We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
58
All photos (58)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good22%
  • Average8%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“wine tasting”(29 reviews)
“pinot gris”(7 reviews)
“venison”(6 reviews)
About
On State Highway 1, set amongst the vines is the iconic stone building that is home to Waipara Hills. Here you'll discover an operating winery, cellar door and seasonal cafe. Just 45 minutes drive north of Christchurch.
Contact
780 Glasnevin Road, Waipara 7473, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-314 6900
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Waipara
from US$ 171.90
More Info
from US$ 70.20
More Info
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
55
26
10
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
55
26
10
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting pinot gris venison seafood platter cellar door vineyard tour knowledgeable host well worth the visit great place to visit new zealand house platter jude eq christchurch nzd5 session wheel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

During my visit, it was my second time to this winery, and not much has changed. The service delivery was impeccable! To have people showcase true values of who New Zealanders are is a very humbling experience, with the lady leading the wine tasting talking...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Tyler N
WaiparaHills, Manager at Waipara Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to weite it, the team loves this feedback, it’s so appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time to wine tasting, not sure what to expect. Dennis walked us through with a cost effective pricing of NZD5 per pax. Even helped us with directions to Christchurch thereafter. Would have appreciated a vineyard tour too if there is any.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank kellycherish
WaiparaHills, Manager at Waipara Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and welcome to the world of wine!

Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Visited the cellar door and restaurant at Waipara Hills today. Great wine tasting with a knowledgeable host and the house platter in the restaurant was beautifully presented and tasty. However the best was yet to come. Got back to Christchurch to discover I'd left my...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank mrs_pants000
WaiparaHills, Manager at Waipara Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Terry - we aim to please and we are very happy you enjoyed your time. Thanks for the taking the time to write a review.

Reviewed 13 September 2018

What a great place to visit . Stylish yet relaxed. We tasted some wines and enjoyed lunch here. The small plates were all delicious - especially the pulled pork rolls - and of course some equally delicious wine and you're all set. Would not hesitate...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank BurleighSurfer
WaiparaHills, Manager at Waipara Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review - and we appreciate you taking the time. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

This is one of the most interesting wine tastings we have had for some time. Dennis, the server,was keen to have us taste wine without showing us the label on the bottle and challenged us to carefully think about what we were tasting. We got...More

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank LizzieM409
WaiparaHills, Manager at Waipara Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks Lizzie! We are thrilled you enjoyed your Waipara Hills experience

Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

Popped in to enjoy the wine tasting. We were treated rudely and laughed at on one occasion when remarking about the wine. The wine itself was enjoyable however the snooty atmosphere left a sour taste. I don’t think this is a reflection of the premises...More

Date of experience: June 2018
6  Thank hayleye89
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

A quaint little cellar door right on the main highway. During our recent visit to Christchurch we encountered one particularly wet day so we thought we would venture North for a drive and drop in to a few vineyards. This was our first stop and...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank 558DavidA558
WaiparaHills, Manager at Waipara Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you David for taking the time to review us here, we are very pleased you had an enjoyable time.

Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

After a disappointing start we had lovely meal in cafe , the service & food beautiful as well as setting , shame about old lady doing tastings needs to retire totally uninterested in promoting wines , area or even selling us any wine not that...More

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Kirstchch
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Disappointed with the wine tasting woman,she barely acknowledged us and when she served us was totally disinterested with no enthusiasm or imparting of wine knowledge as is generally the case when wine tasting. Luckily the cafe made it worth the trip from Christchurch wonderful meal...More

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank 9jac
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Mid week lunch with the family. Waited to be seated for 2-3 minutes. Asked to sit outside where we could see several tables. Told we could only sit inside. So we sat inside. Next party to arrive we’re shown to one of the outside tables....More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank O6679HLscottk
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Pegasus Gateway Motels & Apartments
46 reviews
28.56 km away
Rangiora Lodge Motel
40 reviews
28.67 km away
Lilybrook Motel
37 reviews
28.88 km away
Riverstone Motel
82 reviews
29.89 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 6 nearby restaurants
Pegasus Bay Winery Restaurant
214 reviews
2.26 km away
Black Estate Wine
152 reviews
6.80 km away
Waipara Springs Winery & Restaurant
116 reviews
5.16 km away
Waipara Hills
65 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 12 nearby attractions
Terrace Edge Vineyard & Olive Grove
40 reviews
3.40 km away
Torlesse Wines
43 reviews
2.97 km away
Greystone Wines
13 reviews
4.72 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
9jac
29 April 2018|
Answer
Response from foodthatsings | Reviewed this property |
Because it’s a fabulous place to be 😎
0
Votes