We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Market

Closed Now: 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Great Small Venue

Been here a couple of times t see bands and the acoustics are great, the feeling cosy and prices... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Matthew P
Friendly small theatre venue with great travel links.

Very homey feel to this great venue with a marvellous bar.I've never failed to have a good night... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
red_curtis_mutha
,
Hove, United Kingdom
Read all 94 reviews
11
All photos (11)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good38%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“intimate gig”(3 reviews)
“nice bar”(4 reviews)
“bar area”(3 reviews)
About
Welcome to The Old Market, Hove's independent, high quality live theatre and venue. In Brighton & Hove, The Old Market (or, as we like to call it, TOM) is the best place to see a show. Our diverse programme includes live music, great theatre and...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
Upper Market St, Hove BN3 1AS, England
Website
+44 1273 201801
Call
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
49
36
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
49
36
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews intimate gig nice bar bar area music events comfortable seats arts venue in house lovely venue friendly staff bar staff great night comedy tom bands seating auditorium stage
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Been here a couple of times t see bands and the acoustics are great, the feeling cosy and prices for entry always very good. I know lots more goes on here other than music but have only gigs to review.

Thank Matthew P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very homey feel to this great venue with a marvellous bar.I've never failed to have a good night out here!

Thank red_curtis_mutha
TheOldMarket, Owner at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again soon - Mark, Team TOM

Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Super close to my house but would still be brilliant even if I had to travel there. Has a fantastic selection of events at reasonable prices plus friendly bar and comfortable seats.

Thank alisonm721
TheOldMarket, Owner at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you Alison, such kind words! Hope to see you again soon! - Mark, Team TOM

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Visited here to see one of my favourite band secret affair. Lovely big hall so when full it wasn’t crowded just nice not all bunched up. There was a small bar in the hall and one near the entrance. Some staff didn’t really know what...More

Thank Mark D
TheOldMarket, Owner at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Hi Mark, Many thanks for your review, I'm glad you had a great evening with us! Thank you for your comments regarding the bar, we will investigate that further. As you mentioned, as we're in a residential area, we have some restrictions when it comes...More

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

At the cinema at The Old Market. Fabulous film. Convivial Bar. Friendly ambience. Interesting programme of art events. Good Hove location.

Thank Jilliana R
TheOldMarket, Manager at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi Jilliana, Thank you so much for the lovely review, I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the film and the venue. Hopefully we'll be able to see you again soon! Mark - Team TOM

Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

My goodness strange venue and Bar very expensive but it’s theatre or basically a large hall. Odd mix of styles and seating outside. Seats uncomfortable and not enough bar staff!

Thank Ultimate007
TheOldMarket, Marketing Manager at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi there, Thank you for your review, really sorry to hear this. Would you be able to send us an email about when you visited and your visitor experience so that we can investigate further? - mark@theoldmarket.com Many thanks, Mark - Team TOM

Reviewed 22 January 2018

The Old Market has a great range of events; cultural/arts/entertainment. The staff are always friendly and helpful plus there's a nice bar that's worth going into whether you're going to an event or not. Worth visiting and looking out for their shows.

Thank WME01
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Super atmosphere feels quite intimate. The bar area is excellent and all the staff very helpful and friendly. Good location - particularly if you live in the area!!

Thank TJT343
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Came along to celebrate a birthday at the pantomime, Cinderella and the Beanstalk. The place is quite difficult to find with little parking but the staff their are very helpful and friendly. There is a homely feel and being small it's quite intimate, being a...More

1  Thank BigRee
Reviewed 29 December 2017

In December we went along with family to see Cinderella & the Beanstalk on a matinee and was very impressed with the theatre , staff and seating In-house. Anybody attending here will enjoy the cosy theatre and thrill of being able take your Wine, Beer...More

Thank Paul S
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
2,103 reviews
.24 km away
The Brighton Hotel
1,468 reviews
.32 km away
Kings Hotel
1,864 reviews
.37 km away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
669 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 336 nearby restaurants
The Little Fish Market
287 reviews
.03 km away
Archipelagos
815 reviews
.10 km away
Gingerman
1,017 reviews
.15 km away
Tropical Sushi
160 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 57 nearby attractions
audreys chocolates
7 reviews
.36 km away
The Bees Mouth
35 reviews
.10 km away
The Paris House
11 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Hunbunhobbs
5 November 2015|
Answer
Response from TheOldMarket | Property representative |
Hello, There's one on North Street which is about a 15 minute walk away. Thanks, Rina
0
Votes
2222Sharon2222
10 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Ruth H | Reviewed this property |
The only gig advertised for the Easter weekend is Standby For Tape Back Up which is a show and tell performance using found video footage to extract a life story.
0
Votes