state to be used by guests. The restaurant, while smelling delicious, failed to deliver. Cocktails were very amateurish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lance G
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Lance G As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for not meeting your expectation with regards to the food that was served to you. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure... More 

Mookgophong, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2016

Altogether a very enjoyable experience. Lots of detail to the golf course and clubhouse with a great halfway house and very good meals. Tends to be on the expensive side.

Helpful?
Thank JilSehl
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear JilSehl Thank you for sharing your experience at the Zebula Golf Estate & Spa. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We played two rounds here whilst stating at Itaga game lodge about 15 k away. This is a very nice course with lots of wildlife along the way. Good greens and nicely laid out course. What struck me most was how friendly the club house was and the professional was extremely accommodating and welcoming. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Annabriony1
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this review

Dea Annabriony1 Thank you for sharing your experience at the Zebula Golf Estate & Spa. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from our golf holiday at Zebula with our excellent host Nico Els. The course is very good and has lots of wild life to view from wildebeest,zebra and monkeys. The guys in the pro shop were very friendly and helpful. This is a great place to stay and play

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Gary B Thank you so much for reviewing our property and for providing such positive feedback. I have passed your thanks onto the Proshop and looking forward to hosting you with Nico hopefully soon. Regards, Hayley Poole Zebula Golf Estate & Spa More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2016

We spent time here doing the Cheeter experience whilst volunteering at Bambelela Monkey Care. I wasnt expecting that we would actually be able to touch and sit with the cheeters, they were very calm and restful and the guide with us was very knowledgable. She was taking photos during the time, which were then emailed to us. Well worth the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Kelly B Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our Cheetah Interaction. I shall pass your thanks onto the Rangers Department and I am happy that you were able to partake in this very popular activity on the estate. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Hayley Poole Sales and Marketing... More 

Carey, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2016

We did the cheetah encounter and quad bikes. The staff was very friendly. We stayed at another lodge, but Zebula is also very pretty. Restaurants looked awesome too.

Helpful?
Thank Liza B
hpoole2016, Sales and Marketing Manager at Zebula Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Liza B Thanks so much for your great review on the activities that we offer at Zebula. I shall pass your thanks onto our rangers department. We look forward to seeing you again soon Regards, Hayley Poole More 

Travellers who viewed Zebula Golf Course also viewed

Bela Bela, Limpopo Province
Bela Bela, Limpopo Province
 
Bela Bela, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Zebula Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zebula Golf Course staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?