We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonehenge Aotearoa

51 Ahiaruhe Road | R.d.2, Carterton 5792, New Zealand
+64 6-377 1600
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Cultural visit

Living local this isca place I pass regularly and i am always amazed at the numbers of tourists... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Paul T
,
Bruton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Amazing knowledge at the end of the road !!

Having been to UK Stonehenge, just had to see our version. Was well worth the trip off the main... read more

Reviewed 13 June 2017
Ejay41
,
Tauranga, New Zealand
Read all 115 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Take a tour into the past and discover the secrets of lost civilizations. Although similar in size and appearance to the Stonehenge on Salisbury plain, Stonehenge Aotearoa is not a replica. It is a complete and working structure designed for its precise location in New Zealand. Seasonal so check the website. Generally as follows: Peak summer: everyday, spring and autumn: Wed to Sun, Winter: weekends. Open most public holidays.
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good30%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
51 Ahiaruhe Road | R.d.2, Carterton 5792, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 6-377 1600
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Living local this isca place I pass regularly and i am always amazed at the numbers of tourists walking around and around looking for what I am not sure or have I missed something Anyway visited and the visitor center is ok some good bits...More

Thank Paul T
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your response. I think that perhaps you went around Stonehenge in England as we do not have a transfer bus. You could not build our henge with a mechanical crane. The English henge could be but the real interest not that we...More

Reviewed 13 June 2017

Having been to UK Stonehenge, just had to see our version. Was well worth the trip off the main highway. Kay spent time with us, we watched the slide show, [she let us in although it was a `rest day'] ... and I could have...More

Thank Ejay41
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate every one. So many people tell us that they got so much more than they expected (in a good way). It is a lovely place to spend a summer's day, relaxing and thinking and sometimes just sleeping. Some...More

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

A real working stonehenge. I was glad I've learned more about astronomy because of the video. The place itself is not very beautiful on camera. It lacks the mystery and the ancient characteristic of the stonehenge found in the UK.More

Thank Dorothy G
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for your review. As to the ancient characteristic, we never claimed that. Ours is a teaching tool and frames the beautiful countryside wonderfully. As they say, beauty is in the eye of the beholder and many seem to find beauty here. NZ is...More

Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Very interesting. Go in the summer or at least when the sun is shining to make the most of it. Even found out the history of the spooky house on the hill

Thank Gogginc
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thanks for the review. Glad you made it. Look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

We did the guided tour with Richard and learnt so much. It's very reasonably priced consider the knowledge you gain. Both Richard and Kate were very helpful and happy to answer any questions. I would certainly recommend doing the tour as you will not get...More

Thank Diane C
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it. Yes, Richard is a very talented communicator and also enthusiastic and passionate about what we are doing here. We keep the prices as low as we can and I really believe that everyone gets good value for...More

Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

It is set in beautiful countryside. The video they play is interesting. The man that does the guided tours is very passionate about his job. We didn't do the guided tour, but we still could listen in to what he was saying.More

Thank catchfab
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for the review, we appreciate the time and effort. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Richard is very passionate about the topic and a very good communicator. It is a beautiful site with views out over the valley toward the...More

Reviewed 8 May 2017

It's an interesting attraction not too far from SH2. Although you need some time to truly understand all the mechanisms of the Stonehenge Aotearoa. You want the weather to be fairly good (at least not cloudy) and if you're into the whole new age-thing you're...More

Thank justMondays
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for writing a review. It is much appreciated. Your impressions are interesting. I think it is hard for someone who just visits to realize how much effort and cost is involved in keeping something like this running and developing. We keep our prices...More

Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

My Partner and I came to the Wairarapa for a day trip, I had visited this place a few years ago and remembered it to be a very nice experience. The welcoming was very warm and inviting, the educational video I found to be very...More

Thank theAestheteAlchemist
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you for you review. We love meeting the range of people who come to the henge - so many interesting people. Richard is very talented at making informative AVs that are fascinating and lead people to make their own explorations. A number of people...More

Reviewed 24 April 2017

If you have the time ,make sure you take the tour, It takes about an hour, cost $20 adult and you so get your money's worth. !!, Richard is very informative , knows his subject very well. You can then wander around and try out...More

Thank Kiwisaupo
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you for your response. Yes, the guided tour with Richard is a very special experience and he just loves tricky questions, which don't have to be complicated as explanations of some of the things we all take for granted like why the sky is...More

Reviewed 22 March 2017

Set in a stunning location with beautiful views across the local countryside, Stonehenge Aotearoa is a must see. Richard has extensive knowledge of the stars, legends, ceremonies, history, astronomy and general science. Richard shares his wealth of knowledge freely and can answer any questions you...More

Thank dae11
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review. Yes, Richard is an amazing communicator and he really enjoys meeting people as do I. Meeting people from all over the world and sharing our knowledge is what keeps us going. Thank you again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Salute
251 reviews
10.08 km away
Gladstone Country Inn
136 reviews
5.33 km away
French Bakery
116 reviews
10.06 km away
Cafe Mirabelle
118 reviews
9.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cobblestones Museum
61 reviews
10.46 km away
Poppies
126 reviews
15.69 km away
Paua World
45 reviews
10.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Stonehenge Aotearoa staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit